fireworks http://wkms.org en Smithland Cancels Firework Display Due to Lack of Pyrotechnic Operator http://wkms.org/post/smithland-cancels-firework-display-due-lack-pyrotechnic-operator <p>Smithland<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> residents will need to go elsewhere to see fireworks this year. </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The </span>Smithland<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Area Chamber of Commerce announced Friday it won’t be able to put on its usual riverfront Fourth of July fireworks display this year due to a change in operator regulations.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 17:06:15 +0000 Rob Canning 41693 at http://wkms.org Smithland Cancels Firework Display Due to Lack of Pyrotechnic Operator What We're Cookin' for 4th of July Weekend http://wkms.org/post/what-were-cookin-4th-july-weekend <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Celebrate </span>4th<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> of July weekend with special programming on </span>WKMS<span style="line-height: 1.5;">! Here's a rundown of what we're airing. (More to be added soon)</span></p><p><strong>THURSDAY JULY 3 SPECIALS:</strong></p><p><strong><em>Jive House</em> Funky&nbsp;4th of July</strong> - (9 p.m.)</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 15:57:55 +0000 Matt Markgraf 41535 at http://wkms.org What We're Cookin' for 4th of July Weekend Kentucky Official Stresses Water Safety Over Holiday http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-official-stresses-water-safety-over-holiday <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Heavy boat traffic on the lakes this holiday weekend has Law Enforcement reminding boaters to take extra caution.</span></p><p>Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife's&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Sgt. Gary Clark stresses the importance of wearing a life jacket at all times on the water and for drivers to be alert of their surroundings. Clark also recommends caution tonight when marinas have their own firework shows after dark.</span></p><p> Thu, 04 Jul 2013 19:13:18 +0000 Rob Canning 32775 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Official Stresses Water Safety Over Holiday Watch Regional Fireworks http://wkms.org/post/watch-regional-fireworks <p><strong>Western Kentucky 4th of July Fireworks Locations:</strong><br><em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Credit source: &nbsp;1 Western Kentucky&nbsp;</span></em></p> Thu, 27 Jun 2013 19:27:34 +0000 Matt Markgraf 32559 at http://wkms.org Watch Regional Fireworks A Preview of Murray's Freedom Fest 2013 http://wkms.org/post/preview-murrays-freedom-fest-2013 <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">Murray Tourism and Convention Center’s Executive Director Erin Carrico previews Murray’s Freedom Fest with Tracy Ross on <em>Sounds Good</em>. Freedom Fest kicks of Friday, June 28 with a street fair featuring vendors and a free outdoor concert by Matty McRee and Clarence Dobbins. Saturday's events include a parade, kid's activities, a 5k, and one of western Kentucky's largest fireworks displays. <a href="http://www.tourmurray.com/freedom_fest.html">See more at TourMurray.com</a>.</span></p><p> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 19:50:00 +0000 Tracy Ross 32281 at http://wkms.org A Preview of Murray's Freedom Fest 2013 Afternoon Round-Up 7/6/12 http://wkms.org/post/afternoon-round-7612 <p><strong>Today on NPR:</strong> <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2012/07/05/156280450/kaboom-san-diegos-entire-fireworks-show-ignites-at-once">Here&#39;s what it looks like when about 18-minutes worth of professional fireworks all go up at once.</a></p><p><strong>Around the Commonwealth:</strong></p> Fri, 06 Jul 2012 20:49:59 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 18888 at http://wkms.org Afternoon Round-Up 7/6/12 Fireworks Sales Down for Many Vendors http://wkms.org/post/fireworks-sales-down-many-vendors <p>County burn bans across the region have outlawed amateur fireworks displays and that hurts the bottom line for many fireworks vendors. Wed, 04 Jul 2012 21:51:53 +0000 Angela Hatton 18779 at http://wkms.org Fireworks Sales Down for Many Vendors Fourth of July Fireworks Concerns http://wkms.org/post/fourth-july-fireworks-concerns <p>As the Fourth of July holiday approaches, forestry officials warn fireworks celebrations could cause fires.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 02 Jul 2012 10:00:00 +0000 Angela Hatton 18638 at http://wkms.org Fourth of July Fireworks Concerns