drugs http://wkms.org en Drug Round-Up Set For Saturday http://wkms.org/post/drug-round-set-saturday <p></p><p>Kentucky authorities are urging people to participate in a prescription drug roundup aimed at curbing addiction to pills commonly found in family medicine cabinets.</p><p>Attorney General Jack Conway says more than 70 collection sites have been designated across the state on Saturday, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. local time. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 12:07:03 +0000 The Associated Press 36031 at http://wkms.org Drug Round-Up Set For Saturday Henderson Jail Chosen For Drug Abuse Program http://wkms.org/post/henderson-jail-chosen-drug-abuse-program <p></p><p>The Henderson County Jail is one of three chosen by the Commonwealth to house a new substance abuse program. Mon, 21 Jan 2013 12:45:10 +0000 John Walker & The Associated Press 26999 at http://wkms.org Henderson Jail Chosen For Drug Abuse Program Conway Touts KY Drug Reforms http://wkms.org/post/conway-touts-ky-drug-reforms <p></p><p>Kentucky Attorney General Jack Conway is telling political leaders from across the nation the Commonwealth is making progress curbing a prescription drug abuse epidemic. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 14:51:54 +0000 John Walker & The Associated Press 26840 at http://wkms.org Conway Touts KY Drug Reforms KY Gets Chance to Pursue Oxycontin Case http://wkms.org/post/ky-gets-chance-pursue-oxycontin-case <p></p><p>After years of struggling to combat the abuse of Oxycontin Kentucky officials are getting a chance to pursue the drug's maker in a state court lawsuit. Mon, 14 Jan 2013 13:56:11 +0000 John Walker & The Associated Press 26731 at http://wkms.org KY Gets Chance to Pursue Oxycontin Case Ky. State Police See 'All-Time High' in Meth Labs http://wkms.org/post/ky-state-police-see-all-time-high-meth-labs <p></p><p>Kentucky State Police officials say they’ve seen an all-time high of meth labs in the past two years. So far in 2012, police have seized more than 1,200 labs. Mon, 19 Nov 2012 13:51:27 +0000 Whitney Jones & The Gleaner 24669 at http://wkms.org Ky. State Police See 'All-Time High' in Meth Labs Welfare Drug Testing Passes Tennessee Senate http://wkms.org/post/welfare-drug-testing-passes-tennessee-senate <p><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: 'Times New Roman', serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: 24px; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); ">A measure requiring Tennessee welfare recipients to go through drug testing passed the state Senate yesterday. The legislation requires new welfare applicants to undergo a special screening process. If suspicion is raised after the screening, the applicant would be drug tested. The proposal differs from an original version that would have required blanket testing, which Attorney General Robert Cooper Jr. says is unconstitutional. Thu, 26 Apr 2012 12:56:17 +0000 Associated Press 17763 at http://wkms.org Tennessee Welfare Recipient Drug Test Bill Advances http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-welfare-recipient-drug-test-bill-advances <p>A proposal to drug test people as a condition for receiving welfare is advancing in the Tennessee House.&nbsp; The measure sponsored by Republican Representative Julia Hurley was approved on a voice vote in the House Finance Subcommittee Monday. The companion bill is awaiting a Senate floor vote.&nbsp; The proposal differs from original legislation the state attorney general said was constitutionally suspect. Tue, 24 Apr 2012 14:06:02 +0000 Associated Press 17738 at http://wkms.org Tennessee Welfare Recipient Drug Test Bill Advances Drug Abuse in KY Mines http://wkms.org/post/drug-abuse-ky-mines <p>Prescription drug abuse is an ongoing problem in Kentucky&rsquo;s mines but recent steps taken by the state legislature are helping get control of it. That&rsquo;s what a member of the state mine safety review commission told the senate judiciary committee this week. Paducah attorney Duncan Pitchford says miners in the western Kentucky coalfields are also struggling with methamphetamine addictions.</p> Fri, 13 Apr 2012 21:06:57 +0000 Dan Conti (KPR) 17632 at http://wkms.org Prescription Drug Summit draws Kentucky Leaders http://wkms.org/post/prescription-drug-summit-draws-kentucky-leaders <p>Top Kentucky health leaders and lawmakers trying to end multistate prescription drug trafficking and abuse are meeting in Florida this week.&nbsp; The National R-X Drug Abuse Summit runs from tomorrow until Thursday in Orlando.&nbsp; The event is organized by the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group Operation UNITE.&nbsp; It will feature remarks by Kentucky Governor Steve Beshear, U.S. Surgeon General Dr. Regina Benjamin and U.S. &ldquo;Drug Czar&rdquo; R. Mon, 09 Apr 2012 12:45:45 +0000 Todd Hatton 17560 at http://wkms.org Prescription Drug Summit draws Kentucky Leaders Gov. Beshear Joins Supporters of Drug Bill http://wkms.org/post/gov-beshear-joins-supporters-drug-bill <p>Gov. Steve Beshear has joined a bipartisan group of state leaders to push for passage of a bill to curb prescription drug abuse. Lawmakers return to Frankfort next Thursday for the final day of the legislative session. Beshear said that gives lawmakers ample time to pass the bill. The legislation would put the attorney general&#39;s office in charge of the state&#39;s prescription monitoring system, known as KASPER, that can identify doctors who over prescribe painkillers.</p> Fri, 06 Apr 2012 16:58:33 +0000 Shelly Baskin & The Associated Press 17547 at http://wkms.org Gov. Beshear Joins Supporters of Drug Bill