FEMA http://wkms.org en FEMA Denies Public Assistance For Tornado-Ravaged Counties http://wkms.org/post/fema-denies-public-assistance-tornado-ravaged-counties <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Federal Emergency Management Agency has denied an aid request from local Illinois governments impacted by the tornadoes that swept across the state late last year. &nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:15:08 +0000 Rob Canning 37925 at http://wkms.org FEMA Denies Public Assistance For Tornado-Ravaged Counties Brookport Aid Groups Transition From Emergency Response to Recovery http://wkms.org/post/brookport-aid-groups-transition-emergency-response-recovery <p class="p1">Aid groups are switching from emergency response to recovery&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">in</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>Brookport<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Illinois more than a month after a tornado outbreak&nbsp; took three lives and destroyed dozens of homes.</span></p><p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 13:00:00 +0000 John Paul Henry 37537 at http://wkms.org Brookport Aid Groups Transition From Emergency Response to Recovery Senator Paul Shows Concern For 'FEMA-Purchased Drones' http://wkms.org/post/senator-paul-shows-concern-fema-purchased-drones <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Kentucky’s junior senator said he’s concerned about grants from the Federal Emergency Management Agency being used to purchase drones for surveillance.</span></p><p>Republican Rand Paul expressed that view at a hearing today of the Senate’s Homeland Security Subcommittee. He claimed FEMA’s fusion centers, which were created by the Departments of Justice and Homeland Security to promote the sharing of information, do not have a stellar record for defending civil liberties.</p><p> Tue, 25 Jun 2013 19:09:15 +0000 Dan Conti (KPR) 32475 at http://wkms.org Senator Paul Shows Concern For 'FEMA-Purchased Drones' Earlington Fire Department Awarded $393K Grant http://wkms.org/post/earlington-fire-department-awarded-393k-grant <p></p><p>The Federal Emergency Management Agency has given the Earlington Fire Department almost $393,000 to better protect the public. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 18:53:35 +0000 Whitney Jones 29307 at http://wkms.org Earlington Fire Department Awarded $393K Grant Murray Receives Most of FEMA Reimbursements http://wkms.org/post/murray-receives-most-fema-reimbursements <p></p><p>The city of Murray has received&nbsp;most of its federal&nbsp;reimbursements &nbsp;from remnants of 2008's hurricane IKE,&nbsp; 2009's ice storm and a severe wind storm in 2011 .&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 18 Feb 2013 18:10:31 +0000 Drew Adams 28197 at http://wkms.org Murray Receives Most of FEMA Reimbursements Lyon Co. Set to Repeal Flood Insurance Ordinance Due to Inaccurate Maps http://wkms.org/post/lyon-co-set-repeal-flood-insurance-ordinance-due-inaccurate-maps <p></p><p></p><p>The Lyon County Fiscal Court plans to repeal its flood insurance map ordinance because it’s causing a burden to some homeowners. The ordinance that went into effect in August includes the county for the first time in the National Flood Insurance Program, allowing property owners to get flood insurance and qualify for federal disaster relief. Mon, 03 Dec 2012 21:01:43 +0000 Angela Hatton 25221 at http://wkms.org Lyon Co. Set to Repeal Flood Insurance Ordinance Due to Inaccurate Maps the morning cram [two more will grow in its place edition] http://wkms.org/post/morning-cram-two-more-will-grow-its-place-edition <p><strong>NPR reports</strong> one year after the death of Osama Bin Laden, officials are <a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/05/01/151728627/after-bin-laden-al-qaida-still-present-as-movement">fighting Al-Quaida</a>&nbsp;on two levels; the physical and the ideological.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 01 May 2012 14:06:14 +0000 Gary Pitts 17814 at http://wkms.org the morning cram [two more will grow in its place edition] Deadline for FEMA Assistance Approaching http://wkms.org/post/deadline-fema-assistance-approaching <p>Kentucky residents affected by severe storms and tornadoes a couple of months ago have until Monday to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency for disaster assistance. Such assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, replacement of essential household items and clothing and other programs to help people and business owners recover. U.S. Representative Hal Rogers says registration is also necessary to apply for Small Business Administration low-interest disaster loans to pay for losses not covered by insurance. Tue, 01 May 2012 12:52:56 +0000 Associated Press 17812 at http://wkms.org Deadline for FEMA Assistance Approaching Federal Disaster Act http://wkms.org/post/federal-disaster-act <p>Illinois&#39; U.S. Senators are backing federal legislation they say would bring consistency and fairness to how communities hit by natural disasters are chosen for federal relief. The Fairness Federal Disaster Declarations Act comes after Harrisburg and other southern Illinois communities were denied federal aid after being devastated by tornadoes on February 29<sup>th</sup>. Fri, 20 Apr 2012 13:03:48 +0000 Gary Pitts & The Associated Press 17703 at http://wkms.org Henry County Schools Approved for Storm Safe Grants http://wkms.org/post/henry-county-schools-approved-storm-safe-grants <p>Federal and state organizations have approved Henry County Tennessee Schools for grants to retrofit three buildings to be tornado safe spaces. Schools board officials will meet this summer with County Mayor Brent Greer and architects to discuss the $3.75 million project. Director of County Schools Sam Miles estimates the county&rsquo;s contribution will be about 4-hundred thousand dollars. Miles says construction will start next summer.</p> Fri, 13 Apr 2012 21:30:10 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 17635 at http://wkms.org Henry County Schools Approved for Storm Safe Grants