layoffs http://wkms.org en Vanderbilt Medical Center Cuts Jobs http://wkms.org/post/vanderbilt-medical-center-cuts-jobs <p></p><p>Vanderbilt University Medical Center has cut an unspecified number of jobs across departments at the academic medical center.</p><p>Vanderbilt spokesman John Howser told The Tennessean the cuts were not considered layoffs. Howser said Vanderbilt, one of the city's largest private employers, was taking steps to address workplace performance.</p><p> Thu, 04 Jul 2013 18:35:14 +0000 John Null & The Associated Press 32773 at http://wkms.org Vanderbilt Medical Center Cuts Jobs USEC Still Undecided On PGDP Future http://wkms.org/post/usec-still-undecided-pgdp-future <p></p><p>Workers at Paducah's Gaseous Diffusion Plant will remain employed for at least the next 60 days as United States Enrichment Corporation officials continue discussions regarding future operations. USEC Spokesperson Paul Jacobson says the company has not yet decided on what kind of workforce it will leave behind. The plant currently employs around 1100 people. Tue, 02 Apr 2013 19:12:42 +0000 John Walker 30061 at http://wkms.org USEC Still Undecided On PGDP Future Clarksville Plant Laying Off Workers Before Production Starts http://wkms.org/post/clarksville-plant-laying-workers-production-starts <p></p><p></p><p>Officials with Michigan-based Hemlock Semiconductor say they’re laying off three-fourths of their Clarksville employees shortly before production there was to begin. Tue, 15 Jan 2013 14:21:17 +0000 John Walker & The Associated Press 26783 at http://wkms.org Clarksville Plant Laying Off Workers Before Production Starts Earlington Lays Off Three City Workers http://wkms.org/post/earlington-lays-three-city-workers <p></p><p>The City of Earlington is temporarily laying off three of its Street Department workers effective Dec. 21 with another three possible in the coming weeks.&nbsp; The Madisonville Messenger reports the causes are a projected decrease in tax revenue and a delay in receiving coal severance funds. Earlington Mayor Mike Seiber says he made the decision to save the city $30,000 in order to offset the $40,000 decrease in projected property tax income. The city anticipates calling all of the laid-off workers back in six to eight weeks. Fri, 14 Dec 2012 14:26:32 +0000 Whitney Jones & The Madisonville Messenger 25691 at http://wkms.org Earlington Lays Off Three City Workers DuPont Job Cuts Will Not Affect New Johnsonville Workers http://wkms.org/post/dupont-job-cuts-will-not-affect-new-johnsonville-workers <p>The more than 700 employees at the DuPont Titanium Dioxide plant in New Johnsonville, Tennessee will not lose their jobs according to Public Affairs spokesman David Hastings. The chemical maker is cutting 1,500 jobs throughout the company after a third quarter in which earnings fell sharply. The company reported net income of $10 million today, compared with $452 million for the same period last year. CEO Ellen Kullman said weaker than expected demand in titanium dioxide and photovoltaic markets contributed to the decline. Tue, 23 Oct 2012 12:40:13 +0000 Shelly Baskin & The Associated Press 23583 at http://wkms.org DuPont Job Cuts Will Not Affect New Johnsonville Workers Energy Electric Inc. to lay off 44 http://wkms.org/post/energy-electric-inc-lay-44 <p>Joppa Illinois&#39; coal-fired power plant will shed nearly four dozen jobs in the next two months. Energy Electric Inc. President Bill Sheppard says 19 of the 44 job cuts will be management personnel.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 15 Jun 2012 21:26:34 +0000 AP 18406 at http://wkms.org Energy Electric Inc. to lay off 44 Oil-Dri Layoffs http://wkms.org/post/oil-dri-layoffs <p>Residents of Mounds, Illinois are coming to terms with an announcement Wednesday that the Oil-Dri plant is slashing its workforce in half.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 31 May 2012 20:34:39 +0000 Jacob McCleland 18192 at http://wkms.org Oil-Dri Layoffs Rapid Response Meeting to Be Held for Laid Off Ferry Morse Workers http://wkms.org/post/rapid-response-meeting-be-held-laid-ferry-morse-workers <p>Displaced workers from Fulton&#39;s Ferry Morse Seed Company learn this week about ways to move forward after layoffs at the plant.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 21 May 2012 19:26:55 +0000 Shelly Baskin 18054 at http://wkms.org Rapid Response Meeting to Be Held for Laid Off Ferry Morse Workers