Alcohol Vote http://wkms.org en Alcohol Vote Coming to McCracken County Precinct http://wkms.org/post/alcohol-vote-coming-mccracken-county-precinct <p></p><p>A petition to allow alcohol sales is going to the ballot in The McCracken County Maxon Precinct, near West Paducah. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 18:57:55 +0000 John Walker 28763 at http://wkms.org Alcohol Vote Coming to McCracken County Precinct Princeton & Sturgis Vote to Allow Alcohol Sales http://wkms.org/post/princeton-sturgis-vote-allow-alcohol-sales <p><strong>Princeton</strong></p><p>Princeton&#39;s wet/dry vote passed, allowing alcoholic drinks to be sold in restaurants, as well as in packages at stores. County Clerk Toni Watson says that business owners must wait 60 days before applying for a license to sell alcohol in Caldwell County.</p><ul><li>Yes 1167</li><li>No 972</li></ul><p> Wed, 08 Aug 2012 00:09:54 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 20400 at http://wkms.org the morning cram [slapping the pig skin edition] http://wkms.org/post/morning-cram-slapping-pig-skin-edition <p><strong>From NPR</strong>: &nbsp;NCAA just announced <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2012/07/23/157222533/penn-state-fined-60m-banned-from-bowls-wins-from-1998-on-vacated">sanctions</a> on Penn State University&#39;s top leadership.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 23 Jul 2012 15:22:18 +0000 Heidi Couch 19590 at http://wkms.org the morning cram [slapping the pig skin edition] Princeton Plans for Alcohol Vote http://wkms.org/post/princeton-plans-alcohol-vote <p>Following Marshall County and the City of Murray, another western Kentucky community will vote on legalized alcohol sales this summer.&nbsp; On August 7<sup>th</sup>, Princeton residents will decide whether or not to allow alcohol.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 23 Jul 2012 13:51:51 +0000 Heidi Couch 19579 at http://wkms.org Princeton Plans for Alcohol Vote Murray Votes to Allow Packaged Alcohol http://wkms.org/post/murray-votes-allow-packaged-alcohol <p>Murray voters passed packaged alcohol sales Tuesday by 53 percent in a special election. Wed, 18 Jul 2012 01:21:13 +0000 Angela Hatton 19380 at http://wkms.org Murray Votes to Allow Packaged Alcohol Local Option Election Noon Update; Participate in Our Informal Exit Poll http://wkms.org/post/local-option-election-noon-update-participate-our-informal-exit-poll <p>Calloway County Clerk Ray Coursey says,</p><p>&ldquo;It&rsquo;s a pretty busy day, now...&quot;</p><p>Coursey says it&#39;s not exactly &#39;heavy&#39; yet;&nbsp; voters don&#39;t usually show up in force until after lunch. Coursey says other than voters looking for their polling station and a brief delay to repair a voting machine, no problems have been reported at the polls. Tue, 17 Jul 2012 17:07:23 +0000 Shelly Baskin 19356 at http://wkms.org Local Option Election Noon Update; Participate in Our Informal Exit Poll Special Election to Cost Calloway Co. 25K http://wkms.org/post/special-election-cost-calloway-co-25k <p>It will cost Calloway County around $25,000 for tomorrow&#39;s local option election in Murray. Mon, 16 Jul 2012 17:31:52 +0000 Angela Hatton 19292 at http://wkms.org Special Election to Cost Calloway Co. 25K "Dry County Blues" http://wkms.org/post/dry-county-blues <p>Local musician and Murray State graduate student Kirk Raper felt a bit of a culture shock when he moved from the Nashville area to Calloway County and found that the closest place to buy packaged alcohol was across the state line. This inspired him to write a commentary in the form of a song, titled &ldquo;The Dry County Blues.&rdquo;</p><p><em>Please note, the views expressed in this commentary are solely those of the contributor and do not necessarily reflect the views of WKMS.</em></p> Sun, 15 Jul 2012 15:00:00 +0000 Matt Markgraf & Kirk Raper 19239 at http://wkms.org "Dry County Blues" Tourism and Crime Statistics Have Not Cleared the Air in Marshall County as Alcohol Vote Nears http://wkms.org/post/tourism-and-crime-statistics-have-not-cleared-air-marshall-county-alcohol-vote-nears <p>On July 17th, Marshall County will settle an issue that has divided the area for months, whether or not to allow the purchase of alcohol within county lines. Sun, 15 Jul 2012 14:00:00 +0000 Casey Northcutt 19182 at http://wkms.org Marshall County Chamber Releases Alcohol Election Business Survey http://wkms.org/post/marshall-county-chamber-releases-alcohol-election-business-survey <p>The Marshall County Chamber of Commerce has released the results of its survey of local opinions on the upcoming county local alcohol election.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 19:30:46 +0000 Shelly Baskin 19090 at http://wkms.org Marshall County Chamber Releases Alcohol Election Business Survey