TennCare http://wkms.org en TennCare Growing Slowly After ACA http://wkms.org/post/tenncare-growing-slowly-after-aca <p></p><p>While the number of people in Tennessee buying health insurance through new exchanges has been slow, state officials say the number of people being directed to the state's expanded Medicaid program is more than they expected.</p><p>So far, about 1,000 people have purchased health insurance throughout the state. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 13:08:18 +0000 The Associated Press 36690 at http://wkms.org TennCare Growing Slowly After ACA Nashville Clergy Ask Lawmakers WWJD on Medicaid Expansion http://wkms.org/post/nashville-clergy-ask-lawmakers-wwjd-medicaid-expansion <p>Would Jesus expand Tennessee’s Medicaid program? That’s the question a left-leaning clergy group is asking the General Assembly, and they believe the answer is yes.</p><p>Pastors and priests delivered baskets of bread loaves and paper fish to each legislator. The attempted biblical parallel is to the miracle of feeding the 5,000.</p><p> Mon, 08 Apr 2013 21:16:34 +0000 Blake Farmer (Nashville Public Radio) 30298 at http://wkms.org Nashville Clergy Ask Lawmakers WWJD on Medicaid Expansion Haslam Changing Tune On Expanding Medicaid http://wkms.org/post/haslam-changing-tune-expanding-medicaid <p>Governor Bill Haslam is saying there’s still a chance to expand TennCare and cover more of the state’s uninsured. Last week,&nbsp;Haslam effectively turned down billions of dollars in federal money to expand Tennessee’s Medicaid program. But after talking with Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius over the weekend, he says the federal agency is sounding more receptive to his demands. Tue, 02 Apr 2013 21:04:09 +0000 Blake Farmer (Nashville Public Radio) 30072 at http://wkms.org Haslam Changing Tune On Expanding Medicaid Haslam Wants Deal on Tennessee Medicaid Expansion http://wkms.org/post/haslam-wants-deal-tennessee-medicaid-expansion <p></p><p>Tennessee isn’t saying “yes” to expanding the state’s Medicaid program known as TennCare. But it’s not saying “no” either. Gov. Bill Haslam made the announcement this morning to a joint assembly of the legislature, telling lawmakers he’s been working toward a “third option.”</p><p><em>“To leverage the federal dollars available to our state to transform health care in Tennessee without expanding our TennCare rolls,” he said.</em> Wed, 27 Mar 2013 21:00:09 +0000 Blake Farmer (Nashville Public Radio) 29839 at http://wkms.org Haslam Wants Deal on Tennessee Medicaid Expansion Lawyers Lose Portion of 2.5 Million Dollar TennCare Legal Fees http://wkms.org/post/lawyers-lose-portion-25-million-dollar-tenncare-legal-fees <p></p><p>A federal appeals court has struck down a significant portion of the $2.5 million in legal fees awarded to attorneys who have represented TennCare patients in a year-long fight with Tennessee.</p><p> Wed, 20 Mar 2013 20:16:15 +0000 Drew Adams & The Associated Press 29549 at http://wkms.org Lawyers Lose Portion of 2.5 Million Dollar TennCare Legal Fees Tennessee Republican Leaders More ‘Open’ to Medicaid Expansion http://wkms.org/post/tennessee-republican-leaders-more-open-medicaid-expansion <p>Previous naysayers are coming around to the idea of expanding Tennessee’s Medicaid Program. Even while criticizing the Affordable Care Act, they say pulling more poor people into TennCare could have some upsides. Thu, 07 Mar 2013 19:21:36 +0000 Blake Farmer (Nashville Public Radio) 29030 at http://wkms.org Tennessee Republican Leaders More ‘Open’ to Medicaid Expansion TN Governor Unsure About Medicaid Expansion http://wkms.org/post/tn-governor-unsure-about-medicaid-expansion <p></p><p>Lawmakers in Tennessee are watching Florida closely after the state’s conservative Republican governor went along with a major piece of the Affordable Care Act. Governor Bill Haslam is still on the fence about expanding the state’s Medicaid program – known as TennCare. Thu, 21 Feb 2013 20:09:51 +0000 Blake Farmer (Nashville Public Radio) 28382 at http://wkms.org TN Governor Unsure About Medicaid Expansion Health Care Compact Fails in Tennessee House Committee http://wkms.org/post/health-care-compact-fails-tennessee-house-committee <p></p><p>A measure that would allow Tennessee to approach Congress about forming its own health care system has failed this year. The proposal sponsored by Republican Rep. Mark Pody of Lebanon failed with a 9 - 9 House Insurance and Banking Committee vote Tuesday. Wed, 20 Feb 2013 14:17:00 +0000 Whitney Jones & The Associated Press 28283 at http://wkms.org Health Care Compact Fails in Tennessee House Committee Hospitals Say Blocking Medicaid Expansion Would Cost 90,000 TN Jobs http://wkms.org/post/hospitals-say-blocking-medicaid-expansion-would-cost-90000-tn-jobs <p>The state’s hospitals are playing out the “what if’s” as lawmakers consider whether to expand Medicaid as part of the federal health care overhaul. Their study says 90,000 Tennessee jobs could be lost if the expansion does not occur.</p><p> Thu, 07 Feb 2013 22:09:01 +0000 Blake Farmer (Nashville Public Radio) 27798 at http://wkms.org Hospitals Say Blocking Medicaid Expansion Would Cost 90,000 TN Jobs TennCare Doctors See Boost in Pay http://wkms.org/post/tenncare-doctors-see-boost-pay <p></p><p>Doctors who treat TennCare patients will get a New Year's pay raise.&nbsp; Practitioners in family medicine, general internal medicine, pediatrics or a related subspecialty are now going to be reimbursed at Medicare rates, more than 25 percent above what they were being paid.&nbsp; TennCare officials say the boost will give qualifying Tennessee doctors an extra $55 million over the next two years. Wed, 02 Jan 2013 14:15:11 +0000 Whitney Jones & The Associated Press 26302 at http://wkms.org TennCare Doctors See Boost in Pay