undefined http://wkms.org en Yarmuth Says Democrats Could've Better Sold Health Care Law http://wkms.org/post/yarmuth-says-democrats-couldve-better-sold-health-care-law <p>Congressman John Yarmuth of Louisville says his party dropped the ball on promoting the Affordable Care Act.<br><br> Yarmuth is one of the few public officials in Kentucky who has supported the health care law, and he actively defends it from criticism. But he says his fellow Democrats could have done a better job explaining the legislation.<br> Fri, 24 Aug 2012 20:51:08 +0000 Kenny Colston (KPR) 21260 at http://wkms.org Yarmuth Says Democrats Could've Better Sold Health Care Law USDA Officials Meet With Local Farmers http://wkms.org/post/usda-officials-meet-local-farmers <p>United States Department of Agriculture officials are trying to get a better feel for the damage the drought has done to crops in the region. Fri, 27 Jul 2012 18:03:06 +0000 Shelly Baskin 19844 at http://wkms.org USDA Officials Meet With Local Farmers Madisonville Reinstates Burn Ban http://wkms.org/post/madisonville-reinstates-burn-ban <p>Madisonville Mayor David Jackson has reinstated a ban on fireworks and outdoor burning within city limits due to continuing dry conditions.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 24 Jul 2012 14:40:11 +0000 Heidi Couch 19647 at http://wkms.org Madisonville Reinstates Burn Ban Tennessee Governor Holds Higher Education Review http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-governor-holds-higher-education-review <p>Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam will begin a review of the state&#39;s college and university systems at his residence on today. Tue, 10 Jul 2012 12:52:18 +0000 AP 19009 at http://wkms.org Tennessee Governor Holds Higher Education Review High Temperatures and Dry Conditions Could be Dangerous for Kentucky Patriots http://wkms.org/post/high-temperatures-and-dry-conditions-could-be-dangerous-kentucky-patriots <p>As Kentuckians prepare for the Fourth of July, temperatures are expected to close in on the 100 degree mark.&nbsp; A hot dry fourth would create some additional concern for fire safety.</p><p>Fire officials every summer often suggest families attend professional fireworks shows.&nbsp; There are always safety issues related to back yard fireworks displays.&nbsp; But, this year, extremely dry conditions raise a real fire threat to brush and structures.&nbsp; In fact, State Fire Marshall Bill Swope says even some professionals are weighing their options.</p> Tue, 26 Jun 2012 20:36:21 +0000 Stu Johnson (KPR) 18577 at http://wkms.org High Temperatures and Dry Conditions Could be Dangerous for Kentucky Patriots Fire in Paducah Kills Two http://wkms.org/post/fire-paducah-kills-two <p>An early morning fire in Paducah today killed two people. The McCracken County Coroner&rsquo;s office says&nbsp; Jessica Woods, 24, and her son, Day&rsquo;von Robinson, 5, died in the fire on Cruse Avenue, that began around 5 a.m. Three other people escaped the blaze.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 19:51:11 +0000 Angela Hatton 18540 at http://wkms.org Fire in Paducah Kills Two Canaan Returning to MSU for Senior Year http://wkms.org/post/canaan-returning-msu-senior-year <p>Murray State point guard Isaiah Canaan says he&#39;ll return for his senior year after leading the Racers to their best season in school history. Coach Steve Prohm confirmed Canaan&#39;s decision to stay today to The Associated Press. Prohm says Canaan decided to return to school after information they gathered showed him as a late first round or early second round pick in the upcoming NBA draft. Canaan, a second-team AP All-American, averaged 19 points for Murray State last season.</p> Thu, 05 Apr 2012 21:40:48 +0000 The Associated Press 17536 at http://wkms.org Canaan Returning to MSU for Senior Year