Gov. Haslam http://wkms.org en TN Budget Hearings Get Underway http://wkms.org/post/tn-budget-hearings-get-underway <p></p><p>Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam's annual budget hearings are getting underway this week. The Republican governor will kick off the annual public discussions with agency leaders at the Capitol tomorrow with the Education Department.</p><p>Wednesday's hearings include the correction and safety departments, while the governor will hear from the revenue and agriculture departments on Thursday.</p><p>Friday's hearings include the higher education and the state lottery. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 12:51:01 +0000 The Associated Press 36454 at http://wkms.org TN Budget Hearings Get Underway Just 5 Apply To Fill TN Supreme Court Vacancy http://wkms.org/post/just-5-apply-fill-tn-supreme-court-vacancy <p></p><p>Just five candidates have submitted applications to fill an upcoming West Tennessee vacancy on the state's highest court.</p><p>The candidates submitted their applications by yesterday’s deadline to be considered for the newly-created Governor's Commission on Judicial Appointments. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 12:16:20 +0000 The Associated Press 36202 at http://wkms.org Just 5 Apply To Fill TN Supreme Court Vacancy TN Gov. Haslam Announces School Voucher Program http://wkms.org/post/tn-gov-haslam-announces-school-voucher-program <p></p><p>Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam says he will introduce his own proposal to create a school voucher program in the state, though he declined to elaborate about which parents he wants to make eligible to use public money to send their children to private schools. Tue, 15 Jan 2013 14:27:30 +0000 John Walker & The Associated Press 26785 at http://wkms.org TN Gov. Haslam Announces School Voucher Program The Morning Cram [it’s peanut butter time edition] http://wkms.org/post/morning-cram-it-s-peanut-butter-time-edition <p><strong>From NPR:&nbsp;</strong> <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2012/10/04/162224960/the-peanut-butter-cure-moves-from-hospital-to-snack-room">A treatment for malnourished children</a>&nbsp; made of enriched peanut butter is being used not just in hospitals but also at snack time.</p> Thu, 04 Oct 2012 13:44:40 +0000 Whitney Jones 22842 at http://wkms.org The Morning Cram [it’s peanut butter time edition] Haslam: Child Deaths Not Mishandled http://wkms.org/post/haslam-child-deaths-not-mishandled <p>Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam says no immediate evidence of wrongdoing by the Department of Children’s Services has been found in the deaths of 31 children. He calls the deaths, which included ten infants with open case files, distressing. Haslam reviewed the reports and says the D-C-S took appropriate action in the cases.</p> Thu, 04 Oct 2012 12:37:49 +0000 Whitney Jones & The Associated Press 22838 at http://wkms.org Haslam: Child Deaths Not Mishandled Haslam Aide: Tennessee Not Promoting Islamic Code http://wkms.org/post/haslam-aide-tennessee-not-promoting-islamic-code <p>Tennessee Gov. Mon, 20 Aug 2012 13:43:53 +0000 Todd Hatton & The Associated Press 20998 at http://wkms.org Haslam Aide: Tennessee Not Promoting Islamic Code