kentucky fish and wildlife http://wkms.org en Paducah Land Set Aside for Public Recreation Will Become Site of Factory http://wkms.org/post/paducah-land-set-aside-public-recreation-will-become-site-factory <p>The Kentucky Fish and Wildlife Resources Commission has passed a resolution that aims to use a tract of land near the site of the Paducah Gaseous Diffusion Plant as part of an economic development plan in Paducah. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 21:58:57 +0000 Parker Franklin 39191 at http://wkms.org Paducah Land Set Aside for Public Recreation Will Become Site of Factory Inspector General Finds Misuse of Property by Ky. Agency http://wkms.org/post/inspector-general-finds-misuse-property-ky-agency <p>A federal review released Monday has found widespread misuse of government property and employees at the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources.</p><p>The Office of Inspector General's findings from a months-long investigation concludes top leaders were involved in the misapplication of resources at the agency.</p><p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 22:28:47 +0000 John Null & The Associated Press 37203 at http://wkms.org Inspector General Finds Misuse of Property by Ky. Agency Kentucky Official Stresses Water Safety Over Holiday http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-official-stresses-water-safety-over-holiday <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Heavy boat traffic on the lakes this holiday weekend has Law Enforcement reminding boaters to take extra caution.</span></p><p>Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife's&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Sgt. Gary Clark stresses the importance of wearing a life jacket at all times on the water and for drivers to be alert of their surroundings. Clark also recommends caution tonight when marinas have their own firework shows after dark.</span></p><p> Thu, 04 Jul 2013 19:13:18 +0000 Rob Canning 32775 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Official Stresses Water Safety Over Holiday KY Fish and Wildlife Seeks To Curb Invasive Carp Population In Tournament http://wkms.org/post/ky-fish-and-wildlife-seeks-curb-invasive-carp-population-tournament <p></p><p>A March fishing tournament is set to curb the&nbsp; growing population of the invasive Asian carp in the region. Tue, 19 Feb 2013 18:23:48 +0000 John Walker 28241 at http://wkms.org KY Fish and Wildlife Seeks To Curb Invasive Carp Population In Tournament Kentucky Agency Asks Public to Report Diseased Deer http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-agency-asks-public-report-diseased-deer <p><a href="http://www.kdfwr.state.ky.us/">The Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources</a> is asking for the public&#39;s help in locating deer suffering from a disease that&#39;s prevalent in warm weather.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 16 Jul 2012 13:01:12 +0000 The Associated Press 19273 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Agency Asks Public to Report Diseased Deer Kentucky Law Enforcement to Participate in Nationwide Safe Boating Program http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-law-enforcement-participate-nationwide-safe-boating-program <p>Boaters in Kentucky will be under a little extra scrutiny today as state law enforcement agencies participate in the nationwide Operation Dry Water program. Fri, 22 Jun 2012 11:58:47 +0000 the associated press 18487 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Law Enforcement to Participate in Nationwide Safe Boating Program White-Nose Syndrome in Breckinridge Could Threaten Area Populations http://wkms.org/post/white-nose-syndrome-breckinridge-could-threaten-area-populations <p>Wildlife officials say the fatal fungus called white nose syndrome affecting bats across the U.S. has been confirmed in Breckinridge County, Kentucky.&nbsp;It was discovered in Trigg County in April, but the three sites in Breckinridge County indicate that the disease is spreading in the commonwealth. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Biologist Andy Randomski says biologists at the Clarks River Wildlife Refuge in our region have been working to monitor bat populations in the area and hopefully prevent the spread into this area.</p> Tue, 07 Feb 2012 22:42:31 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 16833 at http://wkms.org White-Nose Syndrome in Breckinridge Could Threaten Area Populations