US Supreme Court http://wkms.org en Aereo's TV Streaming Service Is Illegal, Supreme Court Says http://wkms.org/post/aereos-tv-streaming-service-illegal-supreme-court-says Aereo, the company that lets subscribers watch TV stations' video that it routes onto the Internet, violates U.S. copyright law, the Supreme Court has ruled. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 15:15:52 +0000 Bill Chappell 41567 at http://wkms.org Aereo's TV Streaming Service Is Illegal, Supreme Court Says Kentucky Supreme Court Overturns Murder Conviction of Teenager http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-supreme-court-overturns-murder-conviction-teenager <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The conviction and 50-year prison sentence of a Kentucky teenager has been overturned after the Kentucky Supreme Court concluded his confession was coerced. The high court today ordered a new trial for 19-year-old Garrett Thomas Dye. A jury convicted Dye in 2011 of beating his adopted sister to death.</span></p><p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 16:44:14 +0000 Rob Canning & The Associated Press 32319 at http://wkms.org Court Gives IL More Time for Concealed Carry Appeal http://wkms.org/post/court-gives-il-more-time-concealed-carry-appeal <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The U.S. Supreme Court&nbsp;has given&nbsp;Illinois' attorney general more time to decide whether to appeal their ruling that the state's ban on the public possession of firearms is unconstitutional.</span></p><p>Attorney General Lisa Madigan now has until June 24 to ask the high court to hear the case.</p><p> Fri, 03 May 2013 19:47:16 +0000 Todd Hatton & The Associated Press 31385 at http://wkms.org Court Gives IL More Time for Concealed Carry Appeal Another Blow for IL Anti-Eavesdropping Law http://wkms.org/post/another-blow-il-anti-eavesdropping-law <p></p><p>The U.S. Supreme Court delivered a blow to an Illinois anti-eavesdropping law. The high court let stand a lower-court ruling Monday that said the law violates free-speech rights when used against people who tape police in public. Violators of the law face a maximum 15-year prison term. Tue, 27 Nov 2012 13:38:35 +0000 The Associated Press & Whitney Jones 24948 at http://wkms.org Another Blow for IL Anti-Eavesdropping Law Supreme Court Upholds Affordable Care Act: State Leaders React http://wkms.org/post/supreme-court-upholds-affordable-care-act-state-leaders-react <p>US Senators Mitch McConnell and Rand Paul of Kentucky were quick to respond to the Supreme Court ruling upholding President Obama&#39;s health care overhaul. Speaking on the Senate floor this morning,&nbsp; republican minority leader McConnell&nbsp; said Congress must act to repeal what called this misguided law. Thu, 28 Jun 2012 16:19:52 +0000 Lisa Autry (KPR) & Shelly Baskin & AP 18628 at http://wkms.org Supreme Court Upholds Affordable Care Act: State Leaders React Medical Professionals Anticipate Supreme Court Decision http://wkms.org/post/medical-professionals-anticipate-supreme-court-decision <p>Ahead of tomorrow&#39;s Supreme Court Ruling on the Affordable Care Act medical professionals across the Commonwealth are waiting to see if components of the law will be upheld and or struck down by the High Court.</p><p> Wed, 27 Jun 2012 20:58:27 +0000 Drew Adams 18623 at http://wkms.org Medical Professionals Anticipate Supreme Court Decision AMA Will Continue to Lobby for Poor and Uninsured No Matter SCOTUS Decision http://wkms.org/post/ama-will-continue-lobby-poor-and-uninsured-no-matter-scotus-decision <p>Whatever decision the U.S. Supreme Court hands down on Thursday regarding the Affordable Care Act, the American Medical Association says it will continue to lobby lawmakers on behalf of the poor and uninsured. Wed, 27 Jun 2012 16:38:05 +0000 Brenna Angel (KPR) 18603 at http://wkms.org AMA Will Continue to Lobby for Poor and Uninsured No Matter SCOTUS Decision Kentucky Super PACs Free to Grow After Supreme Court Ruling http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-super-pacs-free-grow-after-supreme-court-ruling <p><span style="font-size:10.0pt">The U.S. Supreme Court&#39;s decision to overrule a Montana campaign finance law is likely to boost the rise of super PACs in Kentucky.</span> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 21:15:54 +0000 Kenny Colston (KPR) 18544 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Super PACs Free to Grow After Supreme Court Ruling Kentucky Preps for Healthcare Overhaul http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-preps-healthcare-overhaul <p>A US Supreme Court ruling is expected by the end of the month on the constitutionality of the federal health care overhaul.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 04 Jun 2012 14:09:20 +0000 Kenny Colston (KPR) 18212 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Preps for Healthcare Overhaul