TED Radio Hour http://wkms.org en Does Copying In Fashion Keep It Fresh? http://wkms.org/post/does-copying-fashion-keep-it-fresh <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/321797073/whats-original">What Is Original?</a><p><strong>About Johanna Blakley's TEDTalk</strong><p>Copyright law barely touches fashion — and the industry benefits in innovation and sales, says Johanna Blakley. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 14:05:00 +0000 editor 41627 at http://wkms.org Does Copying In Fashion Keep It Fresh? Where Do Good Ideas Come From? http://wkms.org/post/where-do-good-ideas-come <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/321797073/what-is-original">What Is Original?</a><p><strong><strong>About Steven Johnson's TEDTalk</strong></strong><p>Earlier this year, Tesla Motors CEO Elon Musk decided to give away his company's patents for free. It might seem like a strange business move, but Musk said he wanted to inspire creativity and accelerate innovation. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 13:58:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 41625 at http://wkms.org Where Do Good Ideas Come From? Is Everything A Remix? http://wkms.org/post/everything-remix <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/321797073/what-is-original">What Is Original?</a><p><strong>About Kirby Ferguson's TEDTalk</strong><p>Filmmaker Kirby Ferguson says nothing is original and that our most celebrated creators steal ideas — and transform them into something new.<p><strong><strong>About Kirby Ferguson</strong></strong><p>Kirby Ferguson is a filmmaker known for his four-part web series, <a href="http://www.everythingisaremix.info/watch-the-series">Everything Is a Remix</a><em>.</em> The series focuses on remix Fri, 27 Jun 2014 13:58:00 +0000 editor 41626 at http://wkms.org Is Everything A Remix? Where's The Line Between Cheating A Little and Cheating A Lot? http://wkms.org/post/wheres-line-between-cheating-little-and-cheating-lot <em>Part 1 of the</em> TED Radio Hour episode <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/311863205/why-we-lie">Why We Lie</a>.<p><strong>About Dan Ariely's TEDTalk</strong><p>Behavioral economist Dan Ariely explains the hidden reasons we think it's okay to cheat or steal. He says we're predictably irrational — and can be influenced in ways we don't even realize.<p><strong>About Dan Ariely </strong><p>Behavioral economist Dan Ariely is a professor at Duke University. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 12:50:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 41443 at http://wkms.org Where's The Line Between Cheating A Little and Cheating A Lot? How Do Magicians Manufacture Reality? http://wkms.org/post/how-do-magicians-manufacture-reality <em>Part 5 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/311863205/why-we-lie">Why We Lie</a>.<p><strong>About Eric Mead's TEDTalk</strong><p>The power of the placebo has been consistently proven in medicine. Magician Eric Mead extends that idea to magic, pulling off a gruesome trick that's so convincing, you'll cringe.<p><strong>About Eric Mead </strong><p>Eric Mead is a magician, mentalist and comedian. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 12:50:00 +0000 editor 41444 at http://wkms.org How Do Magicians Manufacture Reality? Why Do We Believe In Unbelievable Things? http://wkms.org/post/why-do-we-believe-unbelievable-things <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/311863205/why-we-lie">Why We Lie</a>.<p><strong>About Michael Shermer's TEDTalk</strong><p>Michael Shermer says the human tendency to believe strange things boils down to two of the brain's most basic, hard-wired survival skills.<p><strong>About Michael Shermer </strong><p>Michael Shermer is the founder and publisher of <a href="http://www.skeptic.com/">Skeptic Magazine</a>. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 12:50:00 +0000 editor 41445 at http://wkms.org Why Do We Believe In Unbelievable Things? Can The Sun Fuel A Flight Around The World? http://wkms.org/post/can-sun-fuel-flight-around-world <em>Part 1 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/318463922/getting-there" target="_blank">Getting There</a>.<p><strong>About Bertrand Piccard's TEDTalk</strong><p>Explorer <a href="http://bertrandpiccard.com/home?width=1072#1" target="_blank">Bertrand Piccard</a> explains why he's aiming to carry out an unprecedented mission: to circle the planet in a solar-powered airplane.<p><strong>About Bertrand Piccard</strong><p><a href="https://twitter.com/bertrandpiccard" target="_blank">Bertrand Piccard</a> was born in a <a href="http://bertran Fri, 06 Jun 2014 15:16:05 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 41103 at http://wkms.org Can The Sun Fuel A Flight Around The World? Is Space Tourism Finally About To Take Off? http://wkms.org/post/space-tourism-finally-about-take <em>Part 5 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/318463922/getting-there" target="_blank">Getting There</a>.<p><strong>About Richard Branson's TEDTalk</strong><p>Entrepreneur <a href="https://twitter.com/richardbranson" target="_blank">Richard Branson</a> shares his vision for private, commercial space travel.<p><strong>About Richard Branson</strong><p><a href="http://www.virgin.com/richard-branson" target="_blank">Richard Branson</a>'s megabrand, Virgin, is home to more than 250 companies, from gyms, gambling houses and bridal boutique Fri, 06 Jun 2014 13:34:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 41277 at http://wkms.org Is Space Tourism Finally About To Take Off? If We Want to Live In Cities, Will We Have To Share Cars? http://wkms.org/post/if-we-want-live-cities-will-we-have-share-cars <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/318463922/getting-there" target="_blank">Getting There</a>.<p><strong>About Robin Chase's TEDTalk</strong><p>Zipcar co-founder <a href="http://robinchase.org/" target="_blank">Robin Chase</a> makes the case for car-sharing as the solution to global gridlock.<p><strong>About Robin Chase</strong><p>If she weren't a proven entrepreneur, you might imagine Robin Chase as a transportation geek, a dedicated civil servant, endlessly refining computer models of freeway traffic.<p>She co-founded <a Fri, 06 Jun 2014 13:34:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 41278 at http://wkms.org If We Want to Live In Cities, Will We Have To Share Cars? How Do You Make New York's Mean Streets A Little Nicer? http://wkms.org/post/how-do-you-make-new-yorks-mean-streets-little-nicer <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/318463922/getting-there" target="_blank">Getting There</a>.<p><strong>About Janette Sadik-Khan's TEDTalk</strong><p>Former New York City Transportation Commissioner <a href="http://www.bloombergassociates.com/bio/janette-sadik-khan" target="_blank">Janette Sadik-Khan</a> says cities can tackle the challenges of tomorrow by completely re-imagining our streets today.<p><strong>About Janette Sadik-Khan</strong><p>As commissioner of the NYC Department of Transportation under the Bloomberg adm Fri, 06 Jun 2014 13:34:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 41280 at http://wkms.org How Do You Make New York's Mean Streets A Little Nicer?