legislation http://wkms.org en Medi-Share Resumes Operations http://wkms.org/post/medi-share-resumes-operations <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-size: 12pt; line-height: 32px; font-family: 'Times New Roman', serif;">Kentucky residents can take part in a Christian-only medical risk sharing plan starting&nbsp;<span class="aBn" data-term="goog_681762794" style="border-bottom-width: 1px; border-bottom-style: dashed; border-bottom-color: rgb(204, 204, 204); position: relative; top: -2px; z-index: 0;" tabindex="0"><span class="aQJ" style="position: relative; top: 2px; z-index: -1;">tomorrow&nbsp;</span></span></span><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 26px;">thanks to new state legislation.</span></p><p> Mon, 24 Jun 2013 20:37:17 +0000 Drew Adams 32443 at http://wkms.org Medi-Share Resumes Operations Quinn Signs Transparency Legislation http://wkms.org/post/quinn-signs-transparency-legislation <p></p><p>Illinois Governor Pat Quinn has signed legislation to improve public access to information about government meetings.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 20 Jul 2012 11:59:35 +0000 Drew Adams 19498 at http://wkms.org Quinn Signs Transparency Legislation New Seatbelt Law for 15-Passenger Vans http://wkms.org/post/new-seatbelt-law-15-passenger-vans <p>Governor Steve Beshear has signed legislation requiring vehicles carrying 15 passengers or less to be equipped with seat belts and passengers must wear them.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 31 May 2012 18:42:07 +0000 Lisa Autry (KPR) 18187 at http://wkms.org New Seatbelt Law for 15-Passenger Vans Beshear Signs Synthetic Drugs Bill in Hopkinsville http://wkms.org/post/beshear-signs-synthetic-drugs-bill-hopkinsville <p>Kentucky Governor Steve Beshear is in Hopkinsville today to sign into law legislation aimed at curbing the use of synthetic drugs.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 31 May 2012 16:50:06 +0000 Lisa Autry (KPR) 18185 at http://wkms.org Beshear Signs Synthetic Drugs Bill in Hopkinsville 'Don't Say Gay' Ban Advancing in Tennessee House http://wkms.org/post/dont-say-gay-ban-advancing-tennessee-house <p>A proposal that would ban the teaching of gay issues to Tennessee elementary and middle school students is once again advancing in the state House.&nbsp; The &quot;Don&#39;t Say Gay&quot; bill passed the House Education Committee Tuesday by one vote. Wed, 18 Apr 2012 12:59:42 +0000 Todd Hatton & The Associated Press 17673 at http://wkms.org 'Don't Say Gay' Ban Advancing in Tennessee House Special Session Starts http://wkms.org/post/special-session-starts <p><font size="2">Kentucky lawmakers are returning to Frankfort today to begin a special session called by Governor Steve Beshear.<br /><br /> Beshear has ordered lawmakers to take up a funding bill for the state&#39;s road plan and one addressing prescription pill abuse.<br /><br /> Those were the two major bills that died in the final hours of the 2012 regular session last week.<br /><br /> Beshear says passing those bills should only take lawmakers five days.<br /> Mon, 16 Apr 2012 13:42:17 +0000 Kenny Colston (KPR) 17639 at http://wkms.org Special Session Starts Road Plan Approved http://wkms.org/post/road-plan-approved <p>Kentucky House and Senate negotiators have reached a tentative agreement on a massive road construction plan. Senate Democratic Floor Leader R.J. Palmer says lawmakers reached the agreement around 2AM today which is the final day of this year&#39;s legislative session. Legislators were scheduled to vote on the plan this afternoon. The plan includes $3.5 billion worth of construction projects over the next two years and more than $10 million worth over the next 6 years. Thu, 12 Apr 2012 20:28:02 +0000 Chad Lampe 17612 at http://wkms.org Colston on the Capitol with Rick Howlett http://wkms.org/post/colston-capitol-rick-howlett <p><span dir="ltr" id=":9g">Kentucky&rsquo;s lawmakers were in veto recess this week, where the Governor looks over proposed legislation and signs or vetos. Kentucky Public Radio&rsquo;s Capitol Bureau Chief Kenny Colston speaks with Rick Howlett about what happens during the recess week and what&rsquo;s ahead for the state budget.</span></p> Fri, 06 Apr 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Kenny Colston (KPR) & Rick Howlett (KPR) 17551 at http://wkms.org Colston on the Capitol with Rick Howlett What's Next for Kentucky Lawmakers http://wkms.org/post/whats-next-kentucky-lawmakers <p><font size="2">Although two major issues have been nearly resolved, Kentucky lawmakers still have a full agenda this session.<br /><br /> Redistricting and expanded gambling dominated the first half of the session. The gambling bill was defeated last week and redistricting was settled by the Kentucky Supreme Court.<br /><br /> But that doesn&rsquo;t mean the legislative work is over. Lawmakers still have a two-year budget to pass. Senate President David Williams says that&#39;s just one of several pressing issues.<br /> Mon, 27 Feb 2012 14:30:17 +0000 Kenny Colston (KPR) 17060 at http://wkms.org