Weather http://wkms.org en Dodson to Cut Back on Weather Updates http://wkms.org/post/dodson-cut-back-weather-updates <p></p><p>A volunteer meteorologist in Paducah says he is cutting back on his weather coverage this year.</p><p>Beau Dodson has volunteered with the McCracken County Emergency Management Agency sending weather updates online, but says after a decade of service he will stop sending email updates for the agency. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 22:32:44 +0000 Whitney Jones 37764 at http://wkms.org Dodson to Cut Back on Weather Updates Wild Weather Tied To Unusual Jet Stream Activity http://wkms.org/post/wild-weather-tied-unusual-jet-stream-activity There has been a lot of extreme weather in the Northern Hemisphere this year, including the recent torrential rains in Colorado, flooding in Europe, bitter cold in Florida and a heat wave in Alaska. And scientists say all of it is related to some odd behavior by the powerful air currents called the polar jet stream.<p>The jet stream is "this ribbon of very fast moving winds that's high over our heads," says <a href="http://marine.rutgers.edu/~francis/">Jennifer Francis</a>, a research scientist at the Institute of Marine & Coastal Sciences at Rutgers University. Wed, 25 Sep 2013 07:43:00 +0000 Jon Hamilton 35152 at http://wkms.org Wild Weather Tied To Unusual Jet Stream Activity Study Links Headaches and Migraines to Weather http://wkms.org/post/study-links-headaches-and-migraines-weather <p></p><p>If you've ever blamed the weather for a splitting headache, you might be right.&nbsp; A new University of Cincinnati study finds that lightning may affect the onset of headache and migraines.</p><p>"What we found was that on days with lightning around the patients'&nbsp; homes there was approximately a 30-percent increase in headache activity, or headache occurrence, and also a 30-percent increase in migraine," said fourth-year medical student Geoff Martin, one of the researchers. Fri, 25 Jan 2013 16:37:03 +0000 Mark Heyne (WVXU) 27215 at http://wkms.org Study Links Headaches and Migraines to Weather LIHEAP Numbers Decline With Warm Weather http://wkms.org/post/liheap-numbers-decline-warm-weather <p></p><p>The energy assistance program for low-income families, or LIHEAP (LYE-heep) is seeing a drop in Purchase area applicants by almost 25 percent this winter due to unusually warm weather. <a href="http://www.communityactionky.org/Agencies/AgencyList/WestKYAlliedServices.aspx">West Kentucky Allied Services</a> administers the program in Mayfield. Tue, 04 Dec 2012 22:37:38 +0000 John Walker 25289 at http://wkms.org LIHEAP Numbers Decline With Warm Weather 2012 Could Be Hottest Year on Record for Region http://wkms.org/post/2012-could-be-hottest-year-record-region <p></p><p>This year could go on record as the hottest year ever, both nationally and regionally. The National Weather Service says the year to date average temperature for the Paducah region is 63.6 degrees, 1.2 degrees higher than the second warmest year in 1954. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 16:11:00 +0000 Shelly Baskin 24740 at http://wkms.org 2012 Could Be Hottest Year on Record for Region Heavy Rain, High Wind Expected Through Labor Day Weekend http://wkms.org/post/heavy-rain-high-wind-expected-through-labor-day-weekend <p>National Weather Service officials say remnants of former Hurricane Isaac will bring gusty winds and rain to the region this weekend. Forecaster David Humprhey says heavy rain will be the <a href="http://www.crh.noaa.gov/images/pah/isaac.pdf">biggest effect of the storms,</a> with 2-3 inches expected between now and Sunday. But high winds are also a concern. Humphrey says NWS has issued a <a href="http://forecast.weather.gov/showsigwx.php?warnzone=KYZ009&amp;warncounty=KYC035&amp;firewxzone=KYZ009&amp;local_place1=&amp;product1=Lake+Wind+Advisory">lake wind advisory </a>today through Sunday. Fri, 31 Aug 2012 16:43:58 +0000 Angela Hatton 21566 at http://wkms.org Heavy Rain, High Wind Expected Through Labor Day Weekend Remnants of Isaac Heading for Region http://wkms.org/post/remnants-isaac-heading-region <p>The former Hurricane Isaac is due to reach the region sometime tomorrow afternoon, much weaker than when it hit Louisiana yesterday. National Weather Service forecaster David Humphrey says the storm will probably skirt the outside of the Four Rivers Region.</p><p><em>“The track still looks like it’s gonna come up out of Louisiana, go through Arkansas, Missouri, Illinois, Indiana. That’ll take the very heaviest rain, along that track”</em></p> Thu, 30 Aug 2012 16:47:28 +0000 Shelly Baskin 21511 at http://wkms.org Remnants of Isaac Heading for Region Hurricane Isaac will bring rain to this region this weekend http://wkms.org/post/hurricane-isaac-will-bring-rain-region-weekend <p>The now-Category 1 hurricane Isaac is expected to hit landfall near New Orleans tonight. National Weather Service meteorologist Robin Smith says Isaac’s effect on this region could vary, but that rain is expected Friday night and Saturday.</p><p> Tue, 28 Aug 2012 17:39:59 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 21404 at http://wkms.org Hurricane Isaac will bring rain to this region this weekend Weather Advisory Extended http://wkms.org/post/weather-advisory-extended <p>An excessive heat warning for the region has been extended yet again, and is now in effect until 7&nbsp;pm Saturday.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 06 Jul 2012 13:50:24 +0000 Drew Adams 18852 at http://wkms.org Weather Advisory Extended Cooling Stations Coming to a County Near You http://wkms.org/post/cooling-stations-coming-county-near-you <p>Ten counties in our area have opened cooling stations, giving the public with a place to avoid high temperatures and reduce health risks caused by excessive heat.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 02 Jul 2012 19:15:31 +0000 Heidi Couch 18660 at http://wkms.org Cooling Stations Coming to a County Near You