barkley regional airport http://wkms.org en 5K on the Runway, A Fundraiser for Child Watch at Barkley Regional http://wkms.org/post/5k-runway-fundraiser-child-watch-barkley-regional <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Stepping Out for Child Watch is hosting a </span>5K<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> on the Runway fundraiser at Barkley Airport June </span>14th<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, followed by an evening with the </span>Murr<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Vegas All Stars at the Julian Carroll Convention Center. Child Watch's mission is to provide a child-friendly environment for the prevention, evaluation and treatment of child abuse victims. On </span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Sounds Good</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">, we learn more about the event&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">from Leadership Paducah Class 27's Tammy Thompson.</span></p><p><em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Listen to the conversation:</span></em></p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 19:37:35 +0000 Kate Lochte 41111 at http://wkms.org 5K on the Runway, A Fundraiser for Child Watch at Barkley Regional Barkley Regional Airport's Numbers Plateau http://wkms.org/post/barkley-regional-airports-numbers-plateau <p></p><p>The number of passengers flying through Barkley Regional Airport has plateaued, and according to Airport Marketing Director Eddie Grant, it's the result of sequestration. He says cutbacks in government travel have stunted the airport's growth.</p><div class="im"><p><i>“We’re not showing any kind of decline which is always a good thing. We’re not showing any growth either but, you know, treading water is better than drowning.”</i> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 19:20:14 +0000 Whitney Jones 34232 at http://wkms.org Barkley Regional Airport's Numbers Plateau Barkely Tower to Stay Open Through September http://wkms.org/post/barkely-tower-stay-open-through-september <p></p><p>Barkley Regional Airport tower is staying open through September instead of closing June 15.</p><p>The Federal Aviation Administration announcement affects 149 small airports and comes after President Barack Obama signed the Reducing Delays Act May 1. The bill originally allowed the FAA to divert $253 million from other funding sources to end furloughs and keep the towers open. But keeping towers open became optional when Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid objected to the provision. Fri, 10 May 2013 20:36:30 +0000 Whitney Jones 31612 at http://wkms.org Barkely Tower to Stay Open Through September Kentucky Regional Airport Towers Could Face Closure from Budget Cuts http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-regional-airport-towers-could-face-closure-budget-cuts <p></p><p>The control tower at Barkley Regional Airport in Paducah could be closed in the next few months if automatic federal budget cuts occur on March 1st. The Federal Aviation Administration would lose about $600 million dollars from the so-called "sequestration." Mon, 25 Feb 2013 17:09:29 +0000 Shelly Baskin 28504 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Regional Airport Towers Could Face Closure from Budget Cuts Afternoon Round-Up 5/16/12 http://wkms.org/post/afternoon-round-51612 <p><strong>Today on NPR:</strong><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/money/2012/05/16/152736671/this-guy-will-sell-you-sell-you-1-000-facebook-likes">For $75, This Guy Will Sell You 1,000 Facebook &#39;Likes&#39;</a></p><p><strong>Around the Commonwealth:</strong></p><p>Kentucky Senate President David Williams says he had <a href="http://wkms.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/david-williams-says-he-had-no-idea-richie-farmers-alleged-state-resource-abuses">no idea</a> what trouble his former gubernatorial running mate Richie Farmer was causing as agriculture commissioner.</p> Wed, 16 May 2012 21:17:50 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 18004 at http://wkms.org Afternoon Round-Up 5/16/12 SkyWest Staying in Paducah for Two More Years http://wkms.org/post/skywest-staying-paducah-two-more-years <p>Regional jet service provider SkyWest extended their contract for Chicago jet service with Barkley Regional Airport for another two years.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 16 May 2012 20:33:23 +0000 Shelly Baskin 18000 at http://wkms.org SkyWest Staying in Paducah for Two More Years