McCracken County Schools

Heath High School Memorial Committee, via Facebook

McCracken County Schools is hosting a memorial service next month to reflect on 20 years since a high school shooting in west Kentucky. 

McCracken County Public Schools, Facebook

The Kentucky Department of Education has awarded a $675,000 grant to Lone Oak Middle School to establish after-school programs for students.

Jill Darnall, McCracken County Schools

Lone Oak Elementary School has a new principal. Jill Darnall was named to the McCracken County Schools position. Darnall previously served as the Benton Middle School principal for six years.


McCracken County Schools want Paducah Power Systems to release the district from its service contract, but state law may not allow it.  


The McCracken County Board of Education is set to vote on implementing a new grading scale with more stringent requirements for 4.0 students. 

The current scale McCracken County schools use for awarding an “A” in grades K4-12 means scoring a 94 to 100.  

Pioneer Library System / Flickr (Creative Commons)

McCracken County Schools are getting more than $2 million in grant funding for afterschool programs.

The money for the community learning centers at McCracken County High, Lone Oak Elementary and Reidland Intermediate schools comes from three 21st Century grants of more than $600,000 each. / Flickr (Creative Commons License)

The McCracken County Board of Education is looking to add e-cigarettes to it’s tobacco policy as national studies are finding teenagers are more likely to reach for them as opposed to traditional cigarettes.


At a McCracken County Board of Education meeting last week, members deliberated without making a decision on whether to sell or lease the Farley Elementary School building after it closes later this year.

McCracken County Schools spokeswoman Jayme Jones said there was much deliberation during the closed door meeting last Thursday.


The McCracken County School Board is looking to reestablish professional negotiations with the teachers of the McCracken County Education Association.

The board’s unanimous decision came at its regular meeting last night. 


Nine Heath Elementary School students and their driver suffered only minor injuries when a car crashed head-on into a McCracken County school bus Wednesday morning.