SIU Carbondale http://wkms.org en SIU Board Tables Tuition Increase; Dunn Starts May 1 http://wkms.org/post/siu-board-tables-tuition-increase-dunn-starts-may-1 SIU's President is retiring sooner than expected. Glenn Poshard will step aside at the end of this month. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 17:59:55 +0000 Jennifer Fuller 39955 at http://wkms.org SIU Board Tables Tuition Increase; Dunn Starts May 1 Carbondale Police Find Body of Missing SIU Student http://wkms.org/post/carbondale-police-find-body-missing-siu-student <p>The Carbondale Police have found the&nbsp;the body of the Southern Illinois University student missing since last Wednesday.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 22:22:13 +0000 Rob Canning & John Null 38766 at http://wkms.org Carbondale Police Find Body of Missing SIU Student SIU Hires Firm to Help Find Next President http://wkms.org/post/siu-hires-firm-help-find-next-president <p>Southern Illinois University&rsquo;s executive board has hired a Texas search firm and chose its 20-person search committee to help find its new president.</p><p>R. William Funk and Associates of Dallas specializes in higher education. The search committee includes faculty, staff, students and community members. Wed, 02 Oct 2013 21:25:43 +0000 Whitney Jones & The Associated Press 35401 at http://wkms.org SIU Hires Firm to Help Find Next President Search For New SIU President To Take Next Step http://wkms.org/post/search-new-siu-president-take-next-step <p></p><p>The Southern Illinois University system&#39;s governing board is taking the next step in searching for a replacement for the university&#39;s retiring president.</p><p>The Southern Illinoisan reports that the executive committee of SIU&#39;s Board of Trustees will meet Wednesday to name an advisory committee and to hire an outside search firm. Glenn Poshard announced in July that he plans to retire June 30 of next year, even though his contract expires in 2015. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 12:18:26 +0000 The Associated Press 35343 at http://wkms.org Search For New SIU President To Take Next Step SIU-Carbondale Enrollment Down for 9th Year in a Row http://wkms.org/post/siu-carbondale-enrollment-down-9th-year-row <p>Administrators say fall enrollment at Southern Illinois University in Carbondale is down for the ninth year in row, though the freshman class there is the largest in two decades.</p><p>About 17,964 students are now enrolled at the school. That's down 883 from a year ago, or nearly 5 percent. But the university says freshmen enrollment reached 2,571.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 14:34:56 +0000 Austin Ramsey 34578 at http://wkms.org SIU-Carbondale Enrollment Down for 9th Year in a Row Redhawks And Salukis Hope To Play Football At Busch Stadium http://wkms.org/post/redhawks-and-salukis-hope-play-football-busch-stadium <p>Busch Stadium in St. Louis may be filled with chants for the Redhawks and Salukis this fall. Southeast Missouri State University and Southern Illinois University hope to play the first football game ever at the new stadium.</p><p>The universities are still finalizing plans to play a football game in St. Louis on September 21.</p><p>Both Southeast and SIU have large alum populations in St. Louis. Southeast athletic director Mark Alnutt says that’s what makes SIU a good opponent at Busch Stadium.</p> Tue, 09 Apr 2013 20:14:52 +0000 Jacob McCleland 30353 at http://wkms.org Redhawks And Salukis Hope To Play Football At Busch Stadium