Michael Minger http://wkms.org en Walker Appeals Removal from Assistant Principal Role http://wkms.org/post/walker-appeals-removal-assistant-principal-role <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: 'Times New Roman', serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: 32px;">A Paducah Middle School assistant principal indicted for charges related to a 1998 Murray State University dorm fire is appealing the district’s decision to terminate his contract.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 24 Jun 2013 20:31:51 +0000 Drew Adams & The Associated Press 32433 at http://wkms.org Walker Appeals Removal from Assistant Principal Role Court Denies Motion to Dismiss in Walker Case http://wkms.org/post/court-denies-motion-dismiss-walker-case <p>A Calloway County Circuit Court judge has denied a motion to dismiss a tampering with evidence case against Jerry Wayne Walker, Junior. Judge Dennis Foust said in an order issued today that the case does not violate Walker’s rights. Walker faces tampering charges for allegedly writing letters that interfered in the commonwealth attorney’s investigation into a 1998 dorm fire at Murray State’s Hester Hall. Fri, 12 Oct 2012 16:59:00 +0000 Angela Hatton 23168 at http://wkms.org Court Denies Motion to Dismiss in Walker Case Walker Not Guilty http://wkms.org/post/walker-not-guilty <p>A jury found Jerry Wayne Walker Jr. not guilty yesterday of charges associated with a fatal 1998 Murray State University dorm fire.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 19 Jul 2012 13:11:02 +0000 Casey Northcutt 19444 at http://wkms.org Walker Not Guilty Defense Rests in Murray State Dorm Fire Re-Trial http://wkms.org/post/defense-rests-murray-state-dorm-fire-re-trial <p>Experts argued over fire simulation software today during the re-trial of Jerry Wayne Walker Jr. who&rsquo;s charged with starting a fatal 1998 Murray State dorm fire.</p><p> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 17:42:02 +0000 Casey Northcutt 19360 at http://wkms.org Defense Rests in Murray State Dorm Fire Re-Trial Former Girlfriend Testifies in Walker Dorm Fire Trial http://wkms.org/post/former-girlfriend-testifies-walker-dorm-fire-trial <p>Jerry Wayne Walker Jr.&rsquo;s ex-girlfriend testified in his trial yesterday in Marshall County. Walker faces charges stemming from the 1998 Murray State University Hester Hall dorm fire that killed student Michael Minger.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 14:01:25 +0000 Gary Pitts & Paducah Sun 19068 at http://wkms.org Former Girlfriend Testifies in Walker Dorm Fire Trial Jury Selection Begins in Walker Retrial http://wkms.org/post/jury-selection-begins-walker-retrial <p>Attorneys are selecting a jury in the trial of a western Kentucky man accused of starting a fatal fire at Murray State in the late 90&rsquo;s. Mon, 09 Jul 2012 20:46:35 +0000 The Associated Press 18978 at http://wkms.org Jury Selection Begins in Walker Retrial Walker Trial Scheduled to Start Monday http://wkms.org/post/walker-trial-scheduled-start-monday <p>A man accused of setting a fatal fire at Murray State goes on trial again Monday in western Kentucky. Circuit Judge Dennis Foust denied defense motions this week, clearing the way for Jerry Wayne Walker Jr.&#39;s retrial in Benton. Thu, 05 Jul 2012 18:41:49 +0000 Angela Hatton & The Associated Press 18821 at http://wkms.org Walker Trial Scheduled to Start Monday Walker Trial Set for July http://wkms.org/post/walker-trial-set-july <p>The trial of Jerry Wayne Walker, who faces multiple charges in connection to a fatal 1998 Murray State University dorm fire, is set to begin July 9<sup>th</sup>.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 05 Jun 2012 12:32:25 +0000 Gary Pitts & Paducah Sun 18228 at http://wkms.org Walker Trial Set for July Paducah Sun Seeks to Keep Hearings Open http://wkms.org/post/paducah-sun-seeks-keep-hearings-open <p>The Paducah Sun reports it has filed a petition in Calloway Circuit Court to keep pre-trial hearings open in the arson/manslaughter case against Jerry Wayne Walker, Junior.&nbsp; Commonwealth&#39;s Attorney Mark Blankenship wants to close the hearings to both the media and the public, citing &quot;media attention&quot; to the case as the reason.&nbsp; Walker is set to appear in his second trial later this year over charges he set the 1998 Murray State dorm fire that killed Michael Minger and injured another student.&nbsp; Walker&#39;s earlier trial in 2001 ended in a hung jury.&nbsp; Circui Tue, 17 Apr 2012 13:47:01 +0000 Todd Hatton & Paducah Sun 17656 at http://wkms.org Attorney Seeks Confidential Pre-Trial Hearing Ahead of Dorm Fire Trial http://wkms.org/post/attorney-seeks-confidential-pre-trial-hearing-ahead-dorm-fire-trial <p>The Commonwealth Attorney prosecuting the man accused of starting a Murray State dorm fire 14 years ago wants some of the pre-trial proceedings held behind closed doors.</p><p>Jerry Wayne Walker faces charges related to the 1998&nbsp; fire in Hester Hall&nbsp; that killed fellow student Michael Minger.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 10 Apr 2012 19:30:05 +0000 Shelly Baskin 17583 at http://wkms.org Attorney Seeks Confidential Pre-Trial Hearing Ahead of Dorm Fire Trial