Society http://wkms.org en Paducah Man Arrested with 136K of Synthetic Marijuana http://wkms.org/post/paducah-man-arrested-136k-synthetic-marijuana <p>The McCracken County Sheriff’s Department has arrested a Paducah man on charges of trafficking synthetic marijuana. Feras Marj was arrested Tuesday with possession of $136,000 worth of the drug also known as Spice.&nbsp;</p><p>During the search of Marj’s residence, detectives located over 2,700 bags of synthetic marijuana, a loaded handgun, and over $3,000 believed to be proceeds from drug sales. detectives determined that Marji was selling the bags of Spice at an average of $50 per bag, giving the seized synthetic marijuana a street value of approximately $136,000.</p><p> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 11:18:35 +0000 Troy Taylor 42997 at http://wkms.org Paducah Man Arrested with 136K of Synthetic Marijuana Former LBL Residents to Gather for Homecoming Picnic http://wkms.org/post/former-lbl-residents-gather-homecoming-picnic <p>Former residents of the Stewart County, Tennessee&nbsp;portion of &nbsp;Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area are gathering for their annual Homecoming this month.</p><p> Fri, 15 Aug 2014 17:05:12 +0000 Rob Canning 42894 at http://wkms.org Former LBL Residents to Gather for Homecoming Picnic Hopkinsville Police Make Arrest for April 2013 Homicide http://wkms.org/post/hopkinsville-police-make-arrest-april-2013-homicide <p>Hopkinsville Police have made an arrest connected to the death of 44 year old Kathleen Davis.&nbsp; Eighteen year old&nbsp;James Devontrel Day was arrested Thursday and charged with murder.&nbsp;Davis was found strangled in a vacant apartment April 6, 2013. Day is currently being held in the Christian County Jail.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 15 Aug 2014 11:06:49 +0000 Troy Taylor 42889 at http://wkms.org Hopkinsville Police Make Arrest for April 2013 Homicide State Fair Highlights 'Kentucky Proud' Brand http://wkms.org/post/state-fair-highlights-kentucky-proud-brand <p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 13px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; line-height: 18px;">The Kentucky State Fair is offering an opportunity to educate visitors on the economic impact of the commonwealth's agriculture business.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 14 Aug 2014 20:43:45 +0000 Stu Johnson (KPR) 42872 at http://wkms.org State Fair Highlights 'Kentucky Proud' Brand Preparing Your Pets for Severe Weather http://wkms.org/post/preparing-your-pets-severe-weather <p>It's hard to watch this video, taken by a local CBS affiliate news crew in the wake of the tornado that struck Oklahoma City in 2013, killing 24 people, and not think what you would do about your pet in similar circumstances.</p><p>http://youtu.be/BUc1ZgXiQGs</p> Wed, 13 Aug 2014 16:35:37 +0000 Todd Hatton 42834 at http://wkms.org A Life Of Anxiety Documented http://wkms.org/post/life-anxiety-documented When photographer <a href="http://www.johnwilliamkeedy.com/index.html">John William Keedy</a> was first diagnosed with an anxiety disorder, he says he had a hard time coping. It was difficult to accept. It was difficult to explain to friends and family. He felt utterly alone.<p>"I hate to say it, but I was embarrassed by it," he tells Shots.<p>Years later, Keedy, 29, started shooting a <a href="http://www.johnwilliamkeedy.com/art_pages/HardlyNoticeable/HardlyNoticable_01.html">series</a> of photographs about his condition. The images are deeply personal, and striking. Wed, 13 Aug 2014 03:26:55 +0000 editor 42827 at http://wkms.org A Life Of Anxiety Documented Murray State Professor Takes Plea in Case Involving Student http://wkms.org/post/murray-state-professor-takes-plea-case-involving-student <p>Murray State University Assistant Professor Brian Ciach pled guilty this morning to misdemeanor disorderly conduct charges after facing accusations of abusing a former Murray State Student with whom he had a relationship.</p><p> Tue, 12 Aug 2014 21:14:45 +0000 Chad Lampe & Allison Crawford 42817 at http://wkms.org Murray State Professor Takes Plea in Case Involving Student Longtime Barbecue on the River Team Pulls Out of This Year's Event http://wkms.org/post/longtime-barbecue-river-team-pulls-out-years-event <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">At least one veteran team has dropped out of this year's Barbecue on the River in Paducah.</span></p><p> Tue, 12 Aug 2014 19:52:44 +0000 John Null 42810 at http://wkms.org Longtime Barbecue on the River Team Pulls Out of This Year's Event DUI Arrests Down Slightly with Help from Phone Aps http://wkms.org/post/dui-arrests-down-slightly-help-phone-aps <p><span style="font-family: Calibri, sans-serif; line-height: 1.5;">Messages technology addressing&nbsp;designated driving are working to lower drunken driving crashes in Kentucky according to Director of the state's office of highway safety, Bill Bell, who admits the drop in recent years has been slim.&nbsp;</span><span style="font-family: Calibri, sans-serif; line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 08 Aug 2014 12:06:06 +0000 Stu Johnson (KPR) 42711 at http://wkms.org DUI Arrests Down Slightly with Help from Phone Aps Christian County Cares Seeks Community Input http://wkms.org/post/christian-county-cares-seeks-community-input <p>Christian County Cares 2015 is moving into the third phase of the Community Vision Plan, hosting forums welcoming community input for ways to improve the Christian County/Hopkinsville&nbsp;area. Tracy Ross speaks with&nbsp;Yasamin Ausenbaugh<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Christian County Chamber of Commerce Vice President of Community Affairs about Phase 3 and how community members can get involved.</span></p><p> Tue, 05 Aug 2014 21:14:52 +0000 Tracy Ross & Matt Markgraf 42638 at http://wkms.org Christian County Cares Seeks Community Input