Joel Rose http://wkms.org en Internal Report Clears Christie Of Bridgegate, But Dems Don't Buy It http://wkms.org/post/internal-report-clears-christie-bridgegate-dems-dont-buy-it Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>We now have the results of an internal investigation into the George Washington Bridge lane closure scandal. Today's report was commissioned by the administration of New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, and it finds the governor did nothing wrong. It won't be the last word. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:12:00 +0000 Joel Rose 39520 at http://wkms.org In The Face Of Disaster, Pritzker Winner Shigeru Ban Designs Solutions http://wkms.org/post/face-disaster-pritzker-winner-shigeru-ban-designs-solutions Each year the Pritzker Architecture Prize goes to a star architect with a long list of glamorous commissions around the globe. This year's winner is a little different.<p><a href="http://www.shigerubanarchitects.com/works.html">Shigeru Ban</a> has designed museums, homes and concert halls. But Ban is best known for a more humble kind of work: The temporary structures he's built for refugees and evacuees all over the world.<p>Ban may be the only architect in the world who makes buildings out of paper — cardboard paper tubes, to be precise.<p>"It's very inexpensive. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Joel Rose 39448 at http://wkms.org In The Face Of Disaster, Pritzker Winner Shigeru Ban Designs Solutions Remembering The Singing 'Mayor Of MacDougal Street' http://wkms.org/post/remembering-singing-mayor-macdougal-street <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2LgFHGBu8NY</p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 10:48:00 +0000 Joel Rose 37176 at http://wkms.org Remembering The Singing 'Mayor Of MacDougal Street' NYC Race Focuses On Income Gap, But How Much Can A Mayor Do? http://wkms.org/post/nyc-race-focuses-income-gap-how-much-can-mayor-do Voters in New York City go to the polls Tuesday to choose their next mayor, and it appears all but certain that they'll elect Bill de Blasio, the city's public advocate.<p>The Democrat has built a wide lead in the polls by distancing himself from the incumbent mayor, billionaire Michael Bloomberg. Mon, 04 Nov 2013 22:46:00 +0000 Joel Rose 36290 at http://wkms.org NYC Race Focuses On Income Gap, But How Much Can A Mayor Do? The Slow, Uneven Rebuilding After Superstorm Sandy http://wkms.org/post/slow-uneven-rebuilding-after-superstorm-sandy After Hurricane Sandy, the south shore of Staten Island looked like it had been hit by a tsunami. The storm surge devastated whole neighborhoods suddenly, in a matter of hours. In the year since the storm, some families have been rebuilding their homes and their lives. Others are ready to sell their flood-damaged properties and move on.<p>Joe Salluzzo lives in a neighborhood called New Dorp Beach, a few blocks from the ocean. Mon, 28 Oct 2013 07:41:00 +0000 Joel Rose 36081 at http://wkms.org The Slow, Uneven Rebuilding After Superstorm Sandy Gay Couples Tie Knot In New Jersey As Christie Backs Down http://wkms.org/post/gay-couples-tie-knot-new-jersey-allows-same-sex-marriage Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>Governor Chris Christie has dropped his legal challenge to same-sex marriage in New Jersey. Mon, 21 Oct 2013 20:37:00 +0000 Joel Rose 35907 at http://wkms.org Booker Gets A Run For His Money In N.J. Senate Race http://wkms.org/post/booker-gets-run-his-money-nj-senate-race Cory Booker, the celebrity mayor of Newark, N.J., was expected to cruise to victory in the special election to fill the U.S. Senate seat of the late Frank Lautenberg. But just a week before voters go to the polls, he's facing a surprisingly strong challenge from Tea Party favorite Steve Lonegan.<p>The race was supposed to be a mismatch: Booker, the Democrat, and his 1.4 million Twitter followers versus the Republican former mayor of Bogota, N.J. Wed, 09 Oct 2013 06:58:00 +0000 Joel Rose 35560 at http://wkms.org Booker Gets A Run For His Money In N.J. Senate Race Time For Superstorm Sandy Evacuees To Check Out Of Hotels http://wkms.org/post/superstorm-sandy-evacuees-face-eviction-hotel-rooms Almost 300 Sandy victims are still living in hotel rooms on the taxpayers' dime — but not for long. City officials say the program is expensive, and it's time for those remaining Sandy evacuees to move out.<p>This week, the displaced families living in hotels got a letter from New York City officials telling them they will not pay for those rooms after Friday.<p>This was the message they sent back on Wednesday: <em>Heck no, we won't go! Thu, 03 Oct 2013 21:12:00 +0000 Joel Rose 35432 at http://wkms.org Time For Superstorm Sandy Evacuees To Check Out Of Hotels Hundreds Of Safety Net Hospitals Face Uncertain Future http://wkms.org/post/hundreds-safety-net-hospitals-face-uncertain-future Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block.<p>Hospitals that serve the neediest patients are bracing themselves through the roll-out of the Affordable Care Act. These safety-net hospitals treat large numbers of people with no health insurance and many are struggling. Wed, 02 Oct 2013 20:24:00 +0000 Joel Rose 35399 at http://wkms.org Taking Back 'Funkytown': Songwriters Prepare For A Custody Battle http://wkms.org/post/taking-back-funkytown-songwriters-prepare-custody-battle <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GwtBqamUNJw</p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 21:01:00 +0000 Joel Rose 34829 at http://wkms.org Taking Back 'Funkytown': Songwriters Prepare For A Custody Battle