revenue http://wkms.org en KY General Fund Revenue Declines in February http://wkms.org/post/ky-general-fund-revenue-declines-february <p>Kentucky’s General Fund revenue saw a sharp decline last month. Budget Director Jane Driskell says collections fell 5.2%, costing the state nearly $30 million. Coal severance tax revenue had the largest loss, with 24. 5%. Both individual income tax and cigarette tax revenue dropped about 14%. Driskell says 41% increases in corporate income tax and property tax collections failed to offset the losses.</p> Mon, 11 Mar 2013 19:33:27 +0000 Shelly Baskin & The Associated Press 29154 at http://wkms.org Alcohol Sales at State Parks Provide KY with Revenue http://wkms.org/post/alcohol-sales-state-parks-provide-ky-revenue <p>Ever since five Kentucky state parks began selling alcohol by the drink last August, liquor sales have procured more than $110,000 for the state.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 03 Jul 2012 16:18:41 +0000 Dan Conti (KPR) 18720 at http://wkms.org Alcohol Sales at State Parks Provide KY with Revenue Illinois Tax Returns Delayed for Residents Who Filed on Paper http://wkms.org/post/illinois-tax-returns-delayed-residents-who-filed-paper <p>The Illinois Department of Revenue says many residents who filed their 2011 tax returns on paper way are still waiting for their refund checks. Fri, 22 Jun 2012 12:07:08 +0000 the associated press 18490 at http://wkms.org Illinois Tax Returns Delayed for Residents Who Filed on Paper Tennessee State Revenue More than Budgeted http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-state-revenue-more-budgeted <p>Tennessee has collected $190 million dollars more than budgeted so far this fiscal year. Finance and administration officials say April collections were 9.6 percent over those in April a year ago. Sales tax collections for April recorded their 25th straight month of growth.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 09 May 2012 14:25:05 +0000 associated press 17905 at http://wkms.org Tennessee State Revenue More than Budgeted Illinois Lawmakes Agree on Revenue Projection http://wkms.org/post/illinois-lawmakes-agree-revenue-projection <p>From the Associated Press:</p><p>Illinois lawmakers have agreed on how much money will be available for next year&#39;s budget. The state Senate joined the House today in approving a revenue estimate of $33.7 billion. The figure amounts to an upper limit for the fiscal year starting July 1. But much of the money will go to paying pensions and old bills, leaving less for day-to-day government services. Senate Republican Leader Christine Radogno says creating a budget will be the most difficult challenge for legislators.</p> Wed, 07 Mar 2012 21:37:52 +0000 Shelly Baskin 17197 at http://wkms.org Beshear Appoints Tax Reform Commission http://wkms.org/post/beshear-appoints-tax-reform-commission <p>Kentucky Governor Steve Beshear has appointed a 23-member &lsquo;blue ribbon commission&rsquo; to study the state&#39;s tax system and propose a reform plan. The commission will be headed by Lt. Governor Jerry Abramson and will review the state&#39;s current tax system and make recommendations by November 15th. Beshear says the state needs to ensure it has a tax system that produces adequate revenue to meet Kentuckians&rsquo; needs. He also says tax revenue has been growing at a rate of 70 to 75 percent of the economy&#39;s growth and state government has cut spending by $1.3 billion.</p> Fri, 10 Feb 2012 14:02:27 +0000 Drew Adams 16869 at http://wkms.org