Department of Agriculture http://wkms.org en Ethics Panel Approves Richie Farmer's Plea Deal http://wkms.org/post/ethics-panel-approves-richie-farmers-plea-deal <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Kentucky's</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Executive Branch Ethics Commission has approved an agreement with former two-term Agriculture Commissioner Richie Farmer to resolve administrative charges related to his management of the department. That agreement is part of an overall deal that will also resolve government corruption charges pending in state and federal court.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 09 Sep 2013 16:51:37 +0000 Rob Canning & The Associated Press 34716 at http://wkms.org Ethics Panel Approves Richie Farmer's Plea Deal Agriculture Commissioner Plans Area Visit To Discuss Mosquito Problem http://wkms.org/post/agriculture-commissioner-plans-area-visit-discuss-mosquito-problem <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Kentucky Agriculture Commissioner James Comer will meet with local judge executives next Tuesday concerning this year’s increased</span><a href="http://wkms.org/post/tn-health-department-warns-mosquito-borne-illness" style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;mosquito levels</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p>Judge-executives from Calloway, Marshall, Lyon and&nbsp;Trigg&nbsp;counties sent a letter to the commissioner asking for aerial pesticide spraying. The commissioner responded by requesting an in-person meeting.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 25 Jun 2013 16:42:08 +0000 Rob Canning 32472 at http://wkms.org Agriculture Commissioner Plans Area Visit To Discuss Mosquito Problem Kentucky Chamber Joins Hemp Supporters http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-chamber-joins-hemp-supporters <p>Another supporter has come out in favor of industrial hemp in Kentucky. The state’s largest business group, the Kentucky Chamber, announced today that it supports hemp as a crop for oil and fiber. Fri, 11 Jan 2013 20:55:45 +0000 Kenny Colston (KPR) 26684 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Chamber Joins Hemp Supporters Additional Purchase Counties Named Exceptional Drought Areas http://wkms.org/post/additional-purchase-counties-named-exceptional-drought-areas <p></p><p>Four more counties in the Jackson Purchase have been given the &lsquo;exceptional drought&rsquo; status by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 20 Jul 2012 11:56:03 +0000 Drew Adams 19497 at http://wkms.org Additional Purchase Counties Named Exceptional Drought Areas Nesler Takes Ag Department Post http://wkms.org/post/nesler-takes-ag-department-post <p>Retiring 2<sup>nd</sup> District State Representative Fred Nesler has left the legislature earlier than expected to take an administrative post with Kentucky&rsquo;s Department of Agriculture.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 11 Jun 2012 12:39:13 +0000 Associated Press 18309 at http://wkms.org Nesler Takes Ag Department Post Forest Service Payments http://wkms.org/post/forest-service-payments <p>Projects to improve roads and forest trails in rural Kentucky counties are facing their last round of funding from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The agency announced Friday that more than $307 million will be distributed to states with national forest lands, marking the final payment under the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act. Kentucky, which is home to Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area and the Daniel Boone National Forest, will get a final check for $1.8 million.</p> Fri, 17 Feb 2012 20:48:08 +0000 Brenna Angel (KPR) 16969 at http://wkms.org Forest Service Payments