Memorial Day http://wkms.org en Local Artisans Showcase Work at Kentucky Lake http://wkms.org/post/local-artisans-showcase-work-kentucky-lake <p>This Memorial Day Weekend, Kentucky Dam Village State Resort Park is hosting their annual Arts &amp; Crafts Festival, featuring handcrafted items by local artists, while overlooking the scenery of Kentucky Lake. On <em>Sounds Good</em>, Naturalist and Recreation Supervisor for Kentucky Dam Village State Resort Park Laura Jackson talks with Kate Lochte about the festival.</p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 19:25:50 +0000 Kate Lochte 40727 at http://wkms.org Local Artisans Showcase Work at Kentucky Lake Kentucky Sees Spike In Highway Deaths Over Memorial Day Weekend http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-sees-spike-highway-deaths-over-memorial-day-weekend <p>Preliminary statistics from Kentucky State Police indicate this was a very deadly holiday weekend on the Commonwealth&rsquo;s roadways.&nbsp; 14 people lost their lives Friday through Memorial Day.</p><p> Tue, 29 May 2012 20:45:16 +0000 Alan Lytle (KPR) 18157 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Sees Spike In Highway Deaths Over Memorial Day Weekend Afternoon Round-Up 5/28/12 http://wkms.org/post/afternoon-round-52812 <p><strong>Today on NPR:</strong> <a title="If public perceptions and pundits are to be believed, black churches are overwhelmingly against same-sex marriage. Except, it's not true. ">Blacks, Gays And The Church</a>: If public perceptions and pundits are to be believed, black churches are overwhelmingly against same-sex marriage. Except, it&#39;s not true.</p><p><strong>Around the Commonwealth:</strong></p> Mon, 28 May 2012 21:18:12 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 18144 at http://wkms.org Afternoon Round-Up 5/28/12 Memorial Day Road Safety http://wkms.org/post/memorial-day-road-safety <p>The Memorial Day Weekend will come to a close at day&rsquo;s end.&nbsp; Many people will be traveling home during the day.</p><p> Mon, 28 May 2012 19:42:21 +0000 Stu Johnson (KPR) 18142 at http://wkms.org Memorial Day Road Safety Gas Prices Saw Decline in April http://wkms.org/post/gas-prices-saw-decline-april <p>The first three day holiday&nbsp;weekend&nbsp;of the summer is upon us and AAA says car travel will be the preferred mode of transportation.&nbsp; In fact, Christopher Oakford at Bluegrass Triple A says more Kentuckians are expected to take a trip over 50 miles compared to last Memorial Day.&nbsp; Oakford says&nbsp;the auto club took&nbsp;a survey of motorists&nbsp;back in April.</p> Fri, 25 May 2012 21:16:30 +0000 Stu Johnson (KPR) 18132 at http://wkms.org Bridge Work Continues http://wkms.org/post/bridge-work-continues <p>As some workers secure the new span of US 68/KY 80 Eggners Ferry Bridge on its piers, other are preparing for the next phase of bridge repair. Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Spokesman Keith Todd says they will soon be pouring concrete for the road bed. Todd says workers are hustling to finish repairs...</p><p>&quot;At this point so far as we know we&rsquo;re still on schedule to have it done by Memorial Day. The contractor will be working around the clock to finish out the steel work, put in rebar and get it ready for the concrete.&quot;</p> Tue, 15 May 2012 21:06:49 +0000 Drew Adams 17987 at http://wkms.org Bridge Work Continues