hickman http://wkms.org en Thefts Pick Up at Hickman Farm Supplier http://wkms.org/post/thefts-pick-hickman-farm-supplier <p></p><p>Fulton County Sheriff Bobby Hopper says he suspects ammonia thefts have increased at an agricultural supplier's tank farm because the thieves sent to jail earlier are now out again.</p><p>Thefts of anhydrous ammonia have picked up at Speed Ag in Hickman. The substance is a popular farm fertilizer also used in making methamphetamine. Mon, 15 Apr 2013 12:16:01 +0000 Whitney Jones & The Associated Press 30565 at http://wkms.org Thefts Pick Up at Hickman Farm Supplier Man Charged with Shooting Hickman Mayor Pleads Guilty http://wkms.org/post/man-charged-shooting-hickman-mayor-pleads-guilty <p></p><p>The man charged with killing Hickman Mayor Charles Murphy early last year has pleaded guilty today as part of a plea bargain. Under the agreement, 31-year-old Tommy Lattus pleaded guilty, but mentally ill, and will serve more that 37 years in prison for the murder. A formal sentencing hearing is scheduled for March 28<sup>th</sup>. Fri, 08 Mar 2013 21:05:54 +0000 Shelly Baskin & The Associated Press 29091 at http://wkms.org Man Charged with Shooting Hickman Mayor Pleads Guilty Lattus Ruled Competent to Stand Trial for Shooting of Hickman Mayor http://wkms.org/post/lattus-ruled-competent-stand-trial-shooting-hickman-mayor <p></p><p>A Hickman, Kentucky man has been indicted again in the fatal shooting of the city’s mayor after he was ruled competent to stand trial. Commonwealth Attorney Mike Stacy says murder charges have been issued against 30-year-old Tommy Lattus for the January shooting of Mayor Charles Murphy. Fri, 09 Nov 2012 13:32:15 +0000 Shelly Baskin & The Associated Press 24315 at http://wkms.org Lattus Ruled Competent to Stand Trial for Shooting of Hickman Mayor Thomas Lattus Incompetent to Stand Trial http://wkms.org/post/thomas-lattus-incompetent-stand-trial <p>The man who allegedly killed Hickman Mayor Charles Murphy in January was found incompetent to stand trial. Police say 30 year-old Thomas Lattus came into the station and stated he had killed the mayor a little after 1 am the night of the murder. Lattus will be committed to Western State Hospital in Hopkinsville to be treated for up to 360 days or until doctors determine he is competent to be tried. Commonwealth Attorney Mike Stacy says he disagrees with the ruling, but he’s confident Lattus will still be prosecuted.</p> Wed, 29 Aug 2012 20:20:41 +0000 Shelly Baskin 21465 at http://wkms.org Thomas Lattus Incompetent to Stand Trial Hickman Dredging Ongoing http://wkms.org/post/hickman-dredging-ongoing <p>The Army Corps of Engineers is dredging the Elvis Stahr Harbor at Hickman, Kentucky this week. Low water levels on the Mississippi River have led to a buildup of silt on the harbor. It has been closed for over a month.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 15 Aug 2012 20:54:17 +0000 Jacob McCleland 20826 at http://wkms.org Hickman Dredging Ongoing Obion Creek: Fixing Nature That's Been Tinkered With http://wkms.org/post/obion-creek-fixing-nature-thats-been-tinkered <p>The Earth&rsquo;s ecosystems operate on a fragile balance between soil, water and wildlife.&nbsp; In the early 20<sup>th</sup> century, a local drainage district upset this balance when it straightened and widened a Hickman County stream. It hoped to drain the land to add farmable soil to the area, but the stream clogged and farmers wound up with more water instead of less. Fri, 23 Mar 2012 22:00:00 +0000 Casey Northcutt 17340 at http://wkms.org Afternoon Round-Up 2/20/12 http://wkms.org/post/afternoon-round-22012-0 <p>The Hickman Fulton County Riverport Director Greg Curlin says the Army Corps of Engineers told him earlier this month that <a href="http://wkms.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/harbor-gets-dredging-money">$1.9 million dollars in disaster relief money</a> would be used for a one-time dredging at the riverport.</p><p>&nbsp;</p><p>&nbsp;</p><p><strong>Kentucky Politics:</strong></p> Mon, 20 Feb 2012 22:51:13 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 16991 at http://wkms.org Afternoon Round-Up 2/20/12 Harbor Gets Dredging Money http://wkms.org/post/harbor-gets-dredging-money <p><span style="font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; text-align: left; ">The Hickman Fulton County Riverport has received money for much-needed dredging. Director Greg Curlin says the Army Corps of Engineers told him earlier this month that $1.9 million dollars in disaster relief money would be used for a one-time dredging at the riverport. Mon, 20 Feb 2012 21:08:17 +0000 Gary Pitts 16986 at http://wkms.org Harbor Gets Dredging Money Dorena-Hickman Ferry Delay http://wkms.org/post/dorena-hickman-ferry-delay <p>The Dorena-Hickman Ferry will delay service this morning until 9. Kentucky Transportation board spokesman Keith Todd cites an electrical issue at fault for the delay.&nbsp; He says the problem should be addressed quickly.</p> Wed, 08 Feb 2012 14:26:32 +0000 Drew Adams 16839 at http://wkms.org