safety http://wkms.org en KY Fire Commission Offers Halloween Safety Tips http://wkms.org/post/ky-fire-commission-offers-halloween-safety-tips <p></p><p>Children look forward to the fun and excitement of Halloween, but the Kentucky Fire Commission says everyone should remember to celebrate safely.</p><p>The commission's is advising trick or treaters to Wear bright, reflective and flame-resistant costumes and add reflective tape to be visible to drivers. Wed, 30 Oct 2013 11:18:16 +0000 The Associated Press 36147 at http://wkms.org KY Fire Commission Offers Halloween Safety Tips Kentucky Official Stresses Water Safety Over Holiday http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-official-stresses-water-safety-over-holiday <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Heavy boat traffic on the lakes this holiday weekend has Law Enforcement reminding boaters to take extra caution.</span></p><p>Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife's&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Sgt. Gary Clark stresses the importance of wearing a life jacket at all times on the water and for drivers to be alert of their surroundings. Clark also recommends caution tonight when marinas have their own firework shows after dark.</span></p><p> Thu, 04 Jul 2013 19:13:18 +0000 Rob Canning 32775 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Official Stresses Water Safety Over Holiday KSP Warns Drivers to Watch Out for Deer http://wkms.org/post/ksp-warns-drivers-watch-out-deer <p>Kentucky State Police say drivers in the fall are likely to see deer on or near roadways, a serious issue that caused nearly 3,000 wrecks in the state last year. State police spokesman Sgt. Rick Saint-Blancard says three of the wrecks were fatal.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 25 Oct 2012 13:17:51 +0000 The Associated Press 23700 at http://wkms.org KSP Warns Drivers to Watch Out for Deer Illinois Fire Officials Offer Safety Tips for Campfires http://wkms.org/post/illinois-fire-officials-offer-safety-tips-campfires <p></p> Mon, 27 Aug 2012 13:24:22 +0000 Todd Hatton & The Associated Press 21322 at http://wkms.org Illinois Fire Officials Offer Safety Tips for Campfires Memorial Day Road Safety http://wkms.org/post/memorial-day-road-safety <p>The Memorial Day Weekend will come to a close at day&rsquo;s end.&nbsp; Many people will be traveling home during the day.</p><p> Mon, 28 May 2012 19:42:21 +0000 Stu Johnson (KPR) 18142 at http://wkms.org Memorial Day Road Safety Illinois Bill Aims to Make Online Dating Safer http://wkms.org/post/illinois-bill-aims-make-online-dating-safer <p>Illinois state lawmakers are trying to make it safer for people to use online dating sites.&nbsp; Legislation aiming to do that passed the House last week.&nbsp; It would require Internet dating services operating in the state to post disclaimers saying whether they conduct background checks on their members.&nbsp; The measure is sponsored by Democratic state Representative Michelle Mussman.&nbsp; She says she wants to help Internet users &quot;become more savvy&quot; and protect themselves from online predators.&nbsp; Opponents say the bill overreaches. Mon, 02 Apr 2012 12:54:58 +0000 Seth Helton & AP 17479 at http://wkms.org Illinois Bill Aims to Make Online Dating Safer Safe Infants Act Protects Children, Parents http://wkms.org/post/safe-infants-act-protects-children-parents <p><span class="article-content"><span>A 2001 law could have prevented the arrest of a Paducah teen and the death of her baby. The Safe Infants Act allows parents of newborns less than 72 hours old to drop the child off anonymously without consequences. Police departments, fire departments and hospitals are will all accept anonymous drop-offs. The law protects parents from legal repercussions as long as the child shows no signs of abuse. Parents have 30 days to change their minds before the child is put under permanent state custody. Mon, 20 Feb 2012 14:28:25 +0000 Seth Helton 16982 at http://wkms.org