tennessee department of education http://wkms.org en TN Program Seeks To Create More School Principals http://wkms.org/post/tn-program-seeks-create-more-school-principals <p></p><p>Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam is launching a new leadership program he hopes will create a pipeline of highly trained principals for schools.</p><p>The state will work with Vanderbilt University and local districts to nominate, select and train up to 30 participants a year in the program. Wed, 30 Oct 2013 11:20:09 +0000 The Associated Press 36148 at http://wkms.org TN Program Seeks To Create More School Principals TN To Review Textbooks http://wkms.org/post/tn-review-textbooks <p></p><p>Tennessee lawmakers are planning a hearing on the panel that vets textbooks for use in public schools.</p><p>The Senate's education and government operations committees are scheduled to hold two days of joint hearings on the Tennessee Textbook Commission beginning next Monday. Tue, 29 Oct 2013 14:06:34 +0000 The Associated Press 36117 at http://wkms.org TN To Review Textbooks TN Hosts School Safety Summitt http://wkms.org/post/tn-hosts-school-safety-summitt <p></p><p>The Tennessee Department of Education is planning a statewide School Safety Summit for next month. Department spokeswoman Kelli Gauthier says the meeting is a result of concerns following last week’s deadly elementary school shooting in Connecticut. Wed, 19 Dec 2012 13:34:51 +0000 Whitney Jones & The Associated Press 25869 at http://wkms.org TN Hosts School Safety Summitt Tennessee Teacher Licensing Revisions http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-teacher-licensing-revisions <p></p><p>The Tennessee Department of Education is revising its teacher licensing standards.&nbsp; Education board representatives and review teams of teachers will announce details later today in Nashville. The department said revisions made will be in partnership with the state board, the Educational Testing Service and review teams consisting of teachers, district administrators and higher education faculty. The department said it recognizes the need to set rigorous expectations for teacher preparation and licensing.</p> Thu, 02 Aug 2012 13:38:04 +0000 The Associated Press 20100 at http://wkms.org Tennessee Teacher Licensing Revisions Tennessee Education Department Releases Evaluation Report http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-education-department-releases-evaluation-report <p>A new Tennessee Department of Education report addresses educators&rsquo; concerns about the way certain test scores are used to evaluate teachers.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 12:20:20 +0000 The Associated Press 19332 at http://wkms.org Tennessee Education Department Releases Evaluation Report Tennessee Department of Education Releases Teacher Evaluation Recommendation http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-department-education-releases-teacher-evaluation-recommendation <p>A Tennessee Department of Education report suggests making student test scores a smaller portion of teachers&#39; evaluations if specific testing data is not available to the teachers.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 16 Jul 2012 21:13:43 +0000 Shelly Baskin 19307 at http://wkms.org Tennessee Department of Education Releases Teacher Evaluation Recommendation