whiskey http://wkms.org en It's Not Tennessee Whiskey If It's Aged In Kentucky, State Says http://wkms.org/post/its-not-tennessee-whiskey-if-its-aged-kentucky-state-says Tennessee whiskey comes from Tennessee, Scotch comes from Scotland, and tequila hails from Mexico.<p>Simple, right?<p>Well, actually, no. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 17:56:33 +0000 editor 41417 at http://wkms.org It's Not Tennessee Whiskey If It's Aged In Kentucky, State Says How Bourbon Become a Unique Product of Kentucky Heritage http://wkms.org/post/how-bourbon-become-unique-product-kentucky-heritage <p>Michael Veach is the Associate Curator of Special Collections at The Filson Historical Society in Louisville. He's also the only professional bourbon historian in the country and has recently written a book titled <em>Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey: An American Heritage</em>. In the book, Veach reveals the true story of how bourbon became a unique product in Kentucky heritage. Kate Lochte spoke with Veach for <em>Sounds Good</em>. <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0813141656/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&amp;camp=1789&amp;creative=9325&amp;creativeASIN=0813141656&amp;linkCode=as2&amp;tag=wwwwkmsorg-20">Click here to purchase the book on Amazon</a>.</p><p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 20:09:48 +0000 Kate Lochte 29431 at http://wkms.org How Bourbon Become a Unique Product of Kentucky Heritage Maker's Mark to Restore Alcohol Content to Whiskey http://wkms.org/post/makers-mark-restore-alcohol-content-whiskey <p></p><p>After backlash from customers, the producer of Maker's Mark bourbon is reversing a decision to cut the amount of alcohol. The company's chief operating officer says they will restore the alcohol volume of its product to its historic level of 45 percent, or 90 proof. Last week, it said it was lowering the amount to 42 percent, or 84 proof, because of a supply shortage.&nbsp; Mon, 18 Feb 2013 13:46:09 +0000 Whitney Jones & The Associated Press 28182 at http://wkms.org Maker's Mark to Restore Alcohol Content to Whiskey Bourbon Sales Up http://wkms.org/post/bourbon-sales <p>Kentucky&rsquo;s bourbon production has increased 115% over the past 13 years according to the Kentucky Distiller&rsquo;s Association.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 05 Jul 2012 16:00:00 +0000 Dan Conti (KPR) 18731 at http://wkms.org Bourbon Sales Up Good Read: Chasing the White Dog by Max Watman http://wkms.org/post/good-read-chasing-white-dog-max-watman <p><strong style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: 'Lucida Grande', 'Lucida Sans Unicode', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 1.5; padding: 0px; margin: 0px; ">Product Description:</strong></p> Wed, 27 Jun 2012 16:46:41 +0000 Angela Hatton 18606 at http://wkms.org Good Read: Chasing the White Dog by Max Watman Lawsuit Alleges Damages From “Whiskey Fungus” http://wkms.org/post/lawsuit-alleges-damages-whiskey-fungus <p>A lawsuit filed today in federal court alleges a black substance coating the homes of residents in some areas of Louisville is caused by whiskey distilling.</p><p> Thu, 31 May 2012 13:36:53 +0000 Erica Peterson (KPR) 18175 at http://wkms.org Lawsuit Alleges Damages From “Whiskey Fungus” Genetically-Modified Corn Nearly Unavoidable in Bourbon Distilling http://wkms.org/post/genetically-modified-corn-nearly-unavoidable-bourbon-distilling <p>Nearly 90 percent of the corn in this country is genetically-modified. And as using genetically-modified&mdash;or GM&mdash;corn becomes increasingly popular in everyday foods, more people are becoming concerned about potential ill effects on human health and the environment.</p><p>Besides being used in food, that corn is also finding its way into Kentucky&rsquo;s signature spirit: bourbon.</p><p>In the grain room at the Four Roses Distillery, master distiller Jim Rutledge is pours corn kernels into a small glass.</p><p>&ldquo;I&rsquo;m just going to heat this up,&rdquo; he says.</p> Fri, 30 Mar 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Erica Peterson (KPR) 17444 at http://wkms.org Genetically-Modified Corn Nearly Unavoidable in Bourbon Distilling