Kelly McEvers http://wkms.org en Tommy Ramone, Co-Founder Of The Ramones, Dies At 65 http://wkms.org/post/tommy-ramone-co-founder-ramones-dies-65 Tommy Ramone, born Tom Erdelyi, has died at age 65. The drummer was the last living member of the legendary punk band he helped create. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 20:54:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 42036 at http://wkms.org On Calif. Cattle Ranch, Students Wrangle With Meaning Of Manhood http://wkms.org/post/calif-cattle-ranch-students-wrangle-meaning-manhood <em>For </em>All Things Considered<em>'s </em>"<a href="http://www.npr.org/series/323986426/men-in-america">Men in America</a>"<em> series, NPR's Kelly McEvers sent this report on Deep Springs College — the all-male college that her husband attended, and where he and McEvers have both taught. </em><p>About a hundred years ago, a man named L.L. Nunn was building power plants in the American West. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 41954 at http://wkms.org Are Life Spans Getting Longer? It Depends On How Wealthy You Are http://wkms.org/post/are-life-spans-getting-longer-it-depends-how-wealthy-you-are While life expectancies are getting longer for those who are well off, life spans for poor women are actually getting shorter. The stories of two women, from two very different places, illustrate the reasons for the gap. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 41512 at http://wkms.org 17 Primary Candidates Vie For Rep. Henry Waxman's Seat http://wkms.org/post/17-primary-candidates-vie-rep-henry-waxmans-seat When the Democrat from Southern California announced his retirement earlier this year, he opened up a seat that had been occupied for decades. The top-two vote getters will face off in November. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 40983 at http://wkms.org In Iraq, Laying Claim To The Kebab http://wkms.org/post/iraq-laying-claim-kebab When you hear the word "kebab" in America, you might think of skewers with chunks of chicken or beef and vegetables, marinated and grilled on coals or gas. But say "kebab" in the Middle East, and it means a lot of things — chunks of lamb or liver on skewers, or the more popular version of grilled ground meat logs found in Turkey, Iran and much of the Arab world.<p>If you spend enough time in the Middle East, you learn it can be hard to pinpoint the origins of things. Everybody claims to have invented hummus, flatbread and even yogurt. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 22:16:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 33973 at http://wkms.org In Iraq, Laying Claim To The Kebab Al-Jazeera Under Fire For Its Coverage Of Egypt http://wkms.org/post/al-jazeera-under-fire-its-coverage-egypt <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=indIpXbtOUU</p> Thu, 18 Jul 2013 07:19:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 33175 at http://wkms.org Al-Jazeera Under Fire For Its Coverage Of Egypt Syrian Conflict Continues Violent Spillover Into Lebanon http://wkms.org/post/syrian-conflict-continues-violent-spillover-lebanon Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>A bomb placed in a parked car caused a massive explosion in Beirut today that injured dozens of people. Later, a Syrian rebel group claimed responsibility for the blast.<p>NPR's Kelly McEvers was at the scene of the attack. She sent this report on how the Syrian conflict is spilling over into Lebanon.<p>KELLY MCEVERS, BYLINE: The group that claimed responsibility for the blast is a branch of the Free Syrian Army that calls itself Division 313. Tue, 09 Jul 2013 20:54:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 32909 at http://wkms.org War Correspondent's Unflinching 'Diary Of A Bad Year' http://wkms.org/post/war-correspondents-unflinching-diary-very-bad-year <em>NPR's Kelly McEvers struggled with intense, unexpected emotions during the Arab Spring, when friends were being kidnapped and worse. It made her wonder, why do otherwise intelligent people risk their lives to report on conflicts?</em><p>In early 2011, I started seeing things in slow motion. I cried unpredictably. It was the time of the Arab uprisings. Colleagues and friends were getting kidnapped. Some were getting killed.<p>But still, I went toward the story. The next year, 2012 was one of the deadliest years on record for journalists. Sat, 29 Jun 2013 15:41:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 32627 at http://wkms.org War Correspondent's Unflinching 'Diary Of A Bad Year' Dozens Dead After Clashes With Radical Cleric In Lebanon http://wkms.org/post/dozens-dead-after-clashes-radical-cleric-lebanon Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>You're listening to ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News.<p>Calm has been restored in southern Lebanon for now. Clashes between the army and followers of a radical Sunni cleric have left dozens dead over the past two days. It's been called the most violent spillover from the conflict in Syria to a neighboring country. Tue, 25 Jun 2013 22:05:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 32494 at http://wkms.org A Close-Up Of Syria's Alawites, Loyalists Of A Troubled Regime http://wkms.org/post/close-syrias-alawites-loyalists-troubled-regime The film on Syria's Alawite community isn't finished yet, but filmmaker Nidal Hassan's favorite scenes are beginning to take shape.<p>It opens with fireworks on New Year's Eve in Tartous, Syria. "May God preserve the president for us," one young man yells in a reference to Syrian leader Bashar Assad.<p>Situated on the Mediterranean coast, Tartous is a resort town, with a port and a Russian naval base. Roughly three-quarters of the people in Tartous are Alawites, like Assad and his late father, who have run the country for more than 40 years. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 19:20:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 30289 at http://wkms.org A Close-Up Of Syria's Alawites, Loyalists Of A Troubled Regime