Tennesee http://wkms.org en TN Lawmakers Reviewing Textbooks This Week http://wkms.org/post/tn-lawmakers-reviewing-textbooks-week <p></p><p>Tennessee lawmakers are holding hearings this week to review the state's textbook selection process.</p><p>The Senate Education Committee and the Senate Government Operations Committee will hold the hearings jointly today and tomorrow.</p><p>Lawmakers say the hearings are intended to seek clarity regarding the structure and function of the Tennessee Textbook Commission. Mon, 04 Nov 2013 12:38:31 +0000 The Associated Press 36252 at http://wkms.org TN Lawmakers Reviewing Textbooks This Week TN Report Provides Figures On Bullying In Schools http://wkms.org/post/tn-report-provides-figures-bullying-schools <p></p><p>A new report shows there were more than 7,500 cases of bullying reported in Tennessee's public schools during the 2012-13 school year.</p><p>The report was released by the state Education Department. Officials say 5,478 of the 7,555 cases were confirmed after investigation. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 12:04:08 +0000 The Associated Press 36030 at http://wkms.org TN Report Provides Figures On Bullying In Schools Tennessee Agritourism Visitors Spent More Than $34M in 2012 http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-agritourism-visitors-spent-more-34m-2012 <p></p><p>A new study of the Tennessee agritourism estimates that its economic impact in the state more than doubled between 2006 and 2012. University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture researchers estimate visitors to Tennessee agritourism operations in 2012 spent more than $34.4 million directly and more than $54.2 million total. Fri, 19 Jul 2013 11:39:56 +0000 Whitney Jones & The Associated Press 33219 at http://wkms.org Tennessee Agritourism Visitors Spent More Than $34M in 2012 Tennessee lawmakers to decide fate of supermarket wine http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-lawmakers-decide-fate-supermarket-wine <p></p><p>Tennessee lawmakers are poised to decide this week whether a proposal to allow supermarket wine sales moves ahead.&nbsp; The bill to overhaul the current system preventing shoppers from buying wine alongside groceries faces votes in both House and Senate committees this week. Mon, 25 Feb 2013 16:03:07 +0000 Todd Hatton & The Associated Press 28491 at http://wkms.org Tennessee lawmakers to decide fate of supermarket wine Tennessee Interim DCS Head Faces Legislators http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-interim-dcs-head-faces-legislators <p>The temporary head Tennessee’s Department of Children’s Services says he will turn things around, even with the title of “interim.” Jim Henry replaces former DCS Commissioner Kate O’Day who resigned yesterday just 24 hours before she was to testify in front of the legislature about unreported child deaths. Commissioner O’Day was criticized for not being accessible, but Henry says he plans to meet with child advocacy groups immediately.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 06 Feb 2013 21:40:23 +0000 Blake Farmer (Nashville Public Radio) 27736 at http://wkms.org Tennessee Interim DCS Head Faces Legislators TN Unemployment at Five Year Low http://wkms.org/post/tn-unemployment-five-year-low <p></p><p>The number of unemployed Tennesseans is at its lowest point since the economic meltdown of 2008. Fri, 18 Jan 2013 14:34:26 +0000 John Walker & The Associated Press 26935 at http://wkms.org TN Unemployment at Five Year Low Records Show DCS Lagged in Child Death Reviews http://wkms.org/post/records-show-dcs-lagged-child-death-reviews <p></p><p>Records from the Tennessee Department of Children's Services show the agency fell behind in reviewing child deaths and ignored its own policies.&nbsp; Mon, 14 Jan 2013 14:30:10 +0000 John Walker & The Associated Press 26734 at http://wkms.org Records Show DCS Lagged in Child Death Reviews Tennessee Deer Hunting Season Cut Short http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-deer-hunting-season-cut-short <p></p><p>Tennessee wildlife officials say this year’s deer season was a good one, but colder weather would have made it even better.&nbsp; Thu, 10 Jan 2013 13:47:42 +0000 John Walker & The Associated Press 26615 at http://wkms.org Tennessee Deer Hunting Season Cut Short 2012 Brought More TN Tornadoes http://wkms.org/post/2012-brought-more-tn-tornadoes <p></p><p>New data shows Tennessee had more tornadoes in 2012 than in previous years. The National Weather Service says 34 tornadoes were recorded across the state last year with 20 occurring in March alone.&nbsp; NWS meteorologist Bobby Boyd says the average year brings 21 tornadoes to Tennessee. Mon, 07 Jan 2013 14:51:45 +0000 John Walker & The Associated Press 26463 at http://wkms.org 2012 Brought More TN Tornadoes Tennessee Teachers' Union Against Carrying Guns http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-teachers-union-against-carrying-guns <p>The head of Tennessee’s largest teachers' union said she expects her board to take an official position against proposals that would allow teachers to carry guns.&nbsp; Mon, 07 Jan 2013 14:28:21 +0000 John Walker & The Associated Press 26462 at http://wkms.org Tennessee Teachers' Union Against Carrying Guns