Thanksgiving http://wkms.org en Understanding the Wild Turkey http://wkms.org/post/understanding-wild-turkey <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Kate </span>Lochte<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> speaks with </span>LBL<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Wildlife Technician Curtis Fowler about the wild turkey. Fowler explains the hard life of a turkey, times when turkeys were scarce in the US and when reintroduction took place, also a turkey's ability to fly and when you might see one airborne.</span></p><p><a href="http://www.lbl.org/hunting.html">See more about turkey hunting at LBL</a>.</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 17:48:53 +0000 Kate Lochte 36888 at http://wkms.org Understanding the Wild Turkey St. John's Hosts 9th Annual Community Thanksgiving Dinner http://wkms.org/post/st-johns-hosts-9th-annual-community-thanksgiving-dinner <p>St. John's Episcopal Church's Rev. Rose Bogal Albritten joins Kate Lochte on <em>Sounds Good</em>&nbsp;with more about the 9th Annual Community Thanksgiving Dinner at the Murray Banquet Center from 11:30 to 1 Thursday. All are welcome. <a href="http://stjohns.episcopalky.org/">See more at St. John's website</a>.</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 21:36:05 +0000 Kate Lochte 36862 at http://wkms.org St. John's Hosts 9th Annual Community Thanksgiving Dinner Chad and Tracy Preview 'Preserving Our Voices' http://wkms.org/post/chad-and-tracy-preview-preserving-our-voices <p>WKMS News Director Chad Lampe&nbsp;talks with Tracy Ross on <em>Sounds Good</em> about the WKMS original production "Preserving Our Voices" airing Friday at noon, following the StoryCorps 10th Anniversary Special: Ties that Bind. They preview some of the stories you'll hear in the special, and listen to part of a story from Paducah resident and MSU&nbsp;alum, Jesus Menendez, who grew up in Cuba during the Cuban Revolution and made his way to a new life in western Kentucky.</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 21:30:08 +0000 Matt Markgraf 36861 at http://wkms.org Chad and Tracy Preview 'Preserving Our Voices' Ky. Lawmaker Apologizes for Thanksgiving Tweet http://wkms.org/post/ky-lawmaker-apologizes-thanksgiving-tweet <p>A Northern Kentucky lawmaker stepped in a Thanksgiving Twitter controversy over a joke about gun control. A&nbsp;joke made by Dry Ridge Republican Brian Linder has sparked a broader conversation about American history.</p><p>It all started with a t weet.</p><p> Fri, 22 Nov 2013 22:17:14 +0000 Jonathan Meador 36809 at http://wkms.org Ky. Lawmaker Apologizes for Thanksgiving Tweet TN Offering Thanksgiving Dinner At State Parks http://wkms.org/post/tn-offering-thanksgiving-dinner-state-parks <p></p><p>Restaurants at eight Tennessee state parks will be open Nov. 28 to serve Thanksgiving dinner, including Paris Landing State Park in Henry County.</p><p>Other state parks serving the Thanksgiving dinners include Cumberland Mountain, David Crockett, Fall Creek Falls, Henry Horton, Montgomery Bell, Natchez Trace, Paris Landing and Pickwick Landing.</p><p>Turkey and trimmings will be available starting at 11 a.m. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 13:10:30 +0000 The Associated Press 36691 at http://wkms.org TN Offering Thanksgiving Dinner At State Parks Holidays Sound Good on WKMS! http://wkms.org/post/holidays-sound-good-wkms <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">We’re happy announce that our annual holiday programming schedule is set! We hope you’ll curl up with a hot mug of cocoa to enjoy nearly 80 hours of special national and local programing to celebrate the season.</span></p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 21:31:35 +0000 Matt Markgraf 36540 at http://wkms.org Holidays Sound Good on WKMS! Kentucky Transportation Officials Suspend Construction http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-transportation-officials-suspend-construction <p>Kentucky transportation officials say they’ve suspended construction on most major highways over the Thanksgiving holiday, including the Ledbetter Bridge between Livingston and McCracken counties. However, they urge drivers to still use caution and be alert for lane closures in many locations. &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;</p><p></p> Thu, 22 Nov 2012 15:42:34 +0000 Dave Shinall 24819 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Transportation Officials Suspend Construction Thanksgiving Turkeys can Pose Fire Hazard http://wkms.org/post/thanksgiving-turkeys-can-pose-fire-hazard <p></p><p>Thanksgiving is often the biggest, most complex home cooked meal of the year, which means there are a lot of mistakes.&nbsp;It can also be a busy day for firefighters.&nbsp; &nbsp;The National Fire Protection Association says Thanksgiving is the leading day for home cooking fires.&nbsp; Wed, 21 Nov 2012 16:01:00 +0000 Stu Johnson (KPR) 24739 at http://wkms.org Thanksgiving Turkeys can Pose Fire Hazard Slight Uptick in Holiday Travel This Thanksgiving http://wkms.org/post/slight-uptick-holiday-travel-thanksgiving <p></p><p>Motorists this Thanksgiving Week are apt to see congested interstate highways around Kentucky.&nbsp; Holiday travel is anticipated to increase slightly for the five day period.&nbsp; Triple-A spokesman Christopher Oakford says that’s been the trend in recent years. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Stu Johnson (KPR) 24688 at http://wkms.org Slight Uptick in Holiday Travel This Thanksgiving Sounds Good Wreath Contest Winners http://wkms.org/post/sounds-good-wreath-contest-winners <p>Murray State’s NPR station, 91.3 WKMS-FM, has announced winners of its holiday wreath making contest. Wreaths are on display in Murray State’s Waterfield Library through the end of November and then most go to Murray Calloway County Hospital to decorate for the holiday season. Images of all wreaths are also on <a href="http://www.facebook.com/wkmsfm">the WKMS Facebook page</a>.</p><p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 21:12:31 +0000 Jenni Todd 24745 at http://wkms.org Sounds Good Wreath Contest Winners