Salmonella http://wkms.org en Cabinet Confirms 15 Cases of Salmonella in Western Ky. http://wkms.org/post/cabinet-confirms-15-cases-salmonella-western-ky <p>The Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services has confirmed 15 cases of salmonella poisoning in Hopkins, Webster and Muhlenberg counties.</p><p>The outbreak, which was declared in mid-September, has claimed one life and left five people hospitalized. Cabinet officials say the same genetic fingerprint links at least eight regional salmonella cases.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 01 Oct 2013 21:09:00 +0000 Austin Ramsey 35362 at http://wkms.org Cabinet Confirms 15 Cases of Salmonella in Western Ky. 10 Cases of Salmonella Confirmed in Hopkins County, 1 Fatality http://wkms.org/post/10-cases-salmonella-confirmed-hopkins-county-1-fatality <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Health officials are investigating a salmonella outbreak in Hopkins County, with 10 confirmed cases and one fatality.</p><p>Environmental supervisor for the Hopkins County Health Department Barry Franklin said an investigation has begun to determine the cause of the outbreak.</p><p> Thu, 26 Sep 2013 16:48:11 +0000 John Null 35214 at http://wkms.org 10 Cases of Salmonella Confirmed in Hopkins County, 1 Fatality Afternoon Round-Up 8/28/12 http://wkms.org/post/afternoon-round-82812 <p><strong>Today on NPR: </strong><a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/08/28/160196031/paul-ryan-had-a-black-girlfriend">Paul Ryan Had A Black Girlfriend — Does It Matter?</a></p><p> Tue, 28 Aug 2012 21:26:07 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 21415 at http://wkms.org Afternoon Round-Up 8/28/12 Two Kentucky Deaths From Cantaloupe Salmonella Confirmed http://wkms.org/post/two-kentucky-deaths-cantaloupe-salmonella-confirmed <p>The Food and Drug Administration says salmonella found at a cantaloupe farm in southwestern Indiana matches the "DNA fingerprint" of the salmonella responsible for killing two Kentuckians and sickening 150 people in 21 states.</p><p> Tue, 28 Aug 2012 21:16:21 +0000 Chad Lampe & Associated Press 21414 at http://wkms.org Two Kentucky Deaths From Cantaloupe Salmonella Confirmed Indiana Cantaloupes Linked to Ky. Salmonella Outbreak http://wkms.org/post/indiana-cantaloupes-linked-ky-salmonella-outbreak <p>State health officials have traced a strain of salmonella that’s affected many people in western Kentucky to Indiana-grown cantaloupes. State laboratory tests found a match between the strain and melons grown in southwestern Indiana and sold in Kentucky grocery stores. Fri, 17 Aug 2012 17:19:44 +0000 Angela Hatton 20921 at http://wkms.org Indiana Cantaloupes Linked to Ky. Salmonella Outbreak State Health Department Warns of Rise in Salmonella Cases http://wkms.org/post/state-health-department-warns-rise-salmonella-cases <p>State Health Department officials are looking for the cause of increased Salmonella cases in the region. Purchase District Health Department Epidemiologist Brandi Earp says they&rsquo;re examining reported cases this summer to try to find any links between them. She says while the number of cases is high, they&rsquo;re not considering it an outbreak. She says,</p> Mon, 06 Aug 2012 20:22:09 +0000 Shelly Baskin 20310 at http://wkms.org State Health Department Warns of Rise in Salmonella Cases Dog Food Recall http://wkms.org/post/dog-food-recall <p>The Calloway County Humane Society is warning local residents of a voluntary recall of a number of dog food brands. The voluntary recall was announced due to possible salmonella contamination. Mon, 07 May 2012 16:26:16 +0000 Drew Adams 17884 at http://wkms.org Dog Food Recall