Linton Weeks http://wkms.org en 5 TV Shows That Deserve Another Chance http://wkms.org/post/5-tv-shows-deserve-another-chance <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TAL1yT9ozSQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BmtdErxF-Xs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oUaGxdJiFZA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GlZ2G1C47rA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1wUirNlR0U</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yZZl4EP67Tw</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 16:40:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 41217 at http://wkms.org 5 TV Shows That Deserve Another Chance Keeping An Eye On The KKK http://wkms.org/post/keeping-eye-kkk Just when you think the Ku Klux Klan – with its sordid history of racism and violence – is a thing of the past, it rears its ugly, white-sheet-hooded head.<p>In the aftermath of the tragic killings at Jewish Community Centers in Kansas City on April 13 – and reports that the accused gunman belonged to a KKK group in North Carolina – you wanted to see if there is other news about the KKK in contemporary America.<p>So you set up a Google Alert – as part of an infogathering method you call <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/theprotojournalist/2014/04/20/304915015/google-frecking-the-week-in-pandas Mon, 28 Apr 2014 15:11:40 +0000 Linton Weeks 40183 at http://wkms.org Keeping An Eye On The KKK How About You Be The Decider http://wkms.org/post/how-about-you-be-decider You think you're so smart. You think it's easy being the president of the United States. OK, pal — here's your chance.<p>One of the attractions of the new <a href="http://www.georgewbushlibrary.smu.edu/">George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum</a> in Dallas — scheduled to be dedicated on Thursday — is Decision Points Theater, an interactive experience. Wed, 24 Apr 2013 17:31:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 30968 at http://wkms.org How About You Be The Decider What Boston Means To America http://wkms.org/post/what-boston-means-america As a city, Boston is at the crux of this country's past, present and future.<p>This was brought home on April 15 — Tax Day, Patriots Day, Marathon Day — when two deadly bombs exploded on historic Boylston Street near the finish line of the 117th running of the Boston Marathon.<p>The tragic blasts occurred so close to the Boston Public Library that the building — home to the personal book collection of Founding Father John Adams — is included in the crime scene.<p>The bombs struck at the very heart of the heart of America.<p>Perhaps as much as any place in the country, Boston is an anchor threa Wed, 17 Apr 2013 16:56:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 30694 at http://wkms.org What Boston Means To America A Brief History Of Secret Recordings http://wkms.org/post/brief-history-secret-recordings Secret recordings are becoming a tradition in American politics.<p>Like buttons, bunting and backslapping at barbecues, surreptitious audio and/or video surprises continue to pop up in political settings — with more and more frequency.<p>The latest is an unauthorized recording of a tough-talking strategy session held by Sen. Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., and his 2014 re-election campaign staffers. Sun, 14 Apr 2013 20:01:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 30549 at http://wkms.org A Brief History Of Secret Recordings The First Gun In America http://wkms.org/post/first-gun-america Guns and America were born around the same time and grew up together. Like feuding cousins, their histories have been linked ever since.<p>Often helpful in American history — and often harmful — the portable gun has been inarguably influential in the national direction. The American Revolution would not have been won without guns. Precious lives at numerous school shootings would not have been lost without guns. Sat, 06 Apr 2013 16:56:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 30238 at http://wkms.org The First Gun In America Maybe We Should Retire The Word 'Retire' http://wkms.org/post/maybe-we-should-retire-word-retire Retirement ads are everywhere these days. The Villages <a href="http://www.ispot.tv/ad/7LyK/the-villages-golf-free-for-life">lures retirees</a> to come live, love and golf in Florida. USAA <a href="http://www.ispot.tv/ad/7Ip_/usaa-retirement-guide-advice">offers financial counsel</a> to retiring military personnel. Thu, 28 Mar 2013 16:00:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 29877 at http://wkms.org Maybe We Should Retire The Word 'Retire' The Bush Family Checklist http://wkms.org/post/bush-family-checklist And the Bushes just keep on coming.<p>In recent memory, there was George H.W. Bush, 41st<sup></sup> president of the United States. Then there was George W. Bush, 43rd<sup></sup> president. Fri, 15 Mar 2013 17:03:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 29353 at http://wkms.org The Bush Family Checklist An Age-Old Problem: Who Is 'Elderly'? http://wkms.org/post/age-old-problem-who-elderly When exactly does someone become elderly?<p>A recent <em>New York Times</em> <a href="http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:lBr-cCZmMsUJ:www.tvballa.com/2013/02/fatally-midtown-woman-manhattan-truck-struck+&cd=2&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=firefox-a">story</a> calls a 69-year-old woman elderly. <em>Philadelphia Metro</em> <a href="http://www.metro.us/philadelphia/news/local/2012/10/15/elderly-man-killed-in-somerton-house-fire/">considers</a> 70 to be elderly. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 15:08:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 29292 at http://wkms.org V Reasons To Love Roman Numerals http://wkms.org/post/v-reasons-love-roman-numerals Pope Benedict XVI has left the Vatican.<p>Love the Catholic Church or not, you have to admit the Roman numerals following a pope's name are distinctive. They set the pope apart from the rest of humankind. (As if he needs it.)<p>Roman numerals always stand out. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 17:42:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 28761 at http://wkms.org V Reasons To Love Roman Numerals