NPR http://wkms.org en Margot Adler, An NPR Journalist For Three Decades, Dies http://wkms.org/post/margot-adler-npr-journalist-three-decades-dies Margot Adler, one of the signature voices on NPR's airwaves for more than three decades, died Monday at her home in New York City. She was 68 and had been battling cancer.<p>Margot joined the NPR staff as a general assignment reporter in 1979. She went on to cover everything from the beginnings of the AIDS epidemic to confrontations involving the Ku Klux Klan in Greensboro, N.C., to the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11, 2001.<p>"Her reporting was singular and her voice distinct," Margaret Low Smith, NPR's vice president for news, said in an announcement to staff. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:49:20 +0000 editor 42425 at http://wkms.org Margot Adler, An NPR Journalist For Three Decades, Dies NPR News Executive Leaves For Job At The Atlantic http://wkms.org/post/npr-news-executive-leaves-job-atlantic Margaret Low Smith, a longtime NPR executive who has served as senior vice president for news for three years, is leaving the company to become the president of The Atlantic's live events business.<p>"Her departure will be felt as profoundly as any in recent memory," NPR Chief Content Officer Kinsey Wilson wrote in a memo to staff Tuesday.<p>He added that Smith's final day at NPR will be at the end of July. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 16:09:13 +0000 Bill Chappell 42093 at http://wkms.org NPR News Executive Leaves For Job At The Atlantic Scientists Keep A Careful Eye On The World Cup Ball http://wkms.org/post/scientists-keep-careful-eye-world-cup-ball <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PH7cbLfxmbM</p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 12:48:01 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 41441 at http://wkms.org Scientists Keep A Careful Eye On The World Cup Ball NPR Names Jarl Mohn As Its New CEO And President http://wkms.org/post/npr-names-jarl-mohn-its-new-ceo-and-president Media industry veteran Jarl Mohn will be NPR's new CEO, the organization's board of directors has announced.<p>Mohn, 62, currently sits on the board of directors at several media organizations, including Scripps Networks Interactive and Web analytics company ComScore. Fri, 09 May 2014 15:46:34 +0000 Bill Chappell 40448 at http://wkms.org NPR Names Jarl Mohn As Its New CEO And President Meet NPR's Arun Rath, Anchor of Weekend All Things Considered http://wkms.org/post/meet-nprs-arun-rath-anchor-weekend-all-things-considered <p>NPR's new "ish" host of <em>Weekend All Things Considered</em>, Arun Rath, was on a team that won a Peabody Award for the program <em>On the Media</em>. As an anchor of the first major NPR show produced on the west coast, Rath's own roving journalistic interests are well suited for the show's exploratory direction.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">On a day of talking with NPR station personnel,&nbsp;Rath's&nbsp;schedule included a few minutes for Kate&nbsp;Lochte.</span></p> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 22:08:09 +0000 Kate Lochte 36734 at http://wkms.org Meet NPR's Arun Rath, Anchor of Weekend All Things Considered NPR CEO Gary Knell Announces He's Leaving http://wkms.org/post/npr-ceo-gary-knell-announces-hes-leaving After <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2011/12/01/142998487/new-npr-ceo-gary-knell-starts-work-will-take-listeners-calls" target="_blank">fewer than 21 months on the job</a>, NPR CEO Gary Knell announced at mid-day Monday that he's leaving the organization to become president and CEO at the National Geographic Society.<p>In a message to a surprised staff, Knell said he was "approached by the organization recently and offered an opportunity that, after discussions with my family, I could not turn down." <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/08/19/213499040/npr-ceo-gary-k Mon, 19 Aug 2013 16:41:58 +0000 Mark Memmott 34120 at http://wkms.org NPR CEO Gary Knell Announces He's Leaving NPR Morning Edition Host David Greene on Sounds Good http://wkms.org/post/npr-morning-edition-host-david-greene-sounds-good <p>NPR's <em>Morning Edition</em> host David Greene is in Murray to help raise money for the Murray High School Speech Team, with a presentation tonight at Wrather West Kentucky Museum. See "An Evening with David Greene" at 7 p.m., reception starts at 5:30 p.m. Donations for the MHS Speech Team will be accepted at the door.</p><p> Thu, 25 Apr 2013 20:07:10 +0000 Kate Lochte 31028 at http://wkms.org NPR Morning Edition Host David Greene on Sounds Good NPR Presidential Debate Coverage Live Chat http://wkms.org/post/npr-presidential-debate-coverage-live-chat <iframe src='http://embed.scribblelive.com/Embed/v5.aspx?Id=64516&ThemeId=7271' width='100%' height='600' frameborder='0' style='border: 1px solid #000'></iframe> Tue, 16 Oct 2012 22:30:00 +0000 WKMS Staff 23314 at http://wkms.org VP Debate Bringing Attention to Central Kentucky http://wkms.org/post/vp-debate-bringing-attention-central-kentucky <p>The one and only vice presidential debate is garnering a great deal of attention in central Kentucky, but its impact in the voting booth is a tougher issue to gauge.&nbsp; WEKU hosted a reporter roundtable discussion this morning at Centre College, home of tonight’s debate.&nbsp; National Public Radio veteran reporter Don Gonyea says vice presidential debates don’t tend to move the support needle very much.&nbsp; He says the debate between Joe Biden and Sarah Palin also attracted interest. He says,</p> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 21:12:13 +0000 Stu Johnson (KPR) 23126 at http://wkms.org VP Debate Bringing Attention to Central Kentucky Good Read: All Facts Considered by Kee Malesky http://wkms.org/post/good-read-all-facts-considered-kee-malesky <p><strong style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: 'Lucida Grande', 'Lucida Sans Unicode', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 1.5; padding: 0px; margin: 0px; ">Product Description:</strong></p> Tue, 26 Jun 2012 16:55:34 +0000 Matt Markgraf 18570 at http://wkms.org Good Read: All Facts Considered by Kee Malesky