Dave Shinall http://wkms.org en No Serious Injuries in Heath Elementary Bus Crash http://wkms.org/post/no-serious-injuries-heath-elementary-bus-crash <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Nine Heath Elementary School students and their driver suffered only minor injuries when a car crashed head-on into a McCracken County school bus Wednesday morning.</span></p><p> Wed, 14 May 2014 16:41:53 +0000 Dave Shinall 40555 at http://wkms.org No Serious Injuries in Heath Elementary Bus Crash Eggner's Ferry Bridge Undamaged from Loose Barge http://wkms.org/post/eggners-ferry-bridge-undamaged-loose-barge <p></p><p>Eggner’s Ferry Bridge remains open and undamaged this morning after a barge broke loose from its mooring upstream from the bridge this weekend.</p><p>Kentucky State Police closed the bridge that crosses the Kentucky Lake and Tennessee River between Marshall and Trigg counties briefly Saturday afternoon until the runaway barge was recaptured. Boat crews retrieved the barge about a mile upstream from the bridge. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 12:49:16 +0000 Whitney Jones & Dave Shinall 30269 at http://wkms.org Eggner's Ferry Bridge Undamaged from Loose Barge Land Between the Lakes Celebrates Mid-19th Century Christmas http://wkms.org/post/land-between-lakes-celebrates-mid-19th-century-christmas <p>Shoppers today sift through huge inventories of "Black Friday" sale merchandise at area retailers, but shopping for Christmas gifts used to be much simpler 160 years ago. So says Land Between the Lakes Special Events Coordinator Cindy Earls. She says, on Christmas mornings back then, children might only receive an orange, some candy, a pair of socks or, maybe, as a special treat, a doll or a pocket knife. Earls says, after opening their gifts, 19th Century Western Kentucky farm families would visit neighbors. LBL's Homeplace&nbsp;celebrates Christmas 1850 Saturday from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Fri, 23 Nov 2012 16:52:47 +0000 Dave Shinall & Chad Lampe 24854 at http://wkms.org Land Between the Lakes Celebrates Mid-19th Century Christmas Small Business Saturday Pays Big Dividends http://wkms.org/post/small-business-saturday-pays-big-dividends <p>Many holiday shoppers rush out to big chain stores on Black Friday, but an initiative for local businesses urges people to visit small shops tomorrow. Holiday shopping is crucial for many businesses recovering from a rough economy. Small Business Saturday encourages shoppers to shop locally. Chris Wooldridge is district director for the Kentucky Small Business Development Center. He says small businesses tend to fall off many consumers' "radar" when compared to so-called "big box stores" on Black Fridays and Cyber Mondays,&nbsp;which usher in the Christmas shopping season. Fri, 23 Nov 2012 16:33:35 +0000 Dave Shinall & Whitney Jones 24851 at http://wkms.org Small Business Saturday Pays Big Dividends Stumbo Wants State Employees with Fat Pensions to Pay More http://wkms.org/post/stumbo-wants-state-employees-fat-pensions-pay-more <p>Kentucky Democratic House Speaker Greg Stumbo says he thinks state employees with bigger pensions should pay more to help underfunded state pension systems recover. Stumbo&nbsp;says that plan is preferable to issuing bonds to fund pensions. He blames pension managers' bad investments for the current problems and says fund managers don't need bond money to continue their work. Kentucky lawmakers will be able to use a report from a bipartisan task force that looked into pension reform as a guide when the legislature reconvenes in January.</p><p> &nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Fri, 23 Nov 2012 16:13:01 +0000 Dave Shinall & Kenny Colston (KPR) 24850 at http://wkms.org Stumbo Wants State Employees with Fat Pensions to Pay More Paducah Interstate 24 Holiday Shopping Snarls http://wkms.org/post/paducah-interstate-24-holiday-shopping-snarls <p></p><p>Kentucky transportation officials warn drivers to be aware heavy traffic along Interstate 24 near exits three and four at Paducah through the holiday shopping season. Traffic engineers will be adjusting signals along U.S. 60 at Exit Four to account for the influx of holiday shoppers, but they say traffic may still back up at times on the exit ramps. They warn congestion reduces the deceleration zone on the ramps and may occasionally back traffic up onto the main lanes of I-24.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Fri, 23 Nov 2012 16:03:09 +0000 Dave Shinall 24849 at http://wkms.org Paducah Interstate 24 Holiday Shopping Snarls Rand Paul Considers Run for White House http://wkms.org/post/rand-paul-considers-run-white-house <p></p> Fri, 23 Nov 2012 15:46:33 +0000 Dave Shinall & The Associated Press 24847 at http://wkms.org Rand Paul Considers Run for White House In-Home Pot Grower Pleads Guilty in Federal Court http://wkms.org/post/home-pot-grower-pleads-guilty-federal-court <p></p> Fri, 23 Nov 2012 15:32:02 +0000 Dave Shinall & The Associated Press 24845 at http://wkms.org In-Home Pot Grower Pleads Guilty in Federal Court Clarksville Fratricide http://wkms.org/post/clarksville-fratricide <p></p><p>Clarksville, Tenn., police have charged a 23-year-old man with shooting his 15-year-old brother in the head and killing him. Brian Holden Smith is being held without bond at the Montgomery County jail.</p><p></p> Fri, 23 Nov 2012 15:26:05 +0000 Dave Shinall & The Associated Press 24844 at http://wkms.org Clarksville Fratricide I-24 Semi Fire and Lane Closure http://wkms.org/post/i-24-semi-fire-and-lane-closure <p></p><p>Kentucky transportation officials report eastbound lanes on Interstate-24 remain closed Friday morning in Trigg&nbsp;County near the 65 mile marker. A tractor-trailer rig carrying pears is on fire. Kentucky Transportation Cabinet spokesman Keith Todd says firefighters brought in a backhoe to break open the trailer to access the burning cargo inside. Fri, 23 Nov 2012 15:18:08 +0000 Dave Shinall & Angela Hatton 24843 at http://wkms.org I-24 Semi Fire and Lane Closure