Doug Harnice http://wkms.org en Discovery Period Extended in Van Newberry Zoning Case http://wkms.org/post/discovery-period-extended-van-newberry-zoning-case <p>Discovery continues in a lawsuit regarding potential&nbsp;zoning misconduct case involving McCracken County's Judge Executive and his deputy.&nbsp;</p><p>The case's first pre-trial conference took place this morning.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:36:35 +0000 Rob Canning 39401 at http://wkms.org Discovery Period Extended in Van Newberry Zoning Case Pretrial Conference Set in McCracken County Zoning Case http://wkms.org/post/pretrial-conference-set-mccracken-county-zoning-case <p>A pretrial conference is set in the zoning misconduct case involving the McCracken County Judge Executive and his Deputy. &nbsp;</p><p>The attorney for Deputy Judge Executive Doug Harnice says the defense will meet with the prosecution before the judge on&nbsp;March 21 to determine the proceedings for the trial. &nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 20:21:23 +0000 Rob Canning 38883 at http://wkms.org Pretrial Conference Set in McCracken County Zoning Case New Judge Appointed to McCracken County Zoning Case Against Newberry, Harnice http://wkms.org/post/new-judge-appointed-mccracken-county-zoning-case-against-newberry-harnice <p></p><p>A new judge has been appointed to a <a href="http://wkms.org/post/newberry-faces-zoning-allegations">zoning case</a> against McCracken County Judge Executive Van Newberry and Deputy Judge-Executive Doug Harnice.</p><p>Newberry’s attorney Will Kautz said Marshall County Chief Circuit Judge Dennis Foust will hear the case after McCracken County Judges Craig Clymer and Tim Kaltenbach recused themselves. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 17:48:01 +0000 Whitney Jones 38181 at http://wkms.org New Judge Appointed to McCracken County Zoning Case Against Newberry, Harnice McCracken County Officials Indicted in Zoning Case http://wkms.org/post/mccracken-county-officials-indicted-zoning-case <p>McCracken County Judge-Executive Van Newberry and Deputy Judge-Executive Doug Harnice face a charge of tampering with public records in connection with <a href="http://wkms.org/post/newberry-faces-zoning-allegations">unauthorized zone</a> changes affecting at least 500 pieces of property in the county.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 21:49:30 +0000 Todd Hatton & The Associated Press 37951 at http://wkms.org McCracken County Officials Indicted in Zoning Case McCracken County Emergency Management Director Resigns http://wkms.org/post/mccracken-county-emergency-management-director-resigns <p>McCracken County Emergency Management Director Paul Carter has resigned from his post three months after a <a href="http://wkms.org/post/mccracken-county-employees-under-investigation-assault">road-side argument</a> allegedly turned physical.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 30 Oct 2013 17:31:01 +0000 Rob Canning 36156 at http://wkms.org McCracken County Emergency Management Director Resigns Newberry Faces Zoning Allegations http://wkms.org/post/newberry-faces-zoning-allegations <p></p><p>McCracken County Judge Executive Van Newberry is under fire for allegedly altering zoning maps without going through the proper legal channels.</p><p>Deputy Judge Executive Doug Harnice said the map changes, which occurred sometime between 2007 and 2008, are the result of minor computer errors, but Paducah attorney Burton Washburn says he thinks differently.</p><p> Thu, 16 May 2013 17:59:37 +0000 Austin Ramsey 31671 at http://wkms.org Newberry Faces Zoning Allegations McCracken County Precinct Wet-Dry Vote Postponed http://wkms.org/post/mccracken-county-precinct-wet-dry-vote-postponed <p></p><p>A wet-dry vote for McCracken County’s Maxon Road precinct has been postponed after officials examined the petition calling for the vote and found it was five signatures short. The county’s Deputy Judge Executive Doug Harnice says 323 valid signatures were necessary for the vote that was scheduled for May 7.</p><p><em>“I looked at the signatures on all of them, and found that some didn’t have the last name in it and some didn’t have a telephone, address and some of them were actually in another precinct,” he said.</em> Thu, 21 Mar 2013 18:27:35 +0000 Whitney Jones 29591 at http://wkms.org McCracken County Precinct Wet-Dry Vote Postponed Alcohol Vote Coming to McCracken County Precinct http://wkms.org/post/alcohol-vote-coming-mccracken-county-precinct <p></p><p>A petition to allow alcohol sales is going to the ballot in The McCracken County Maxon Precinct, near West Paducah. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 18:57:55 +0000 John Walker 28763 at http://wkms.org Alcohol Vote Coming to McCracken County Precinct Paducah Election Preview http://wkms.org/post/paducah-election-preview <p>As Kentuckians go to the polls tomorrow, Paducah residents will narrow the field of candidates for Mayor and City Commissioner.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 21 May 2012 19:52:40 +0000 Chad Lampe 18058 at http://wkms.org Paducah Election Preview