Jobless Rates http://wkms.org en October Jobless Numbers Out for W. Ky. http://wkms.org/post/october-jobless-numbers-out-w-ky <p>Caldwell and Webster counties tied for the lowest October unemployment rate in western Kentucky. Webster’s rate dropped from 7.5 percent in September to 6.6 percent in October, while Caldwell County’s rate stayed flat. Tue, 20 Nov 2012 21:21:17 +0000 Angela Hatton 24746 at http://wkms.org October Jobless Numbers Out for W. Ky. Kentucky's September Jobless Rate Dips Slightly http://wkms.org/post/kentuckys-september-jobless-rate-dips-slightly <p>Kentucky is reporting a slight decline in its jobless rate in September despite a major loss of manufacturing jobs. The Office of Employment and Training released new unemployment figures today showing the jobless rate at 8.4 percent. That's down from 8.5 percent in August. The manufacturing sector loss 2,000 jobs in September. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 17:08:17 +0000 The Associated Press & Angela Hatton 23407 at http://wkms.org Kentucky's September Jobless Rate Dips Slightly KY Jobless Rates for August http://wkms.org/post/ky-jobless-rates-august <p>Kentucky’s unemployment rate increased last month to 8.5 percent. Up 0.2 percent from July according to the Office of Employment and Training. The national jobless rate, however, fell from 8.3 to 8.1 percent during those months.</p> Fri, 21 Sep 2012 18:57:49 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 22387 at http://wkms.org KY Jobless Rates for August Afternoon Round-Up 8/16/12 http://wkms.org/post/afternoon-round-81612 <p><strong>Today on NPR: </strong>The government began accepting applications Wednesday for "<a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/08/15/158872445/for-undocumented-youth-new-policy-carries-risks">deferred action for childhood arrivals</a>." The program allows qualified undocumented young people brought to the U.S. as children to study and work legally in the U.S. Many are applying, but the process is not without risk for some.</p><p> Thu, 16 Aug 2012 21:12:18 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 20877 at http://wkms.org Afternoon Round-Up 8/16/12 Kentucky July Jobless Numbers Up Slightly http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-july-jobless-numbers-slightly <p>Kentucky's jobless rate has risen to 8.3 percent in the most recent Office of Employment and Training report. Government economist Manoj Shanker says the slight uptick in unemployment isn't enough to conclude that the state's economy has weakened. The increase came despite a strong showing in some job sectors. Thu, 16 Aug 2012 17:46:35 +0000 Angela Hatton & The Associated Press 20866 at http://wkms.org Kentucky July Jobless Numbers Up Slightly Jobless Rate Drops in Most Counties but Rises Statewide http://wkms.org/post/jobless-rate-drops-most-counties-rises-statewide Jobless rates have improved in 107 Kentucky counties, but not Jefferson.&nbsp;<p><div>The Kentucky Office of Employment and Training <a href="http://workforce.ky.gov/May12charts.pdf">released the latest unemployment numbers today</a>. They show Jefferson County&#39;s jobless rate jumping from 8.1 percent in April to 8.6 percent in May. Thu, 21 Jun 2012 19:56:32 +0000 Gabe Bullard (KPR) 18481 at http://wkms.org