business http://wkms.org en New $500k Microloan Program for Small Businesses http://wkms.org/post/new-500k-microloan-program-small-businesses <p>A new half-million dollar microloan program is seeking small businesses and entrepreneurs in the region. Marta Elliot, Purchase Area Development District Business Lending Director, and Chris Wooldridge, District Director of Murray State's Small Business Development Center, have partnered to bring awareness of this new loan available from the Small Business Administration and speak about it with Kate on <em>Sounds Good.</em></p><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 21:51:13 +0000 Kate Lochte 38655 at http://wkms.org New $500k Microloan Program for Small Businesses New Business Creation in KY Continues to Rise http://wkms.org/post/new-business-creation-ky-continues-rise <p>A new federal report shows some good news for Kentucky enterprise.&nbsp; The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics says, according to the latest available data, the state led the country in new businesses created during the second quarter of 2013.&nbsp; Governor Steve Beshear's office says almost 6,700 new businesses opened in the Commonwealth in that quarter, many of them businesses with five or fewer employees. Mon, 20 Jan 2014 16:38:46 +0000 Todd Hatton & The Associated Press 38160 at http://wkms.org New Business Creation in KY Continues to Rise Commentary: Not Understanding Language is Bad for Corporate America http://wkms.org/post/commentary-not-understanding-language-bad-corporate-america <p>Have you ever tried to contact a business and be patched to a phone operator for whom English is not their native language or has an accent so thick that communicating becomes difficult? If so, commentator Celia Brewer has your sympathy. She says what while she respects all languages and cultures, simple phone calls to American businesses should not be made laborious by the lack of understanding the language and that outsourcing call centers is bad for business.</p><p> Sat, 26 Jan 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Matt Markgraf & Celia Brewer 27084 at http://wkms.org Commentary: Not Understanding Language is Bad for Corporate America Illinois Starts Employment Security Effort http://wkms.org/post/illinois-starts-employment-security-effort <p>The Illinois Department of Employment Security will send emails to 800,000 business leaders and workers to highlight state services. Agency Director Jay Rowell said Wednesday the emails will offer help to companies in hiring, setting wages and building business plans. He says the effort will help get people back to work.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 25 Oct 2012 13:16:19 +0000 The Associated Press 23699 at http://wkms.org Illinois Starts Employment Security Effort Panama Canal Expansion Could be a Chance for Increased Paducah Port Traffic http://wkms.org/post/panama-canal-expansion-could-be-chance-increased-paducah-port-traffic <p>Discussion at this morning&rsquo;s Paducah Area Chamber of Commerce Power in Partnership breakfast focused on benefits western Kentucky ports will see with the expansion of the Panama Canal.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 09 Aug 2012 21:07:27 +0000 Casey Northcutt 20520 at http://wkms.org Panama Canal Expansion Could be a Chance for Increased Paducah Port Traffic KY Chamber of Commerce Report Evaluates Business Climate http://wkms.org/post/ky-chamber-commerce-report-evaluates-business-climate <p>Kentucky&#39;s business climate is consistently dragged down by low incomes, high poverty, and poor health. That&#39;s one of the conclusions of the comprehensive report released this week by the state&#39;s Chamber of Commerce. Thu, 19 Jul 2012 15:45:12 +0000 Josh James (KPR) 19453 at http://wkms.org KY Chamber of Commerce Report Evaluates Business Climate Kentucky Secretary of State Issues Business Filings Report http://wkms.org/post/kentucky-secretary-state-issues-business-filings-report <p>Kentucky&rsquo;s Secretary of State has issued a good news-bad news report on&nbsp;business filings. Fri, 06 Jul 2012 18:30:07 +0000 Stu Johnson (KPR) 18872 at http://wkms.org Kentucky Secretary of State Issues Business Filings Report Fireworks Sales Down for Many Vendors http://wkms.org/post/fireworks-sales-down-many-vendors <p>County burn bans across the region have outlawed amateur fireworks displays and that hurts the bottom line for many fireworks vendors. Wed, 04 Jul 2012 21:51:53 +0000 Angela Hatton 18779 at http://wkms.org Fireworks Sales Down for Many Vendors Afternoon Round-Up 6/11/12 http://wkms.org/post/afternoon-round-61112 <p><strong>Today on NPR: </strong><a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/06/11/154772994/spains-leader-calls-it-a-victory-not-a-bailout">Spain becomes the fourth eurozone country to get a financial rescue.</a></p><p><strong>Around the Commonwealth:</strong></p><p>Ashland and Elizabethtown natives picked up a <a href="http://wkms.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/kentucky-natives-win-tony-awards">Tony Awards</a> last night.</p> Mon, 11 Jun 2012 21:15:31 +0000 Rose Krzton-Presson 18321 at http://wkms.org Afternoon Round-Up 6/11/12 Dippin' Dots, Inc. Sold to Dippin' Dots LLC http://wkms.org/post/dippin-dots-inc-sold-dippin-dots-llc <p>A U.S. Bankruptcy Court ruling in Louisville approved the sale of Dippin&rsquo; Dots, Inc to Oklahoma-based Dippin&rsquo; Dots, LLC for $12.6 million. The sale will settle the novelty ice-cream manufacturer&rsquo;s outstanding debt of over $11 million and close a bankruptcy proceeding beginning in November 2011. Investor Scott Fisher will serve as president of the newly formed company. Dippin&rsquo; Dots founder and former CEO Curt Jones is expected to return to the company in some capacity after stepping down in March.</p> Wed, 02 May 2012 20:31:46 +0000 Seth Helton 17833 at http://wkms.org Dippin' Dots, Inc. Sold to Dippin' Dots LLC