hopkinsville http://wkms.org en Lights, Camera, Action! Historic Theatres of Hopkinsville on Display http://wkms.org/post/lights-camera-action-historic-theatres-hopkinsville-display <p>"Lights, Camera, Action!&nbsp;Hopkinsville Goes to the Show" &nbsp;is the featured summer exhibit at the Museums of Historic Hopkinsville-Chrsitian&nbsp;County. Executive Director Alissa Keller takes us on a walk through the history of Hopkinsville's&nbsp;early 20th century theatres, including the first "moving picture show" and the first "air cooled" building on<em> Sounds Good</em> today.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:00:36 +0000 Kate Lochte & Matt Markgraf 42174 at http://wkms.org Lights, Camera, Action! Historic Theatres of Hopkinsville on Display Jennie Stuart Medical Center to Eliminate Jobs http://wkms.org/post/jennie-stuart-medical-center-eliminate-jobs <p>Hopkinsvilleā€™s Jennie Stuart Medical Center will eliminate 70 job positions through an accelerated retirement program and layoffs.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 20:32:39 +0000 Allison Crawford 42169 at http://wkms.org Jennie Stuart Medical Center to Eliminate Jobs TeleTech Brings Hundreds of Jobs to West Kentucky http://wkms.org/post/teletech-brings-hundreds-jobs-west-kentucky <p>Customer service agency <a href="http://www.teletech.com/">TeleTech</a> is adding 300 employees at its new center in Paducah and an additional 300 to its Hopkinsville location, bringing total employment between the two locations to 1,000. &nbsp;<br /><br /> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 20:34:35 +0000 Allison Crawford 42134 at http://wkms.org TeleTech Brings Hundreds of Jobs to West Kentucky Steep Canyon Rangers Play Alhambra Theatre in Hopkinsville Tonight http://wkms.org/post/steep-canyon-rangers-play-alhambra-theatre-hopkinsville-tonight <p>The Steep Canyon Rangers often tour with Steve Martin, notably&nbsp;on <em>A Prairie Home Companion</em>, won "Entertainers of the Year" from the International Bluegrass Music Association, and recently received a Grammy for Best Bluegrass Album, for "Nobody Knows You." &nbsp;Tonight, the Pennyroyal Arts Council presents "A Night With the Steep Canyon Rangers" at the Alhambra Theater. On <em>Sounds Good</em>, Tracy Ross speaks with the band's banjo player, vocalist and songwriter Graham Sharp.</p><p><em>Listen to the conversation:</em></p><p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 16:42:20 +0000 Tracy Ross 41281 at http://wkms.org Steep Canyon Rangers Play Alhambra Theatre in Hopkinsville Tonight Hopkinsville Poised for New Visitors Center http://wkms.org/post/hopkinsville-poised-new-visitors-center <p></p><p>This Tuesday the Hopkinsville City Council approved a memorandum of agreement outlining the financing of the construction of a Visitors and Welcome Center at the Trail of Tears Park. &nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 23 May 2014 17:05:14 +0000 Kate Lochte 40789 at http://wkms.org Hopkinsville Poised for New Visitors Center Hopkinsville Police Chief Responds to Recent Shootings http://wkms.org/post/hopkinsville-police-chief-responds-recent-shootings <p style="page-break-inside: avoid">Hopkinsville Police Chief Guy Howie says he plans to ramp up patrols following two shootings and one homicide in his community in the last month.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 16 May 2014 16:55:14 +0000 Parker Franklin 40615 at http://wkms.org Hopkinsville Police Chief Responds to Recent Shootings Storms Cause Damage Locally http://wkms.org/post/storms-cause-damage-locally <p>The National Weather Service <a href="http://forecast.weather.gov/product.php?site=PAH&amp;product=LSR&amp;issuedby=PAH">reported</a> the storm system that passed through Western Kentucky Wednesday produced high winds &nbsp;that blew walls and roofs off several buildings and downed powerlines. Most of the damage occurred&nbsp;in Christian County, northeast of Hopkinsville between 4 and 5pm.</p><p> Thu, 15 May 2014 11:52:30 +0000 Troy Taylor 40578 at http://wkms.org New Hopkinsville Chamber Director Outlines Plans to Grow Community http://wkms.org/post/new-hopkinsville-chamber-director-outlines-plans-grow-community <p>Marian Mason has returned to her childhood home of Christian County as the new Executive Director of the Christian County Chamber of Commerce. On Sounds Good, she speaks with Kate Lochte about some of the efforts in the works in the Hopkinsville/Christian Co. area, such as connecting veterans with jobs (after First Lady Michelle Obama's recent Fort Campbell visit), legislative agenda successes, community vision plan, entrepreneurial business plan competition and the recent rebranding/remodeling of the Chamber building.</p><p> Tue, 06 May 2014 19:18:13 +0000 Kate Lochte 40372 at http://wkms.org New Hopkinsville Chamber Director Outlines Plans to Grow Community Police Respond To Suspected Explosive Device in Downtown Hopkinsville http://wkms.org/post/police-respond-suspected-explosive-device-downtown-hopkinsville <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">An empty explosives case prompted law enforcement to close a section of downtown </span>Hopkinsville<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> this morning.</span></p><p> Mon, 05 May 2014 19:29:09 +0000 Rob Canning 40341 at http://wkms.org Police Respond To Suspected Explosive Device in Downtown Hopkinsville Hopkinsville Author Michael Freeland Pens Book of Poetry http://wkms.org/post/hopkinsville-author-michael-freeland-pens-book-poetry <p>Hopkinsville author Michael Freeland&nbsp;joins us on <em>Sounds Good</em> to read from and discuss&nbsp;his recently published book of poetry, <em>Homeplace: Finding Poetry in Everyday Places.</em> Freeland has also published <em>Blood River to Berlin - The World War II Journal of an Army Medic</em> and <em>Time and the River - A Memoir</em>.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 19:13:19 +0000 Kate Lochte 40208 at http://wkms.org Hopkinsville Author Michael Freeland Pens Book of Poetry