Education Commissioner Finalists Named

Frankfort, KY – Kentucky board of education officials have released the names of the four commissioner finalists. They are Dr. Dennis Cheek, a senior fellow at the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation in Kansas City, Missouri; North Carolina school superintendent Dr. Terry Holliday; New Mexico Education Department Deputy Cabinet Secretary Dr. Catherine Cross Maple; and Dr. Michael Sentence, a former Regional Representative for the U-S Department of Education. The board will separately interview each candidate next week to help make their decision. Their pick will replace Education Commissioner Jon Draud who retired because of health concerns.