soldiers http://wkms.org en Ephemera Paducah Hosts Card-Making Project for Troops http://wkms.org/post/ephemera-paducah-hosts-card-making-project-troops <p>This Saturday (April 19), Ephemera Paducah hosts a card-making day following Operation Write Home guidelines. Kristen Williams joins Kate Lochte on<em> Sounds Good </em>with details about the 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. event providing deployed troops hand-made greeting cards to send back home to loved ones.</p><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:31:39 +0000 Kate Lochte 39959 at http://wkms.org Ephemera Paducah Hosts Card-Making Project for Troops IFHF Reaches Milestone for Ft. Campbell Traumatic Brain Injury Center http://wkms.org/post/ifhf-reaches-milestone-ft-campbell-traumatic-brain-injury-center <p>Ft. Campbell Kentucky's Center to Diagnose and Treat Traumatic Brain Injury has hit a construction milestone. Kate Lochte speaks with Arnold Fisher, a family representative of the national fundraising effort, Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund. The center will provide diagnosis and treatment for wounded, injured and ill military heroes while creating programs for rehabilitation and recovery.</p><p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 19:20:52 +0000 Kate Lochte 39788 at http://wkms.org IFHF Reaches Milestone for Ft. Campbell Traumatic Brain Injury Center Fort Campbell Soldiers Prepare to Deploy for Support Role in Afghanistan http://wkms.org/post/fort-campbell-soldiers-prepare-deploy-support-role-afghanistan <p>Fort Campbell Army leaders are learning how to take a backseat role when they return to Afghanistan this fall to serve as military advisers. About 1,900 troops from the 1st Brigade Combat Team in the 101st Airborne Division, will serve as a Security Force Assistance Brigade with a mission to prepare the Afghan security forces for the coming withdrawal of NATO troops. Tue, 25 Sep 2012 20:11:59 +0000 Angela Hatton & The Associated Press 22504 at http://wkms.org Fort Campbell Soldiers Prepare to Deploy for Support Role in Afghanistan Grimes off to Middle East to check military http://wkms.org/post/grimes-middle-east-check-military <p>Kentucky Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes is in the Middle East this week, part of a group of U.S. officials reviewing military voting procedures.&nbsp; Grimes says members of the military who are risking their lives abroad must be ensured the right to vote in elections back home.&nbsp; Mon, 10 Sep 2012 13:51:28 +0000 The Associated Press & Todd Hatton 21896 at http://wkms.org Grimes off to Middle East to check military Ky. National Guard Deploys to Horn of Africa http://wkms.org/post/ky-national-guard-deploys-horn-africa <p>Over 500 Kentucky National Guard members are on their way to the Horn of Africa. Soldiers from all over the state, including Paducah, Cadiz, Hopkinsville, Owensboro and Madisonville set out for a nine month deployment as part of the 2nd Battalion, 138th Field Artillery. Tue, 04 Sep 2012 17:13:53 +0000 Angela Hatton 21680 at http://wkms.org Ky. National Guard Deploys to Horn of Africa UK Launches New Military Suicide Study http://wkms.org/post/uk-launches-new-military-suicide-study <p>With the rate of suicides among military personnel continuing to rise, a University of Kentucky professor is leading a study to investigate the effect those deaths have on family and friends left behind. Based on previous research, it’s estimated that around 40 percent of Kentuckians know someone who has taken their own life. Tue, 21 Aug 2012 16:08:32 +0000 Brenna Angel (KPR) 21066 at http://wkms.org UK Launches New Military Suicide Study