Recycling http://wkms.org en Kentucky Agency Handing Out Recycling Grants http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-agency-handing-out-recycling-grants <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Kentucky Division of Waste Management is handing out more than $3 million in grants to local communities.</span></p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:28:22 +0000 Parker Franklin 41420 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Agency Handing Out Recycling Grants Murray Mayor on Make A Difference Recycling Day http://wkms.org/post/murray-mayor-make-difference-recycling-day <p>Murray's 95th Make a Difference Day recycling event is at Murray State's Roy Stewart Stadium on Saturday, March 22, from 9 a.m to 1 p.m. Mayor Bill Wells stops by<em> Sounds Good</em> to tell us about the opportunity to make an environmental difference.</p><p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 19:06:51 +0000 Kate Lochte 39366 at http://wkms.org Murray Mayor on Make A Difference Recycling Day TDEC Awards $2.3 Million in Recycling Grants http://wkms.org/post/tdec-awards-23-million-recycling-grants <p>The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation has awarded about $2.3 million in recycling grants.&nbsp; Commissioner Bob Martineau says the grants are meant to help reduce landfill waste in the state.&nbsp; Most of the money comes in the form of "Recycling Hub and Spoke Grants," which are used to expand regional facilities to collect, transport and process materials from several counties and municipalities. Tue, 24 Dec 2013 15:09:25 +0000 Todd Hatton & The Associated Press 37586 at http://wkms.org TDEC Awards $2.3 Million in Recycling Grants Madisonville Sanitation Officials Promote City Recycling http://wkms.org/post/madisonville-sanitation-officials-promote-city-recycling <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Madisonville sanitation officials say nearly 30% of the city's population is using the city's </span>iRecycle<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> program. In October, the city began the program to keeping garbage collection fees low by reducing the number of tons transported to the Hopkins County Regional Landfill.&nbsp;City Sanitation Superintendent Robert </span>Janes<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> said he hopes 70 per cent of the population will sign on by the end of the next fiscal year.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 17 May 2013 19:56:04 +0000 Rob Canning 31690 at http://wkms.org Madisonville Sanitation Officials Promote City Recycling Recycling Center Catches Fire Again http://wkms.org/post/recycling-center-catches-fire-again <p></p><p>A Union City, Tenn., recycling center has erupted in flames for the second time in two months. A previously unburned part of Greenway Recover &amp; Recycle caught fire shortly before 10 a.m. yesterday. Union City Fire Chief Kelly Edmison says a fire crew remains on site to control the blaze. Edmison says fires in bales of plastic have been difficult to put out because of the type of material. He says plastic from the first fire in September continues to smolder. Thu, 01 Nov 2012 16:55:30 +0000 Angela Hatton 23975 at http://wkms.org Recycling Center Catches Fire Again Fire Destroys Union City Recycling Center http://wkms.org/post/fire-destroys-union-city-recycling-center <p>A fire has destroyed Union City, Tennessee’s recycling center. Union City Fire Lieutenant James Rhamy says the fire began around midday yesterday at Greenway Recover &amp; Recycle, located in the city's industrial park. Rhamy says used cardboard caught fire, destroying the center and burning woods around it. Fri, 14 Sep 2012 17:50:08 +0000 Angela Hatton & The Associated Press 22099 at http://wkms.org Fire Destroys Union City Recycling Center APSU Recognized for Sustainibility Programs http://wkms.org/post/apsu-recognized-sustainibility-programs <p>Austin Peay State University has joined a community-based sustainability program. The Clarksville-Montgomery County Green Certification Program recognized APSU this week for its conservation efforts. The university added a sustainable campus fee in 2008 to help fund initiatives, such as recycling projects, alternative fuel vehicles, solar panels and better irrigation systems for landscaping. Going green is a trend among universities. Tue, 11 Sep 2012 18:14:32 +0000 Angela Hatton 21968 at http://wkms.org APSU Recognized for Sustainibility Programs Quinn Rejects Illinois Plastic Bag Recycling Bill http://wkms.org/post/quinn-rejects-illinois-plastic-bag-recycling-bill <p></p> Mon, 27 Aug 2012 13:13:58 +0000 Todd Hatton & The Associated Press 21320 at http://wkms.org Quinn Rejects Illinois Plastic Bag Recycling Bill