Beshear Unveils Tax Commission Members

Feb 9, 2012

Governor Steve Beshear has put together a bipartisan group of 23 Kentuckians to serve on his tax commission.

The group is made up partially of lawmakers from each party, although they won’t be able to vote on commission issues. Other members include former University of Kentucky president Lee Todd, banker and Republican fundraiser Marion Forcht, and Louisville businessman Junior Bridgeman.

The commission's recommendations for changes to the state tax code are due by November 15, well after the current legislative session ends.

“To throw this issue at reforming Kentucky’s tax system out into those roiling and boiling waters at this time would simply not allow this effort to get the fair and sincere consideration that it deserves,” Beshear says.

Lieutenant Governor Jerry Abramson will lead the commission.

“We will be having hearings around the state," Abramson says. "Going to gave six public hearings and there will be one in each of the six congressional districts and we’ll be putting out that schedule closer to the end of spring, going to the summer. The body, the commission will be meeting obviously in open session at all time.”

Here is the list of all members of the Blue Ribbon Tax Commission:

Lt. Gov. Jerry Abramson, chairman
Roszalyn Akins, Lexington
Jason Bailey, Kentucky Center for Economic Policy
Jim Booth, Inez coal operator, major donor to Beshear's re-election
Junior Bridgeman, Louisville business
Rocky Comito, Shepherdsville
Luther Deaton, Nicholasville businessman
Marion Forcht, Corbin banker and Republican fundraiser
Rick Jordan, Walton
Pat Mulloy, Louisville
Dr. Sheila Schuster, Louisville
Stu Silberman, head of the Pritchard Committee
Dr. Lee Todd, former UK president
Leslie Weigel, Bowling Green
John Williams, Paducah
Joe Wright, Hazard
Cathy Zion, Louisville
State Rep. Rick Rand (non-voting)
State Rep. Jim Wayne (non-voting)
State Rep. Bill Farmer (non-voting)
State Sen. Bob Leeper (non-voting)
State Sen. Paul Hornback (non-voting)
State Sen. Gerald Neal (non-voting)