Jeff Lunden http://wkms.org en New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow http://wkms.org/post/new-york-philharmonics-lead-fiddler-rests-his-bow <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHU82TvSB_o</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:28:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 41552 at http://wkms.org New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come http://wkms.org/post/new-owner-promises-hand-made-steinways-years-come For 160 years, the pianos made by Steinway & Sons have been considered the finest in the world. So when hedge fund billionaire John Paulson recently bought the company, it struck fear in the hearts of musicians: Would the famously handcrafted pianos be changed, for the sake of efficiency? Paulson, who owns several Steinways himself, says nothing will change.<p>Great pianists need great pianos. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 09:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 37396 at http://wkms.org New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come For John Kander, A New 'Landing' At A Familiar Spot http://wkms.org/post/john-kander-new-landing-familiar-spot Broadway composer John Kander is a living legend: With his songwriting partner, the late Fred Ebb, he created the scores for the smash hit musicals <em>Cabaret </em>and <em>Chicago,</em> as well as the enduring anthem "New York, New York."<p>Now, at 86, Kander has a new writing partner — and a new musical, <em>The Landing,</em> opening off-Broadway Wednesday.<p><strong>"Life Goes On"</strong><p>For a guy with such an illustrious history, Kander isn't terribly nostalgic. He's a writer, and he likes to write. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 20:38:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 35935 at http://wkms.org For John Kander, A New 'Landing' At A Familiar Spot Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors http://wkms.org/post/chronicle-death-foretold-new-york-city-opera-shuts-its-doors This morning the New York City Opera announced that it was declaring bankruptcy and ceasing operations. Dubbed "The People's Opera" by Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia when it was founded 70 years ago, the company was meant as an alternative to the richer Metropolitan Opera. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 21:59:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 35372 at http://wkms.org Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars http://wkms.org/post/american-masterpiece-and-menagerie-stars Pop-culture aficionadoes will know Zachary Quinto as Spock in the cinematic reboot of <em>Star Trek</em>, and Cherry Jones as President Taylor from television's <em>24</em>.<p>But both are accomplished stage actors as well. And tonight, they're opening on Broadway, in a revival of Tennessee Williams' classic play <em>The Glass Menagerie</em>.<p>When the audience enters the Booth Theater, they see a simple, but striking vision. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 20:51:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 35224 at http://wkms.org An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars 'Love's Labours,' Tuned Up And Playing In The Park http://wkms.org/post/loves-labours-tuned-and-playing-park A few years ago, after songwriter Michael Friedman and writer-director Alex Timbers had finished working on their cheeky historical musical <em>Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson</em>, they decided to look for a new project to work on. Friedman says they wanted the next show to have a completely different feel.<p>"So we started looking at Shakespeare," Friedman says. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 21:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 33341 at http://wkms.org 'Love's Labours,' Tuned Up And Playing In The Park Grand Central, A Cathedral For Commuters, Celebrates 100 http://wkms.org/post/grand-central-cathedral-commuters-celebrates-100 Friday marks the day that 100 years ago, Grand Central Terminal opened its doors for business for the very first time. The largest railroad terminal in the world, the magnificent Beaux-Arts building is in the heart of New York City on 42nd St. Fri, 01 Feb 2013 11:28:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 27491 at http://wkms.org 'Oklahoma!' Actress Celeste Holm Dies At 95 http://wkms.org/post/oklahoma-actress-celeste-holm-dies-95 Academy Award-winning actress Celeste Holm has died. A star on both stage and screen, Holm was best known for roles in <em>Gentleman's Agreement</em>, <em>All About Eve</em> and <em>Oklahoma!</em> She was 95.<p>Holm died early Sunday morning in her Manhattan apartment with her husband, family and close friends by her side. Sun, 15 Jul 2012 17:47:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 19257 at http://wkms.org