Alix Spiegel http://wkms.org en Play It Again And Again, Sam http://wkms.org/post/play-it-again-and-again-sam <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EH45A6ek45s</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 22:58:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 39755 at http://wkms.org Play It Again And Again, Sam Big Sibling's Big Influence: Some Behaviors Run In The Family http://wkms.org/post/big-siblings-big-influence-some-behaviors-run-family Patricia East is a developmental psychologist who began her career working at an OB-GYN clinic in California. Mon, 29 Apr 2013 20:26:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 31162 at http://wkms.org Big Sibling's Big Influence: Some Behaviors Run In The Family Boston Blasts Remind Us Of Fragility Of Life http://wkms.org/post/boston-blasts-remind-us-fragility-life From the first explosion in Boston on Monday to the second, just 15 seconds elapsed. And in those 15 seconds, three people were mortally wounded, including an 8-year-old boy. Wed, 17 Apr 2013 14:09:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 30682 at http://wkms.org Boston Blasts Remind Us Of Fragility Of Life Would Angry Teens Chill Out If They Saw More Happy Faces? http://wkms.org/post/would-angry-teens-chill-out-if-they-saw-more-happy-faces All day long we're surrounded by faces. We see them on the subway sitting two by two, pass them on the sidewalk as we make our way to work, then nod to them in the elevator.<p>But most of those faces don't tell us much about the emotional life of the person behind the face.<p>"People don't just go around the world smiling or grimacing or frowning," says psychologist <a href="http://www.bristol.ac.uk/expsych/people/marcus-r-munafo/index.html">Marcus Munafo</a> of the University of Bristol. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 21:25:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 30300 at http://wkms.org Would Angry Teens Chill Out If They Saw More Happy Faces? Mining Books To Map Emotions Through A Century http://wkms.org/post/mining-books-map-emotions-through-century Were people happier in the 1950s than they are today? Or were they more frustrated, repressed and sad?<p>To find out, you'd have to compare the emotions of one generation to another. Mon, 01 Apr 2013 19:41:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 30016 at http://wkms.org Mining Books To Map Emotions Through A Century New Voices For The Voiceless: Synthetic Speech Gets An Upgrade http://wkms.org/post/new-voices-voiceless-synthetic-speech-gets-upgrade Ever since she was a small child, Samantha Grimaldo has had to carry her voice with her.<p>Grimaldo was born with a rare disorder, Perisylvian syndrome, which means that though she's physically capable in many ways, she's never been able to speak. Instead, she's used a device to speak. She types in what she wants to say, and the device says those words out loud. Mon, 11 Mar 2013 08:41:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 29123 at http://wkms.org New Voices For The Voiceless: Synthetic Speech Gets An Upgrade To Spot Kids Who Will Overcome Poverty, Look At Babies http://wkms.org/post/spot-kids-who-will-overcome-poverty-look-babies Why do some children who grow up in poverty do well, while others struggle?<p>To understand more about this, a group of psychologists recently did a <a href="http://pss.sagepub.com/content/early/2013/01/29/0956797612457381.abstract">study</a>.<p>It began in a small spare room where a series of very poor mothers and their 5-month-old babies came to watch a soothing video. Soothing the baby was the point, says Elisabeth Conradt, a postdoctoral researcher at Brown University's <a href="http://www.brown.edu/Departments/Children_at_Risk/Home.htm">Brown Center for the Study of Children at Risk</a>. Mon, 25 Feb 2013 21:55:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 28525 at http://wkms.org To Spot Kids Who Will Overcome Poverty, Look At Babies Why Even Radiologists Can Miss A Gorilla Hiding In Plain Sight http://wkms.org/post/why-even-radiologists-can-miss-gorilla-hiding-plain-sight <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJG698U2Mvo</p> Mon, 11 Feb 2013 08:33:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 27883 at http://wkms.org Why Even Radiologists Can Miss A Gorilla Hiding In Plain Sight No Mercy For Robots: Experiment Tests How Humans Relate To Machines http://wkms.org/post/mercy-robots-experiment-tests-how-humans-relate-machines <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Kf9coMuVuI</p> Mon, 28 Jan 2013 08:25:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 27273 at http://wkms.org No Mercy For Robots: Experiment Tests How Humans Relate To Machines Shootings Leave Sandy Hook Survivors Rethinking The Odds http://wkms.org/post/shootings-leave-sandy-hook-survivors-rethinking-odds About a month ago, Declan Procaccini's 10-year-old son woke him early in the morning in a fright.<p>"He came into my bedroom and said, 'Dad, I had a horrible, horrible dream!' " Procaccini says. "He was really shaken up. Thu, 27 Dec 2012 21:20:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 26152 at http://wkms.org Shootings Leave Sandy Hook Survivors Rethinking The Odds