Hansi Lo Wang http://wkms.org en The Harlem Hellfighters: Fighting Racism In The Trenches Of WWI http://wkms.org/post/harlem-hellfighters-fighting-racism-trenches-wwi The 369th Infantry Regiment served 191 days under enemy fire in Europe. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 23:58:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 39625 at http://wkms.org The Harlem Hellfighters: Fighting Racism In The Trenches Of WWI Changing Demographics A Factor In Rhode Island's Gubernatorial Race http://wkms.org/post/changing-demographics-factor-rhode-islands-gubernatorial-race Parades, social clubs and awards dinners are part of the routine of political campaigns everywhere. But if you're running to be Rhode Island's next governor, then there's one more stop you just can't miss.<br /> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 12:36:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 39205 at http://wkms.org Changing Demographics A Factor In Rhode Island's Gubernatorial Race To Play The Part, Actors Must Talk The Talk — In Chinese http://wkms.org/post/play-part-actors-must-talk-talk-chinese The success of the Netflix series <em>House of Cards</em> lies in the details.<p>The show has consulted with <a href="http://www.boston.com/business/innovation/blogs/inside-the-hive/2014/02/21/house-cards-called-boston-hacker-gregg-housh-give-series-tech-authentic-touch/vJL9SCuowDJ7VlyE0BgC2O/blog.html" target="_blank">computer hackers</a> and <a href="http://blogs.wsj.com/chinarealtime/2014/02/19/house-of-cards-writer-on-china-u-s-and-power/" target="_blank">political scientists</a> on storylines. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 23:40:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 38942 at http://wkms.org To Play The Part, Actors Must Talk The Talk — In Chinese Asian-American Contestant, 'Villain' Of 'Jeopardy,' Set To Return http://wkms.org/post/asian-american-contestant-villain-jeopardy-set-return If there are any unwritten rules to playing <em>Jeopardy!</em> Arthur Chu may have broken them all.<p>During his four-day winning streak in late January, he sometimes interrupted host Alex Trebek and cut in before the host could finish a sentence. Sat, 22 Feb 2014 00:53:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 38847 at http://wkms.org Asian-American Contestant, 'Villain' Of 'Jeopardy,' Set To Return For Abused Native American Women, New Law Provides A 'Ray Of Hope' http://wkms.org/post/abused-native-american-women-new-law-provides-ray-hope This Thursday, three Native American tribes are changing how they administer justice.<p>For almost four decades, a U.S. Supreme Court ruling has barred tribes from prosecuting non-American Indian defendants. But as part of last year's re-authorization of the Violence Against Women Act, a new program now allows tribes to try some non-Indian defendants in domestic abuse cases.<p>It will be another year before the program expands to other eligible federally-recognized tribes around the country in March 2015. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 01:07:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 38827 at http://wkms.org For Abused Native American Women, New Law Provides A 'Ray Of Hope' Walking Down The Widening Aisle Of Interracial Marriages http://wkms.org/post/walking-down-widening-aisle-interracial-marriages <em>Editor's Note: Code Switch has been engaged in a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2014/02/14/276543080/what-we-learned-from-our-month-long-exploration-of-xculturelove" target="_blank">month-long exploration</a> of <em>romance across racial and cultural lines</em>. Sat, 15 Feb 2014 16:53:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 38717 at http://wkms.org Walking Down The Widening Aisle Of Interracial Marriages Chinese-American Descendants Uncover Forged Family Histories http://wkms.org/post/chinese-american-descendants-uncover-forged-family-history What if you discovered the last name you've lived with since birth is fake?<p>That's what happened in many Chinese-American families who first came to the U.S. before World War II, when the <a href="http://www.ourdocuments.gov/doc.php?flash=true&doc=47" target="_blank">Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882</a> banned Chinese laborers from legally entering the country.<p>The law, formally repealed by Congress 70 years ago Tuesday, prompted tens of thousands of Chinese to use forged papers to enter the U.S. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 09:34:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 37397 at http://wkms.org Chinese-American Descendants Uncover Forged Family Histories New Pilot Program Gives Immigrant Detainees Public Defenders http://wkms.org/post/new-pilot-program-gives-immigrant-detainees-public-defenders In the American criminal justice system, you have the right to an attorney. And if you cannot afford an attorney, one will be appointed for you.<p>That's not the case if you're a defendant in U.S. immigration court. Immigration proceedings are civil matters, and the Constitution does not extend the right to court-appointed attorneys to immigrant detainees.<p>But a new pilot program in New York City is trying to change that with the nation's first government-funded public defender service for immigrants facing deportation. Fri, 29 Nov 2013 19:24:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 36969 at http://wkms.org New Pilot Program Gives Immigrant Detainees Public Defenders A New Life For An Old Slave Jail http://wkms.org/post/new-life-old-slave-jail President Abraham Lincoln stood on a battlefield in Gettysburg, Pa., 150 years ago and declared "a new birth of freedom" for the nation.<p>That same year, an African-American man named Lewis Henry Bailey experienced his own rebirth. At age 21, Bailey was freed from slavery in Texas. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 08:07:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 36680 at http://wkms.org A New Life For An Old Slave Jail Asian-American Lawyers Act Like '22 Lewd Chinese Women' http://wkms.org/post/legal-drama-asian-american-law-group-relives-infamous-cases <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__FwNn-ZwHk</p> Sat, 09 Nov 2013 10:20:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 36430 at http://wkms.org Asian-American Lawyers Act Like '22 Lewd Chinese Women'