Marilyn Geewax http://wkms.org en Most Economists Say Happy New Year — Really http://wkms.org/post/most-economists-say-happy-new-year-really As the new year begins, most economists' annual forecasts are brimming with good cheer.<p>"The economic news remains broadly encouraging," the Goldman Sachs forecasters write in their 2014 outlook.<p>And the brighter prospects are not limited to this country. "The global economy is likely to emerge in 2014 with modest growth of 3.3 percent compared with 2.5 percent this year," according to Nariman Behravesh, chief economist at the forecasting firm IHS Global Insight.<p>Most stock analysts also see more gains coming on Wall Street. JPMorgan chief U.S. Wed, 01 Jan 2014 20:04:30 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 37728 at http://wkms.org Most Economists Say Happy New Year — Really On-The-Job Deaths Spiking As Oil Drilling Quickly Expands http://wkms.org/post/job-deaths-spiking-oil-drilling-quickly-expands Blue-collar workers, hit hard by automation and factory offshoring, have been struggling to find high-paying jobs.<p>One industry does offer opportunity: As baby boomers retire and drilling increases, oil and gas companies are hiring. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 21:21:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 37635 at http://wkms.org On-The-Job Deaths Spiking As Oil Drilling Quickly Expands The Washington Two-Step: Dancing Back To Normal http://wkms.org/post/washington-two-step-dancing-back-normal Time and again, business leaders say the one thing they want out of Washington is more certainty.<p>But rarely do they get their wish.<p>In recent years, business owners have found themselves wondering whether their government would default on its debts, shut down national parks, change tax rules, cancel supplier contracts, confirm key leaders at federal agencies or hike interest rates.<p>Finally on Wednesday, they saw policymakers take two big steps toward a more certain future.<p>First, the Federal Reserve said it would start to <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/12/18/2552532 Thu, 19 Dec 2013 18:39:28 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 37480 at http://wkms.org The Washington Two-Step: Dancing Back To Normal Many Americans Will Be Giving Thanks For Lower Prices http://wkms.org/post/many-americans-will-be-giving-thanks-lower-prices When Americans drive to their Thanksgiving gatherings this week, they will have one more blessing to count: lower costs.<p>Gasoline is cheaper than last year. Turkey prices are down, too. Mon, 25 Nov 2013 07:44:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 36836 at http://wkms.org Many Americans Will Be Giving Thanks For Lower Prices Declining Gas Prices Pump Up A Shaky Economy http://wkms.org/post/declining-gas-prices-pump-shaky-economy In recent weeks, economists have been worrying about the negative impact of the now-ended government shutdown and potential debt crisis.<p>But away from Capitol Hill, the economy has been getting a big boost: Gasoline prices have been declining, week after week. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 07:25:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 35823 at http://wkms.org Declining Gas Prices Pump Up A Shaky Economy Trucker Shortage Worsens As Energy Sector Booms http://wkms.org/post/trucker-shortage-worsens-energy-sector-booms When goods arrive in Houston, they may come in containers stacked high on huge ships or strung out on long lines of rail cars. But to get to the customer, those goods need to be put on trucks and driven to their final destinations.<p>And now with the oil and gas sectors booming, the demand for truckers is soaring. The U.S. Mon, 02 Sep 2013 07:20:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax & Andrew Schneider 34497 at http://wkms.org Trucker Shortage Worsens As Energy Sector Booms As Back-To-School Shopping Begins, Consumers May Turn Frugal http://wkms.org/post/back-school-shopping-begins-consumers-may-turn-frugal As August begins, retailers are stepping up sales promotions to attract back-to-school shoppers. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 07:02:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 33595 at http://wkms.org As Back-To-School Shopping Begins, Consumers May Turn Frugal If Supplies Of Oil Are Up, Why Is Gas Still Pricey? http://wkms.org/post/if-supplies-oil-are-why-gas-still-pricey Supplies of oil have been surging this year, and U.S. Thu, 20 Jun 2013 07:02:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 32295 at http://wkms.org If Supplies Of Oil Are Up, Why Is Gas Still Pricey? Flight Delays Push Congress To End Controller Furloughs http://wkms.org/post/flight-delays-push-congress-end-controller-furloughs The U.S. Congress — a body not exactly known for its swift feet — raced Friday to complete legislation to help travelers avoid delays at airports.<p>The House voted 361-41 to <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/04/26/179241921/house-oks-bill-to-end-air-traffic-controllers-furloughs">approve legislation</a> that the Senate passed without objection late Thursday. Fri, 26 Apr 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 31061 at http://wkms.org Flight Delays Push Congress To End Controller Furloughs Still In The Middle Class, But Standing On A Banana Peel http://wkms.org/post/still-middle-class-standing-banana-peel Most U.S. Thu, 25 Apr 2013 19:01:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 31024 at http://wkms.org