school safety http://wkms.org en Mayfield KSP Post Develops School Training Program http://wkms.org/post/mayfield-ksp-post-develops-school-training-program <p></p><p>The Kentucky State Police post in Mayfield has been training school employees in how to respond in a crisis with a special training program that the post created.</p><p>Lt. Brent White says police have trained nearly 700 school staff members in 13 schools, and he says feedback indicates those employees feel more confident. Wed, 02 Oct 2013 11:12:02 +0000 The Associated Press 35381 at http://wkms.org Mayfield KSP Post Develops School Training Program McCracken County School Board Studies Safety Options For New High School http://wkms.org/post/mccracken-county-school-board-studies-safety-options-new-high-school <p></p><p>The McCracken County school board says walk through metal detectors are not a feasible safety measure for&nbsp;the community's new high school. Supervising Student Resource Officer Larry Zacheretti researched the option when a when a school board member inquired into the possibility of using the metal detectors. Zacheretti said an efficient metal detector screens 350 people every hour.&nbsp;He said screening 1,800 people every morning is not feasible. But he is confident in the district's&nbsp;safety measures already in place. Tue, 23 Apr 2013 20:28:32 +0000 John Walker 30925 at http://wkms.org McCracken County School Board Studies Safety Options For New High School Ill Officials to Examine School Safety http://wkms.org/post/ill-officials-examine-school-safety <p></p><p>Illinois school administrators, teachers and law enforcement will meet today to discuss how to make Illinois schools safer. Tue, 22 Jan 2013 13:51:20 +0000 John Walker & The Associated Press 27047 at http://wkms.org Ill Officials to Examine School Safety Police Providing Security Support to Paris Schools http://wkms.org/post/police-providing-security-support-paris-schools <p></p><p>Local police are providing security for schools in the Paris Special School District while administrators review and update safety plans. PSSD Director Mike Brown says Paris Police and Henry County Sheriff officers will be in each of the three schools in the district. Thu, 03 Jan 2013 21:24:01 +0000 Shelly Baskin 26376 at http://wkms.org Police Providing Security Support to Paris Schools TN Hosts School Safety Summitt http://wkms.org/post/tn-hosts-school-safety-summitt <p></p><p>The Tennessee Department of Education is planning a statewide School Safety Summit for next month. Department spokeswoman Kelli Gauthier says the meeting is a result of concerns following last week’s deadly elementary school shooting in Connecticut. Wed, 19 Dec 2012 13:34:51 +0000 Whitney Jones & The Associated Press 25869 at http://wkms.org TN Hosts School Safety Summitt Lawmaker Says Kentucky Schools Are Not Safe Enough http://wkms.org/post/lawmaker-says-kentucky-schools-are-not-safe-enough <p> State Representative Richard Henderson says security needs to be stepped up in all Kentucky schools. The Mount Sterling democrat says much has been done to improve child nutrition and learning inside the buildings but not enough attention has been paid to keeping kids safe. Tue, 18 Dec 2012 17:28:44 +0000 Dan Conti (KPR) 25833 at http://wkms.org Lawmaker Says Kentucky Schools Are Not Safe Enough KY Law Mandates School Safety Plans http://wkms.org/post/ky-law-mandates-school-safety-plans <p></p><p>Western Kentucky is a region whose residents have known the horror of a deadly school shooting. Since the 1997 Heath High School shootings in Paducah where three students were killed and five wounded, state law mandates that every public school have a safety plan. Those plans deal with a range of possibilities: from fire, train derailment, and earthquakes to an armed intruder or angry parent. Mon, 17 Dec 2012 14:30:19 +0000 The Associated Press & Whitney Jones 25774 at http://wkms.org KY Law Mandates School Safety Plans