Mara Liasson http://wkms.org en The Challenges Behind Accurate Opinion Polls http://wkms.org/post/challenges-behind-accurate-opinion-polls This week's stunning defeat of House Majority Leader Eric Cantor came after his internal polls showed him winning — instead he lost by double digits. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 09:02:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 41266 at http://wkms.org Tea Party Challenger Upsets Eric Cantor In GOP Primary http://wkms.org/post/tea-party-challenger-upsets-eric-cantor-gop-primary In a surprise result, voters in Virginia's 7th Congressional District have dealt a defeat to House Majority Leader Eric Cantor, nominating Tea Party challenger David Brat instead in the GOP primary. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 00:31:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 41203 at http://wkms.org Easy On The Ears: GOP Ads Adapt To Reach Women Voters http://wkms.org/post/easy-ears-gop-ads-adapt-reach-women-voters <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXqHI059n90</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3mG9fNOZp4</p> Sat, 10 May 2014 17:31:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 40480 at http://wkms.org Easy On The Ears: GOP Ads Adapt To Reach Women Voters As Deficit Anxiety Fades, Debt Rears Its Ugly Head http://wkms.org/post/deficit-anxiety-fades-debt-rears-its-ugly-head Democrats and Republicans have exhausted themselves politically after failing to reach a grand bargain to reduce the debt. Now there's a new economic debate in Washington over economic growth, mobility and income inequality.<p>But without dealing with the debt, Republicans and Democrats might not be able to navigate even the issues they agree on.<p><strong>Moving Away From The Deficit</strong><p>In President Obama's State of the Union address last month, he all but declared victory on the federal deficit. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 23:28:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 38541 at http://wkms.org As Deficit Anxiety Fades, Debt Rears Its Ugly Head Boehner Picks Cathy McMorris Rodgers For GOP Rebuttal http://wkms.org/post/boehner-picks-cathy-mcmorris-rodgers-gop-rebuttal Tuesday night is the State of the Union Address — the biggest opportunity President Obama gets all year to speak to the American people about his priorities. There's also another speech that night — the GOP response. On Thursday, House Speaker John Boehner announced Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers from Washington State would deliver the official rebuttal. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 10:12:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 38246 at http://wkms.org Boehner Picks Cathy McMorris Rodgers For GOP Rebuttal States Aim To Cure Hyperpartisanship With Primary Changes http://wkms.org/post/states-aim-cure-hyper-partisanship-primary-changes Several states are trying to do something about so-called hyperpartisanship by changing the way congressional districts are drawn and the way elections are held.<p>Their goal: force members of Congress to pay more attention to general election voters than to their base voters on the right or left.<p>John Fortier, the director of the <a href="http://bipartisanpolicy.org/projects/democracy-project">Democracy Project</a> at the Bipartisan Policy Center, which is working on ways to make politics less dysfunctional, says U.S. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 08:25:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 36653 at http://wkms.org States Aim To Cure Hyperpartisanship With Primary Changes Top Pollster Sees Evidence Of Political 'Shock Wave' http://wkms.org/post/top-pollster-sees-evidence-political-shock-wave Here's <a href="http://pos.org/2013/10/the-october-shockwave-new-insights-from-the-latest-nbcwsj-survey/">an email</a> that caught my eye Thursday. It's from Republican Bill McInturff, one of the best pollsters around and not someone known to hyperbolize. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 19:48:47 +0000 Mara Liasson 36212 at http://wkms.org Top Pollster Sees Evidence Of Political 'Shock Wave' Lawmakers To Grill Sebelius On Affordable Care Act http://wkms.org/post/lawmakers-grill-sebelius-affordable-care-act Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. More hearings come today on the messy rollout of the Affordable Care Act. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius will face questions from the House, Energy and Commerce Committee. Now, yesterday, the head of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid testified before a different committee. Wed, 30 Oct 2013 09:48:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 36142 at http://wkms.org What's Behind The Partisan Thaw In Washington? http://wkms.org/post/whats-behind-partisan-thaw-washington On Thursday, President Obama met with Senate Democrats. Then he met with House Republicans. And White House staff members continued talks with their counterparts from the House GOP leadership. All that talking just a day after there was radio silence between the two parties. One strong possibility for the change in attitudes is a new NBC/Wall Street Journal poll that shows that the majority of Americans blame Republicans for the ongoing government shutdown and just 20 percent of people approve of the Republican party. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 00:33:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 35621 at http://wkms.org Boehner, Obama Meet But Make No Progress On Deal To End Shutdown http://wkms.org/post/boehner-obama-meet-make-no-progress-deal-end-shutdown Day two of the government shutdown is nearing its finish, with no end in sight. And that's in spite of talks at the White House late today. President Obama met with House Speaker John Boehner for over an hour Wednesday evening. The meeting failed to produce a deal that would end the federal government shutdown. Wed, 02 Oct 2013 23:56:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 35405 at http://wkms.org