All Things Considered http://wkms.org en FCC To Propose Change To Net Neutrality Rules, Media Report http://wkms.org/post/fcc-propose-change-net-neutrality-rules-media-report The FCC is expected to put out new Internet traffic rules that would let content providers negotiate for better service. NPR's Melissa Block talks with Wall Street Journal reporter Gautham Nagesh. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 03:06:00 +0000 editor 40098 at http://wkms.org Obama Gets A Taste Of Jiro's 'Dream' Sushi In Name Of Diplomacy http://wkms.org/post/obama-gets-taste-jiros-dream-sushi-name-diplomacy President Obama kicked off the first leg of his tour of Asia on Wednesday with some sushi diplomacy.<p>He dined with Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe at a revered and tiny temple of sushi in Tokyo called <a href="http://www.sushi-jiro.jp/eng-index.html">Sukiyabashi Jiro</a>. The subterranean restaurant, with just 10 seats at the counter, was made famous by the 2011 documentary <a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/03/16/148737187/cameras-follow-worlds-greatest-sushi-chef">Jiro Dreams of Sushi</a>.<em> </em><p>Obama emerged with a thumbs-up review. "That's some good sushi right there," he said. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 22:32:00 +0000 NPR Staff 40097 at http://wkms.org Obama Gets A Taste Of Jiro's 'Dream' Sushi In Name Of Diplomacy Scientists Pinpoint Source Of Antarctic 'Quack' http://wkms.org/post/scientists-pinpoint-source-antarctic-quack For decades, researchers and submarine crews in icy waters off the coast of Antarctica have been picking up a mysterious quacking sound.<p>The "bio-duck," as its called, has been heard on and off since Cold War patrols picked it up on sonar during the 1960s.<p>"It goes 'quack, quack, quack, quack,' " says <a href="http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/psb/acoustics/psbAcousticsPeople.html">Denise Risch</a>, a marine biologist with the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration. "It has this almost mechanical feel to it."<p>Some thought it might be a secret Soviet sub. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 21:24:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 40096 at http://wkms.org Scientists Pinpoint Source Of Antarctic 'Quack' New Browser Plug-in Would Literally Annihilate This Headline http://wkms.org/post/new-browser-plug-would-literally-annihilate-headline Mike Lazer-Walker created a free browser plug-in called Literally, which replaces the word "literally" with "figuratively" in all online text. As the website explains, that's literally all it does. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Melissa Block 40092 at http://wkms.org Big-Time Home Sales Stoke Hope For Northeast Housing Market http://wkms.org/post/big-time-home-sales-stoke-hope-northeast-housing-market Realtors are seeing reasons for optimism in the housing market. As Kaomi Goetz of WSHU reports, one historic home sale suggests the high end of the market is booming again — in Connecticut, at least. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 20:21:00 +0000 editor 40093 at http://wkms.org Chile Wildfire Litters Questions In The Ash Of Burned-Out Homes http://wkms.org/post/chile-wildfire-litters-questions-ash-burned-out-homes In Chile, a fire that started in the hills above Valparaiso continues to burn. The blaze has killed 15 people and destroyed 2,500 homes in the area that surrounds Valparaiso. Reporter Alexandra Hall looks at some of those affected. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 20:21:00 +0000 editor 40094 at http://wkms.org A Knuckleball No More: World Cup Soccer Ball Gets A Redesign http://wkms.org/post/knuckleball-no-more-world-cup-soccer-ball-gets-redesign John Eric Goff, the chair of the physics department at Lynchburg College, explains the science of the 2014 World Cup soccer ball. The Adidas Brazuca is expected to perform better than the version used in South Africa in 2010. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:50:00 +0000 NPR Staff 40069 at http://wkms.org Online Sales Taxes Shift Consumer Behavior, Study Shows http://wkms.org/post/online-sales-taxes-shift-consumer-behavior-study-shows Technically, consumers are supposed to pay taxes on things they buy online. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:39:00 +0000 Yuki Noguchi 40067 at http://wkms.org Online Sales Taxes Shift Consumer Behavior, Study Shows Album Review: 'Abracaco' http://wkms.org/post/album-review-abracaco Caetano Veloso has been making music for over 40 years, and he's among the best known singers in his native Brazil. Banning Eyre says that Veloso's new album, <em>Abracaco</em>, is one of the most engaging in his epic career. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:35:00 +0000 editor 40065 at http://wkms.org Ex-Ranger Recalls The Friendly Fire That Killed Pat Tillman http://wkms.org/post/ex-ranger-recalls-friendly-fire-killed-pat-tillman Ten years ago Tuesday, former NFL star Pat Tillman was killed by friendly fire in Afghanistan. Steven Elliott was one of the Army Rangers who fired on Tillman, and <a href="http://espn.go.com/espn/feature/story/_/id/10816260/pat-tillman-enduring-guilt">he told his story recently on ESPN's <em>Outside the Lines</em>.</a> <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 NPR Staff 40066 at http://wkms.org