Mandalit del Barco http://wkms.org en Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies http://wkms.org/post/writer-gabriel-garcia-marquez-who-gave-voice-latin-america-dies Latin American author Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1982, died Thursday. He was 87. Garcia Marquez, the master of a style known as magic realism, was and remains Latin America's best-known writer.<p>His novels were filled with miraculous and enchanting events and characters; love and madness; wars, politics, dreams and death. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 39970 at http://wkms.org Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies How 'Black Nativity' Made Its Way To The Big Screen http://wkms.org/post/how-black-nativity-made-its-way-big-screen This season, Fox Searchlight has served audiences a three-course menu of movies with African-American casts and themes.<p>First, it served an appetizer in September, with the romantic comedy <em>Baggage Claim,</em> starring Paula Patton as a flight attendant looking for a husband in a hurry.<p>Then, in October, the studio set out a substantial main course with <em>12 Years A Slave</em>. The sweeping epic by director Steve McQueen is already an Academy Award shoo-in.<p>Now, <em>Black Nativity</em> is Fox Searchlight's dessert, a sweet Christmas tearjerker. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 23:17:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 37124 at http://wkms.org How 'Black Nativity' Made Its Way To The Big Screen Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies http://wkms.org/post/drummer-chico-hamilton-west-coast-jazz-mainstay-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNaSZmKL65I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXULG-UKVq8</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 22:29:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 36903 at http://wkms.org Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen http://wkms.org/post/ak-47s-accordions-and-angels-death-narcocorridos-hit-big-screen <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaJ_hru9Qk4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCNhQxWXkcw</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 07:03:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 36870 at http://wkms.org AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play http://wkms.org/post/comcast-deal-puts-new-minority-run-channels-play Rapper and producer Sean "Diddy" Combs, director Robert Rodriguez, and basketball legend Magic Johnson each now has his own new cable TV networks. Their channels were part of a merger deal Comcast made with the FCC to give a shot to new networks owned by African Americans, Latinos and others.<p>Last month, Combs threw on his classic Puff Daddy alias to welcome millennial viewers to his new music network, Revolt.<p>"This is really happening, people," the rapper said at the launch. "A boy from Harlem is really standing on a stoop in Brooklyn launching a network worldwide. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 08:08:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 36480 at http://wkms.org Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play 1 In 7 American Adults Don't Go Online http://wkms.org/post/1-7-american-adults-dont-go-online Fifteen percent of Americans don't use the Internet, according to a survey by the Pew Research Center. Most of these "offline adults" are 65 years old or older, many live in rural areas and have incomes lower than $30,000 a year. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 09:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 35199 at http://wkms.org Sound Pioneer Ray Dolby Dies At 80 http://wkms.org/post/sound-poineer-ray-dolby-dies-80 Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Ray Dolby, whose inventions revolutionized the way audiences listen to entertainment, has died. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 08:58:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 34847 at http://wkms.org Tina Brown To Leave The Daily Beast http://wkms.org/post/tina-brown-leave-daily-beast Celebrity editor Tina Brown announced Wednesday that she's leaving The Daily Beast to launch her own media company. She has been a regular guest on <em>Morning Edition</em>. Brown, 59, plans to produce live forums on news topics.<p>Brown has edited some of the most prestigious publications: <em>Vanity Fair</em>, <em>The New Yorker</em> and <em>Tattler</em>. Five years ago, she helped found The Daily Beast — a news and opinion website. Thu, 12 Sep 2013 05:34:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 34805 at http://wkms.org Tina Brown To Leave The Daily Beast New HIV Cases Spotlight Adult Film Industry's Testing System http://wkms.org/post/hiv-outbreak-spotlights-adult-film-industrys-testing-system Adult film production in California is now suspended after a number of performers tested positive for HIV. Four cases have been reported in the past few months, including one on Monday.<p>If ever there was an "I told you so moment" for the AIDS Healthcare Foundation, it's now. The organization has been campaigning for condoms to be mandatory during porn shoots. Tue, 10 Sep 2013 22:05:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 34770 at http://wkms.org New HIV Cases Spotlight Adult Film Industry's Testing System In 'Alphabet' Mysteries, 'S' Is Really For Santa Barbara http://wkms.org/post/alphabet-mysteries-s-really-santa-barbara Novelist Sue Grafton is a real hoot. She's just as likely to talk, in that native Kentucky drawl of hers, about her prized silver-coin mint julep cups as about a juicy murder mystery. But she does have a crime writer's imagination.<p>"I always say to people, 'Don't cross me, OK? Because you will be so sorry,'" she says. "'I have ways to kill you you ain't even thought of yet.'"<p>Grafton is famous for her "Alphabet" mystery series. Thu, 15 Aug 2013 06:58:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 34012 at http://wkms.org In 'Alphabet' Mysteries, 'S' Is Really For Santa Barbara